The Inept Decorator

When it comes to decorating, I am inept. No, really, I have no skill in this area. My history is full of ideas that didn’t pan out. When we were newly married, I would buy little things that I liked for our apartment and eventually, I would have a room full of things that I liked, but a cluttered room that, as a whole, I didn’t like. When we moved into this house 4 years ago, I thought this would be my chance – it was pretty much a blank slate – most of the rooms hadn’t been painted in the 12 years since it was built. But, knowing my decorating history, I decided hiring a decorator would be better in the long run. In the last 2 years, she’s come over 3 times – mostly to pick out paint colors, give me ideas of what to do, etc. You’d think that I’d learn a few things here and there, but still, I remain unable to put together a room that I like. Case in point: a few weeks ago, I made these pillows out of Amy Butler’s Sunbloom fabric.They went well with my couch, I thought, but that was where my thought ended. I really didn’t know where to go from there. In walks my friend Lizzie one day and she says, “So what are you going to do to pull the blue out of your cushions?” First I thought, “What is she talking about?” then I thought, “She’s brilliant!” I finally had a direction for my living room. I started looking around for blue stuff and noticed that there is blue stuff EVERYWHERE these days, and not just blue stuff, but stuff that is both blue AND green. I got these vases for my mantel,


and a king size quilt which I cut in half and bound with Sunbloom fabric on the cut side. I considered, for a brief moment, making my own quilts, but this color was just perfect, and I couldn’t have made quilts for cheaper. AND, because blankets on the back of my couch NEVER stay put, I hung them on a massive wall that currently has nothing else on it. They are functional as well, since I often get cold at night just sitting on the couch.

The walls are green like the couch, btw, bad picture.

The room isn’t done, but I’m becoming more and more happy with it. Maybe some neutral curtains, a basket by the mantel with a Sunbloom liner…one day maybe, just maybe, no one will be able to notice that I don’t know what I’m doing. Thanks Lizzie!

11 Responses to “The Inept Decorator”


  1. 1 autum June 6, 2006 at 3:27 pm

    I like the blue and green together. It looks like you are off to a good start. The quilt idea was very clever!

  2. 2 Megan June 6, 2006 at 3:56 pm

    Good for you, Linda. Those quilts look veru cosy for a rainy afternoon, and I do like the cushions and vases.

  3. 3 weirdbunny June 6, 2006 at 3:56 pm

    My walls are green and my curtains blue. I have a real issue with clours in the house, I’m never content. Our house looks across a valley to another mountain with the blue skies above. Its a really tranquil view , so I decided to recreate that by using green on the walls like the hilltop and blue for the curtains like the sky.
    I love how you’ve edged the quilt with the amy butler fabric.

  4. 4 wendy June 6, 2006 at 4:41 pm

    love your vases and what a great idea for your quilts, its given me an idea for a storage problem!

  5. 5 capello June 6, 2006 at 5:40 pm

    Love the blue and green! The vaces are awesome!

  6. 6 Cindi June 6, 2006 at 7:58 pm

    I love green. Every room in my house save two is green. Those two will be conquered one day. I heard/read you should pick three colors for every room. One your main, one your accent, and one your pop color. I stink at decorating. I would like to just go to Ethan Allen with a magazine picture of their furniture and say “I want this room, the whole room please.”

  7. 7 Lyn June 7, 2006 at 8:54 am

    Oh my gosh, we sound just alike in the decorating dept. Especially the lots of little things that I like but look cluttered!

    Love the vases!

  8. 8 rebecca June 7, 2006 at 9:53 am

    Inept. I haven’t heard that word in a while! Can’t imagine why, since it could be my nickname.

    Maybe you have just found your decorating vein….love the quilts on the wall. How clever, and convenient. And that fabric is just beautiful.

  9. 9 Sandrine (alias Didine ♥ ) June 8, 2006 at 1:48 am

    Oh my god this hibiscus fabric is so lovely ! I’m in love with it !!! And the things you made with it are amazing ! Smooches🙂

  10. 10 Anonymous June 9, 2006 at 12:34 am

    Sorry, Sweetheart! You must have taken after me. You know how my house is–full of little knick-knacks from all the places we have lived or visited. I often get the feeling that it is just too, too cluttered! P.S. I didn’t mean to be anonymous this time. I meant to sign off as Mumzie! Don’t know if I’ll ever get the hang of these weblogs!

  11. 11 lizzie June 10, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    I’m shocked and honored to get credit for the decorating idea. I like what I see on the computer and I look forward to seeing it in person!! (I agree that the green doesn’t show up well on the computer.) Very fun to have new items and colors brightening your room. I LOVE the details of a room; they can be so personal and interesting.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives