Nine Patch Quilt Completed!

It was about a year ago that I walked into a quilting store for the first time.  Before this, I had thought that my only options for fabric were at JoAnn's and Hancocks.  During that first trip, I walked around the store several times, each time feeling more and more overwhelmed by my fabric options.  I finally picked up a couple of coodinating Amy Butler fabrics and a couple yards of Martha Negley's pink floral fabric.  I love this fabric – it is so pretty, but I didn't really have anything to do with it until now, when finally someone I know is having a GIRL!

I finished the quilt last night.  Huge thanks to EVERYONE who left comments on my last post answering my questions.  I only have one aquaintance who quilts, and haven't had much opportunity to pick her brain on these matters (she has 4 kids, I have 3 – who has time to talk quilting?).  But YOU, in this circle of crafty bloggers have taught me so much!!!  Thank you for taking the time to comment!  Before this week, I'd never even  heard of a stay-stitch…

Here she is before the first wash:

ninepatch-prewashing.JPG

Here she is in all her wrinkled glory.

 ninepatch-wrinkled-s.JPG

A wrinkled beauty.  Would that someone would say that about ME one day.  In addition to the floral fabric, I threw in some Martha Negley's fruity squares since this little girl's nursery is pink and sage. 

ninepatch-label2.jpg

And finally, my first attempt at a label.  I wish the top square hadn't been blank, but with babies sometimes coming early, I didn't want the month to be forever wrong on this baby's quilt.

As I was putting the quilt together, I kept thinking that it looked disjointed.  But as I was taking pictures I realized that looking through the camera let me see what the final quilt would look like.  Looking at it in a small screen blurred the lines just enough that it looked better through the camera.

I love this pattern. I will definitely use it again.  I looks so country-ish and takes me back to a time when people rode in covered wagons, lived in log cabins, and fished by streams.  Of course they had no running water and air conditioning, so I'm very thankful to be living in the present and romanticizing the past.

20 Responses to “Nine Patch Quilt Completed!”


  1. 1 lilymarlene June 22, 2006 at 4:32 pm

    That looks really lovely. Well done!
    I love the way they “age” with one wash!

  2. 2 Angela June 22, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    beautiful quilt and glad you got yourself a new blog home. I hope you like it!

  3. 3 Lauri June 22, 2006 at 6:10 pm

    What an absolutely beautiful quilt! Very lucky little girl. I also love they way they wrinkle up…makes them extra comfy!

  4. 4 beki June 22, 2006 at 7:28 pm

    it’s so beautiful! you did a great job.

  5. 5 capello June 22, 2006 at 8:28 pm

    The quilt looks awesome! I cannot believe it is done already.

    So… when are you coming over to help me with mine?

  6. 6 Cindi June 22, 2006 at 9:42 pm

    I love that quilt. You really need to make a girlie quilt for yourself. Being the only girl at your house you need to pamper yourself!

  7. 7 Natalie Joy June 22, 2006 at 11:20 pm

    This quilt is absolutely gorgeous. I have done a couple of table runners but never anything this big. My limited quilting is what led me into bag making. It is so beautiful. This new mommy and her baby will love it.

  8. 8 lera June 23, 2006 at 6:54 am

    I love your quilt! the colors are fabulous!

  9. 9 Cathy June 23, 2006 at 9:45 am

    It is a beautiful quilt! You did a fantastic job for your first.

  10. 10 wendy June 23, 2006 at 9:46 am

    love your quilt, the colours are just beautiful🙂

  11. 11 weirdbunny June 23, 2006 at 12:32 pm

    How kind you are giving your quilt away as a present!! After all the work that you’ve put into it. It truly is stunning though!

  12. 12 rachel June 23, 2006 at 2:09 pm

    The “wrinkled beauty” line made me laugh! Beautiful quilt!

  13. 13 Megan June 24, 2006 at 12:49 am

    Superb, it’s just beautiful!

  14. 14 Sandrine (alias Didine ♥ ) June 24, 2006 at 11:45 am

    OOOh it’s soooo beautiful ! You’re soooo talented !! I love these colours🙂 ! Great job my dear ! Smooches

  15. 15 quenna June 25, 2006 at 2:26 pm

    Linda, that came out wonderful…the colors, the label, and especially the wrinkles (I’ve wondered how that was done).

  16. 16 ivananett June 25, 2006 at 4:37 pm

    I Love It!!! Makes me want to do one too. the little name detail makes it really special:)

  17. 17 Amy June 28, 2006 at 7:33 pm

    Nice! Congratulations, it is just beautiful. The simple quilting is pefect really.

  18. 18 kathy June 29, 2006 at 4:17 pm

    Beautiful. I love pink and white quilts, they’re so light and pretty and girly. Great idea for the label. What a wonderful gift.

  19. 19 Kimberly July 15, 2006 at 3:06 pm

    As you can tell, I’m trying to catch up on my blog reading and am amazed at how productive you’ve been since I left. Honey, how do you do it?? That quilt is sooo gorgeous! I love it. Your red and black bag is great and you’re such a great friend-your friend is very lucky to have you too!
    Sorry, but I thought you should know. :o)


  1. 1 Inspired by Myself « Craft Apple Trackback on February 14, 2011 at 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives