Trying New Things…

These last few days have been days of playing around with new things. The first thing I tried was a collage. I really thought it couldn’t be that hard. I looked around for a picture that looked easy and took off. I love this picture. It was taken on our 2nd anniversary. That’s my hubby walking on the Grand Haven pier way back when we lived in Michigan.

3 hours later, I had this.

What really amazed me about this project is that I seriously have some spatial awareness issues. In the photo, the lighthouse looks so big – a main part of the picture. When I actually cut out the lighthouse, it was WAY smaller than I expected – hardly any of the picture at all! Realizations like this happened over and over again as I was working.The other thing I tried was weaving with a Weavette. I got 2 of them from the Spinning Wheel Yarn Shop with free shipping, and they came in 2 (TWO!) days.

I’ve made one 6 x 6 square with sock yarn and I think it’s pretty cute! I was going for a loose weave and learned that I really should have made things tighter. I can’t imagine making a whole table cloth or blanket like this, but I think this would look great in a square frame, or on the square pocket of a tote bag. Any other ideas anyone else has would be welcome!

19 Responses to “Trying New Things…”


  1. 1 capello June 4, 2006 at 4:22 pm

    I love, love, love your collage! The lighthouse looks less dominate in the collage because of the pattern paper you choose for the sky. That is a wonderful collage!

    And the weaving is cool too. How would you connect the squares together though?

  2. 2 Angela June 4, 2006 at 4:38 pm

    Wowie-zowie! That is a beautiful collage! I love it. Great colors and patterns.😎 What are you going to do with it? Frame it?
    The squares are pretty nifty too! Such a creative lady you are.

  3. 3 Rosa June 4, 2006 at 4:55 pm

    that is too cool! I love it. Can’t wait to see more collages.

  4. 4 Ali June 5, 2006 at 12:29 am

    Your collage is beautiful – I love the way you’ve expressed the texture of the wood.

  5. 5 weirdbunny June 5, 2006 at 4:32 am

    Lindie your just so full of new talent!! I love that collage so much. I hope you frame it and give it pride of place in your home somewhere.

    The weaving is good too, but I’m sure the collage was more fun to make.

  6. 6 kimberly June 5, 2006 at 6:21 am

    What a cool collage!!

  7. 7 Rachel June 5, 2006 at 2:57 pm

    that is so inspiring!-crafting something from photo like that…nice!

  8. 8 Megan June 5, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    Linda, that collage is just fabulous! How clever can you be? Very clever.

  9. 9 sue b June 5, 2006 at 4:55 pm

    Hey I have those two weavettes too ! The smaller size makes pretty good coasters if you use a bulky yarn and I’ve made about a zillion bookmarks with the other one. You could also make a lipstick pouch with the 2×6 one (maybe two sewn together?) but I never actually tried it. You know now I”m thinking you could take a bunch of the square ones sewn together and make a cool summer bag with a pretty lining behind the squares.

    For some reason the collage photo isn’t coming up😦

  10. 10 rebecca June 5, 2006 at 5:11 pm

    I am really impressed, that collage is excellent, better than some I have seen out there in bloggy land, and it is your first. I think you have the perspective right on. Nice use of color too. And all that texture. I guess you love textiles, and must know how different textures go together.

    I think it takes great patience to weave. Looks like a ton of fun…but I am already into toooooo much fun! LOL. I like all the new things you are trying! :o)

  11. 11 cindy June 5, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    I love the collage! I miss reading your blog. Someday I will get into the groove. This is my first time on the computer since we have been here. It is upstairs as well as all of my sewing things. I am starting to rethink this 2 story new house thing. So good to talk to you the other day!!

  12. 12 kathy June 5, 2006 at 5:47 pm

    Your collage is really incredible and beautiful to look at. I like how you interpreted and simplified each component. The papers you used for the sky and the middle section are perfect.

  13. 13 beki June 9, 2006 at 6:53 pm

    Your collage is absolutely gorgeous! You have a real talent for that sort of work. You should definitely do more.

  14. 14 Amy June 10, 2006 at 3:26 pm

    I am seriously impressed with your collage. It is a nice idea to collage from a favorite photo and the one you chose is perfect — so many angles and straight cuts. Wow – I’m inspired now. Thanks for sharing.

  15. 15 lizzie June 10, 2006 at 7:59 pm

    I love that photograph!! What you did with the collage is very nice!!–>

  16. 16 MissMeshell June 16, 2006 at 11:51 pm

    Your collage is absolutely stunning! Oh my, such a lovely image and patterns and textures🙂 Oh and I am in LOVE with Mr Sockfish, lol, so cute :))

    Oh and alas, I don’t own a staple gun…I’ll just have to be more careful with my hammer! lol…but it is like instant art, how fun is it? I need to get some more different sized canvases to play with🙂

    xoxo

  17. 17 Gina June 17, 2006 at 4:24 pm

    Wow, what amazing talent!

  18. 18 Crosspaws March 23, 2008 at 7:27 am

    Hi, Linda,
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while, and just recently began reading from the beginning, to catch up. What a surprise to come across this post and see your photo of “our” pier–I live in Grand Haven! When and where did you live in Michigan? I have lived in G.H. all my life. I really love this crafty blogging community I discovered just last fall, I have learned so much from all of you, and it suddenly got a little closer to home🙂 BTW, I am a bagaholic just like you, totally obsessed, and have enjoyed seeing all the beautiful things you have made.

    Lynn


  1. 1 Jessica M. Trackback on October 8, 2006 at 2:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives