Purse Frames and Big Scoops

I found a place to get purse frames quite inexpensively on ebay and they came in the mail last week.

purse-frame.jpg

I’ve looked around on the web, and it looks like you just make the purse, cram the material from the top of the bag into the purse frame, the pinch it with pliers to secure the fabric to the frame. It doesn’t sound very secure to me. Has anyone ever done this before? I would love any advice you have to give.

Now, to make up for the lack of posting this last week, let me leave you with a story I wrote a couple of months ago. Have a good weekend!

*** If anything potty-related is not what you want to read, then you can stop reading now.***

Now some of you may know that I am half Chinese. My dad is from China. Since English was not his native language, he had some irregular names for things. He would translate some Chinese words literally into English. The word for poopoo in Chinese literally translates as “large portion” OR as Dad called it, “big scoop”. It seemed very normal when we were little for dad to ask us, “Do you need to go big scoop?” Well, I had nearly forgotten about that until during swim lessons the other day, the instructors were teaching the boys to kick with their legs and scoop with their hands. Little Nathan was sorta lazy on his scoops and his teacher said, “Big scoops, Nathan. Show me big scoops!” He did what she asked, and I praised him, of course, by saying, “What a big scooper you are!” It was until the words actually left my lips that I realized what I was saying. :o)

big-scooper.jpg

Here he is – my “Big Scooper”

(in more ways than one, I might add).

18 Responses to “Purse Frames and Big Scoops”


  1. 1 sue b May 20, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    That’s exactly how you do it – cram the fabric in and squeeze it shut with pliers. But… be careful because the pliers will scratch and mar the surface of the purse frame (ask me how I know) so put some batting or something between them and the frame before you squeeze.

  2. 2 Rosa May 20, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    I’ve never laughed so hard. Thanks for that. I was having a crappy day until the Big Scooper pic and story made me feel so much better.

  3. 3 moki May 20, 2006 at 6:09 pm

    I had just had a terrible afternoon and finally smiled (and a little chuckle) thanks to that story. Thanks:)

  4. 4 Megan May 20, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    Ha ha! I am nuts over that bag in the craft mag., look forward to seeing what you make.

  5. 5 Natalie Joy May 20, 2006 at 10:15 pm

    what a great story. You’ll have to show us the finished purse. I have never even thought of using a purse frame. Good luck

  6. 6 kimberly May 21, 2006 at 12:03 am

    I’ve never used a frame, so I’m of no use to you, but I do love the big scoop story!

  7. 7 rebecca May 21, 2006 at 6:47 am

    I am just sitting here with a big smile on my face. That story is delightful, and of course made me giggle, thinking of pooping in the pool. I will now think of big scoops in an entirely different way!

    Last night, at a celebration, pictures were being taken, and to help make my daughter smile, someone said, “say kaka”. Well, I never laughed so hard. I haven’t heard that word since I was like 10, an old neighbor girl would say it. So when I read poopoo I chuckled, we all have different tags for #2!

    I don’t know anything about purse frames, but would love to hear what you find out.

  8. 8 Cathy May 22, 2006 at 10:06 am

    Thanks for that very hearty laugh! I needed it.

    I think some purse frames are pinched with pliers and some are sew on. I’m sure that it will hold, most of the stress on a bag is on the handles so it should be fine.

  9. 9 quenna May 22, 2006 at 6:58 pm

    Can’t help with the purse frame, but the Japanese purse is beautiful!

    Thanks for the story…you have such a potty mouth!

  10. 10 Cindi May 22, 2006 at 8:46 pm

    Love the story! I thought the bag used the hex frame, but, I can’t tell. Good luck, you go first and take good notes so we can all learn from you!

  11. 11 lizzie June 1, 2006 at 5:08 pm

    Great story!!!!! Gave me a giggle and a big smile! Just went to our neighborhood pool for the first time(very nice!!)….would love to see their “Big Scoops” sometime this summmer at the waterpark.

  12. 12 Anonymous June 5, 2006 at 2:24 am

    I take big scoops all the time Linda – esp before my 5k races🙂

    I also take big scoops afterwards too – of ice cream LOL! To replenish glycogen levels…

    Yer unabashed bro🙂

  13. 14 Tina February 23, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Hi,

    I would like to know where on ebay you can buy purse frames. I’v had a lolok around I ca’t find any nice quality frames anywhere!!

    thanks
    tina

  14. 15 Karen August 24, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I am also interested in what shop on ebay has the frames? Can you share?

  15. 16 Christina August 24, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    This afternoon I did a search on Google: “How to make purses with a frame”, and I found lots of interesting websites with frames, kits & patterns, plus your blog! Have fun!

  16. 17 Janet Nibbs June 27, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    In reference to your question about the bag handles, I have used them and I first secure the fabric purse to the handle with fabric glue before crimping.


  1. 1 Maybe I should learn Japanese « Craft Apple Trackback on October 16, 2006 at 6:20 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives