Swap Etiquette?

I've never participated in a swap before. Are there some rules or guidelines to follow? I'm making some greeting cards for a swap, and really want to post them because they are projects that I've just created, but I'm unsure of what to do. Am I supposed to

a) not post them ever?
b) post them later, after the recipient has received them?
c) post them now and ruin the surprise?
d) post just part of it to tease the recipient? :o)
e) other…

I kinda like D. Please vote! Or share some swap rules with me! Thank you.

8 Responses to “Swap Etiquette?”


  1. 1 sue b May 15, 2006 at 10:36 am

    Well each swap is different but in general you’re safe with either options b, c or d. You get to pick which one you want to do. Personally I always go with d myself !

  2. 2 capello May 15, 2006 at 10:39 am

    I would say B or D… or B and D. You know, first D and then B.

  3. 3 the painted pear May 15, 2006 at 10:58 am

    I think that it depends on the swap. If you are giving to one recipient, maybe just a portion, a teaser, but if the swap is going to a main host, then divied up among a bunch of recipients, I say post the cards. You don’t want to really ruin a surprise, but in my case, I have never seen my cards again posted after they were recieved. Either the recipients didn’t like them or didn’t have a blog.

    I guess in either case you could always wait to post till you are sure they were recieved.

    Love your little mommy softie! Hope you had a grand mothers day!

  4. 4 Angela May 15, 2006 at 3:21 pm

    I vote for D! That sounds like more fun for everyone. YOur softie is adorable.

  5. 5 Pink Rocket May 15, 2006 at 3:30 pm

    i say D then B…unless it is a big swap with lots of participants then post them all, especially if they don’t know their getting them.

  6. 6 Ali May 15, 2006 at 3:49 pm

    It’s hard to know isn’t it – I’ve just sent off my first swap and my recipient hasn’t acknowledged my e-mail to say it is on the way. Will she tell me when she gets it? Should I just go ahead and post about it? Is there a Miss Post for swapiquette?

  7. 7 Cindi May 15, 2006 at 9:12 pm

    I have never participated in a swap, but, I want to see your cards!

  8. 8 Megan May 16, 2006 at 6:02 am

    D, do D! DDDD!!!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives