Ms. Sockfish

UPDATE: The pattern for Mr/Ms Sockfish is now complete and available through the Giving Flower for $5. It’s a great way to use up those small pieces of great prints you’ve been saving, and it’s fun to make, and functional. Fun, fun! If you are interested, email her. You can pay through paypal and she will email the pattern in a pdf file. Could it get any easier?

*********

Kimberly at Giving Flower is putting together a pattern to sell, and I was honored when she asked me to test sew it. Here is the final product. Ladies and gentlemen (if there are any reading), let me introduce you to Ms. Sockfish. She is designed for sock knitters – long enough for sock needles, a thick canvas exterior to keep the needles from poking through, and little fin pockets to hold scissors or stitch markers. Isn’t she lovely?

mr-sockfish-2.jpg

 Okay, okay, I should have made her lips red, but I just wasn’t thinking.

mr-sockfish-1.jpg

My kids like her. When I opened up her mouth and said, “You look yummy,” and made her swim toward my son, he screamed – about 75% in fear and 20% in laughter. The other 5% came just because he loves screaming. I think the fear came from the fact that her tummy looked soooo incredibly big and deep. Wouldn’t you be scared if this thing came after you???

mr-sockfish-3.jpg

I’m not a sock knitter, but my knitted purse in progress will fit in here just fine. Great job, Kimberly!

21 Responses to “Ms. Sockfish”


  1. 2 Ali May 31, 2006 at 12:56 am

    Sockfish is great – who’d have guessed you could get so much personality into a bag!

  2. 3 weirdbunny May 31, 2006 at 2:40 am

    Oh isn’t he graet!!!

  3. 4 wendy May 31, 2006 at 4:02 am

    Perfect,just perfect.Love him….

  4. 5 autum May 31, 2006 at 6:20 am

    Love Ms. Sockfish! I could think of lots of uses for her besides holding your knitting. You did a great job making her.

  5. 6 Cathy May 31, 2006 at 7:08 am

    Ms. Sockfish is great! I love the mouth.

  6. 7 Angela May 31, 2006 at 7:15 am

    Wow! That is sooo awesome…great details and colors..super neat. I think I might have screamed too, that IS a big mouth. A wide mouth bass perhaps? Really pretty Linda!

  7. 8 RANDI May 31, 2006 at 8:48 am

    Oh cute! Very creative–and I like the lips as they are!

  8. 9 capello May 31, 2006 at 9:32 am

    Cute! I may have to make one for my friend who knits.

  9. 10 Natalie Joy May 31, 2006 at 9:45 am

    Very cute and creative. I wish I knew how to knit, just so I would have a reason to make a sockfish!

  10. 11 kimberly May 31, 2006 at 12:42 pm

    You did a great job!!! I love the fabrics you chose. I think I better start an aquarium over at my blog, that poor fish needs to get back in the water.

  11. 12 lera May 31, 2006 at 3:17 pm

    very funny story. it cracked me up! moms have such great humor.

    and, by the way, it turned out very cute.

  12. 13 Megan May 31, 2006 at 3:30 pm

    Ah, he really is scary! Great job Linda!

  13. 14 ramona June 1, 2006 at 8:31 am

    yes, it is wonderful!

  14. 15 quenna June 1, 2006 at 11:40 am

    That came out great! He reminds me of Jonah and the whale. BTW, your fabric is on the way!

  15. 16 lizzie June 1, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    Ms. Sockfish turned out very nice! I like how you combined the fabrics.

  16. 17 ohelene June 5, 2006 at 1:07 am

    Now I’ve finally made my Mr. Sockfish too. I too love the fabrics you have chosen!

  17. 18 Rebecca June 7, 2006 at 12:25 pm

    you did beautifully!!! i can’t wait to get this pattern😀

  18. 19 Zonda June 7, 2006 at 7:37 pm

    Wow, Love your Ms. Sockfish! I just got the pattern and I can’t wait to make one…um..er..more..

    That AB fabric is my favorite! Great job!

  19. 20 Hanna June 9, 2006 at 8:33 am

    wow, the fish is way cool. and yes, I might be scared if it came swiming like that!

  20. 21 C grein January 26, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    Looked in Giving Tree and did not see the pattern listed.
    Do I have fish eyes and can’t see it?


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives