Tossed Salad

My friend Em has 8, yes EIGHT, children. She had a tough couple of weeks when her hubby went out of town for work. When he got back, she was able to take a day off and the both of us, free from our children went out to lunch, shopping, and to a pottery glazing studio. What fun! I’ve never been to one of these studios. You go in, select a piece of unpainted pottery, and start painting. It took forever for me to get the 3 base coats on my platter, but I was confident that it was enough. In fact, Em did a pasta bowl and her coats looked the same as mine. Well, we went back to pick up our pieces yesterday. Her’s was a deep, dark red – just beautiful, and mine, well, it looked like this:

                         platter.jpg

 I’d complain about the lighting, but quite honestly, it wouldn’t look much better. And I’d complain about the rice cooker in the picture, but I really like the rice cooker and it brightens up the picture for me so I didn’t crop it. Look at how splotchy it is. Kind of a pink-ish splotchy. It won’t really go with our red fiestaware, but I’m going to use it because I painted it and I feel a bizarre pride in that. And even though it didn’t turn out the way I had planned, I’d like to go back. It was so much fun to sit and paint and talk with a good friend. Maybe I can plan a church ladies outing or something. We’ll see I also got some cornices up this week. I tried, really I did, to make cornices like this myself. I went to Home Depot and bought some thin plywood, cut it to size, anchored everything together with brackets, but when I picked up the cornice board that I made, it must have weighed 40+ pounds, and I really didn’t trust the wall to hold it up – even if it was anchored into studs. I broke down and had them made instead, and I like them.

               cornices.jpg 

I also saw this cute classic ninepatch quilt in BH&G’s Quilting magazine and I’m wanting to make it in a crib size. I’ve started cutting out some Martha Negley florals that I’ve had forever for a little girl that will be born in our church in August. I’d post a picture, but Blogger is being stubborn. I’d also like to post a picture of the mouse that a bird dropped into our driveway last week, but again, maybe lucky for y’all, it won’t upload. Did y’all catch that? I’ve been living in Texas for 8 years and I just said, “y’all”. So the mouse made me realize that I am definitely a city girl. I can have dreams of living in the country, but when it comes right down to it, when a Texan mouse drops in to say “Howdy!” all I can do is take a picture of it and give my neighbor a hollar to see if she’d be willing to scoop it up for me with that there shovel.

One last thing for all you WordPress users – is WordPress better than Blogger? Any major complaints? I really want a free blog, but not the hassle – is it possible?

19 Responses to “Tossed Salad”


  1. 1 lera June 14, 2006 at 12:53 pm

    sorry about your platter not turning out how you wished, but i still like the colors.

    i, too, am getting sick of blogger. i’ll have to check back to see if you get any comments about wordpress. i’ve been thinking about changing, too.

  2. 2 rebecca June 14, 2006 at 1:05 pm

    I am too sorry it didn’t turn out the way you wanted, but it still pretty. I reallylike your design. I think it is great that you just got to get a girls night out!!!

    And I like the cornices. I applaud you for trying to make them, I guess sometimes you just gotta give in and buy them.

  3. 3 sue b June 14, 2006 at 1:24 pm

    I like the platter and I like the cornices. They look great on those windows. I had a girls outing yesterday too ! A little shopping and dinner with a friend. Love doing that once in a while.

    If you find a free blog host better than blogger let me know. I think all the freebies are the same though and well it’s true you know, you get what you pay for so I guess we probably should be happy that our free blogs work at all ! I hate the idea of paying to blog.

  4. 4 Angela June 14, 2006 at 1:39 pm

    Glad you had a nice day out with a friend and got to try a different kind of craft! I think it looks pretty good, especially for your first try! The cornices are nice too. I’m impressed that you tried to make them yourself! I bet they were heavy!
    I have not one complaint about wordpress yet!😎 I do know that the free one gives your really small photos and you have to know how to change the sizes…which I don’t, but my hubby did it all sooo….?

  5. 5 Ali June 14, 2006 at 1:47 pm

    Eight children and she got her husband to have them all and got a day off to paint pottery?!! Mine has to psych himself up to have 2 for an hour or so!

    I like your platter – even if it’s not quite what you were expecting.

  6. 6 Megan June 14, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    I’ve tried ceramic painting like that too, and thought it was great fun. And yes my colours were also washed out. Still can’t figure out why. You’ce made me want to go back and have another go.

  7. 7 wendy June 14, 2006 at 3:25 pm

    Love your platter, it has a rustic look to it , very tuscany

  8. 8 capello June 14, 2006 at 3:31 pm

    I heart painting pottery too. But I’ve been schooled on making sure your paint is completely dry before starting the next coat. That may have been what happened. But I think it’s purty. And you should be proud.

    Yes, Blogger is being a big ole pain in the ass.

  9. 9 kimberly June 14, 2006 at 9:44 pm

    Oh my, 8 children?? And she has time to think?? I thought I had it bad but I won’t complain anymore.
    I love the splotchy red and the rice cooker.
    Oh and I love the accent you’ve picked up. ;o)
    As far as my computer smarts go, and that’s not far, in order for you to use wordpress you need a website that can use php script. I found one that is super cheap. Then you need to know all about php in order to change the look of the blog to what you’d like. Luckily for me, Martin is a bit of a computer geek and helped me out, otherwise I’d be still at blogger.
    I hope this has helped, my computer know how is quite limited although I am trying to expand on it. Slowly.

  10. 10 Cindi June 14, 2006 at 9:49 pm

    I like the platter. It looks like something from Southern Living. I have never tried making cornices. I applaud you for trying!

  11. 11 RANDI June 14, 2006 at 11:57 pm

    Blogger has been such a pain lately! I don’t know anything about WordPress but I am interested to see if you end up making the switch–whether or not you like it!

  12. 12 Cathy June 15, 2006 at 9:29 am

    I have been contemplating leaving blobber for a while… so much down time, even for a freebie. Congratulations on your move, I hope it is much better than blobber.

    I like your platter. I can see where you might be disappointed though if your friend’s came out a richer color.

  13. 13 ivananett June 15, 2006 at 9:30 am

    I really like that you can categorize in word press. I was thinking of maybe switching myself. Looks Good!

  14. 14 Adrienne June 15, 2006 at 9:49 am

    I found you! I really like the platter, I wish you had a picture of Em’s bowl! Christine wants to go there and paint something whenever she earns enough points, we went one in Arlington for her birthday one year and she painted the cutest little fairy box. I made Jo a Christmas cookie platter that year and was shocked that it didn’t look all splotchy, it was the first time I have ever painted ceramics that it turned out even. So, I think practice makes perfect! I’d love to go with you next time!

  15. 15 Megan June 15, 2006 at 2:34 pm

    Welcome to your new home – I hope you like it here!!!

  16. 16 weirdbunny June 15, 2006 at 5:53 pm

    Your cornices are really nice. I’d like some tto, I think they really finish off a window. Your pottery is lovely it looks like a paint effect. Although I know what you mean, I done some and the paint is really deceptive. It looks totally different at the studio!

  17. 17 Kimberly June 16, 2006 at 12:09 am

    Yeah!! I love it!! We are now wordpress sisters.

  18. 18 kirsty June 16, 2006 at 12:38 am

    My chin is bruised where it hit the floor. E I G H T . I salute that woman! Looking forward to seeing the nine-patch quilt. I’ve been planning a cot quilt with Martha Negley fabrics myself :)Her florals are so beautiful!

  19. 19 wendy June 16, 2006 at 7:41 am

    LOVE YOUR NEW SITE


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives