I’m having a moment…

wb-pastilles-s.JPG

Do you ever taste something or catch a smell of something that reminds you of your childhood and for that brief moment feel like a kid again? It doesn’t happen too often, but I’m having one of those moments right now. I grew up in Taiwan and every year we’d take a trip to Hong Kong. At that time, Hong Kong was still under British control and in HK you could get really yummy English candy and English chocolate. One of the sweets I remember getting were gummy chews that came wrapped in a long cylinder. They were chewy, sweet, and delicious. When Weirdbunny and I arranged a swap, she asked me if there was anything she could get me. Knowing that she lived in the UK, I tried describing those yummy little pastilles and she knew exactly what I was talking about! I just picked up the package at my front door, tore open the candy, and on my first taste, I felt for a moment like a kid again, getting a real special treat from half-way around the world. I suppose I’ll share them with the kids, but just a few, since they mean a whole lot more to me.

wbbetsybear.JPG

Meet Betsy Bear. She was blushing as I openned the package since her skirt had slipped off during transit, but after redressing her and giving her a reassuring hug and a kiss, she chippered right up. She is almost completely hand-sewn, and wearing my favorite color – pink! I can’t hand sew anything to save my life but I really love this, knowing that each stitch took time, care, and attention. She is lovely, and will sit atop my shelf in my sewing room.

Do you see the little mouse nose poking out from his wrapper on the left, saying, “sniff sniff”? Well, taking a break from my pastille-eating, I’ve moved on to chocolate, and that chocolate fondant mouse nose is now in my tummy and boy was it yummy.

wbbuttons.JPG

Weirdbunny Julia, these buttons are so beautiful – are they some kind of shell? You have truly been generous with this swap. I am amazed that you would do this for me. Thank you!

9 Responses to “I’m having a moment…”


  1. 1 Natalie Joy May 31, 2006 at 4:50 pm

    What a fun package!! Complete with a yummy memory and a beautiful new friend. Enjoy

  2. 2 capello May 31, 2006 at 5:08 pm

    The bear is adorable, and I’m blinded by the beauty of the card.

    For me, it is rice candy. My dad was born and raised in Hawaii and occasionally he would go downtown to the chinese market; when he did he would get me rice candy. I can feel the paper wrapping melting on my tongue and the sticky-sweetness of the orange flavor.

  3. 3 sue b May 31, 2006 at 7:32 pm

    okay how lucky are you?! I’m loving those buttons. The color are wonderful. Wouldn’t they look cool embellishing the front of a bag? And the bear is too cute. All that and candy too, now that’s a good day !

  4. 4 rebecca June 1, 2006 at 12:47 pm

    That seems like such a special swap. I don’t think you should share more than 1, if that, with the kiddos. Go get them a bag of gummy bears at the store! I am really a nice mom, most of the time.

    What a super doll. And the buttons, I bet you will find some super project they will adorn.
    Thanks for the support btw!

  5. 5 Cathy June 1, 2006 at 1:52 pm

    Awww… what a sweet bear! And pretty buttons!

  6. 6 lizzie June 1, 2006 at 4:47 pm

    What fun to have people thinking of you and caring about you half-way around the world. Wouldn’t it be fun to meet her someday?

  7. 7 Lyn June 1, 2006 at 6:07 pm

    That sounds like a fun swap! And childhood CANDY memories are the best! Don’t you think everything was sweeter and yummier?

  8. 8 Rosa June 2, 2006 at 9:47 pm

    How fun, what a wonderful swap!!

  9. 9 Megan June 2, 2006 at 11:33 pm

    What beautiful buttons, lucky Linda!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives