Another Quilted Purse

Thanks to Awesome Autum’s quilted bag tutorial, my second attempt at a quilted purse has a much better shape and is a nicer size.  Thank you, Autum!!!

 Red/Black quilted purse

This one is for my friend Em, who’s birthday is this week.  She LOVES red, and we have a joke about how she likes red and black together, since those are the colors of anger, or so I heard once upon a time.  This is made from decorator fabric that was on clearance with a coordinating cream fabric for the inside.  What I really like about this purse is that it isn’t out of place at all to use scraps to make the pockets inside and put a decorative stitch over the seam.  Since Em has 8 kids she NEEDS pockets.

She also doesn’t get to shop alone very much and told me about how she bought herself a red T shirt (with at least 4 children in tow), got home, put it on, just to realize that it was ORANGE!!!  So when I give her the purse tomorrow during our weekly coffee (well, I don’t actually drink coffee), inside will be this red shirt, and this red hair clip.  She’s been having a hard time finding a red hair clip so I got this brown one, took it apart, and glued some red bias tape over the brown.

red shirt

I so appreciate her friendship.  She’s a few years older than me and has so much wisdom for things that are on my mind.  Sometimes on the way to meet her at Starbucks, I wonder if we’ll have anything to talk about, but we always talk and laugh until we look at our clocks and wonder how it got so late.  What a blessing to have a Christian woman to share time with, learn from, and bounce things off of. 

21 Responses to “Another Quilted Purse”


  1. 1 ivananett June 25, 2006 at 4:40 pm

    your a good friend:) I bet that will encourage her tremendously! I like the way the purse fans out. very cool.

  2. 2 sueb June 25, 2006 at 5:01 pm

    Love the bag ! and what a nice friend you are, she’s going to be tickled with her bag and her inside surprise.

  3. 3 autum June 25, 2006 at 6:48 pm

    Your friend will be so happy to get a gift that is so beautiful. What a neat idea to make the hair clip red.

  4. 4 Cindi June 25, 2006 at 7:26 pm

    You are the sweetest lady! I love the bag. You did great! I wish I could have coffee with you (I don’t drink coffee either, but a lemonaide would be great!) I know your friend will so appreciate the thoughtful gift.

  5. 5 beki June 25, 2006 at 8:59 pm

    your bag turned out great! i’m sure your friend will love it. you’re so lucky to have a friend like that and she is lucky to have you🙂

  6. 6 Natalie Joy June 25, 2006 at 10:46 pm

    What a neat gift. You are such a great friend. The bag turned out beautiful.

  7. 7 Mary June 26, 2006 at 6:16 am

    I really like this purse. Nice colors.. I’m a big red and black fan myself. Very cool idea about the gifts inside as well. Sure she’ll love it.

  8. 8 Cathy June 26, 2006 at 1:11 pm

    Another spectacular purse! I’m sure your friend will love it.

  9. 9 Randi June 26, 2006 at 3:56 pm

    Your friend is sure to love the bag! Thanks for the tutorial link–I have been wanting to make one of those for a while!

  10. 10 Georgia June 26, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    I love that quilted bag and your fabric choices. I think I’ll have to give Autum’s tutorial a try!

  11. 11 lera June 26, 2006 at 5:39 pm

    love the quilted bag! I like the two colors (I’m worried about choosing too many bad colors).

    I was so happy to see the tutorial last week and can’t wait to try one myself.

    Your friend is lucky to have you as a friend. I’m sure she’ll love the bag, shirt, and hair clip.

    PS — I still can’t leave comments from my laptop, so if you get a lot of comments at once, you know why.

  12. 12 quenna June 26, 2006 at 9:01 pm

    Sounds like you have a wonderful mentor…I’m sure she’ll love the presents! Since she likes black and red, there is a song with the same name in Les Miz, the musical. Great job again!

  13. 13 joanna June 26, 2006 at 11:07 pm

    I saw her tutorial, but alas, I can’t try it out for another few months. Your bag turned out great. I’m sure your friend will love it!

  14. 14 weirdbunny June 27, 2006 at 4:32 am

    Aren’t you just the most wonderful friend ever!!!!

  15. 15 Megan June 27, 2006 at 6:29 am

    Isn’t it wonderful to have a friend like that to spend time with. I bet she loved her bag and surprises inside!

  16. 16 Ali June 27, 2006 at 6:54 am

    What a nice friend you are – I bet she’s chuffed to bits with her birthday goodies.

  17. 17 capello June 27, 2006 at 1:26 pm

    I’m sorry. I couldn’t understand anything after you said your friend has eight children. (Okay, I’m just kidding. But still, is she Superwoman?)

    Beautiful bag, and I love the shirt idea. She’s blessed to have a friend like you.

  18. 18 Lauri June 27, 2006 at 3:44 pm

    What a fantastic gift! And LMAO about the red/orange t-shirt. Thing like that have happened to me many times. Not to mention the things you find in your basket as you are checking out that the little buggers have snuck in!

    Great bag!

  19. 19 Em June 28, 2006 at 9:35 pm

    I am blessed to have a friend like you. Surprise!! You didn’t expect me here did you?
    It is a wonderful purse. It has proven itself by use.

  20. 20 kathy June 29, 2006 at 4:14 pm

    Wonderful gifts. I’m sure they’ll be really appreciated. The purse is so pretty. I just made one of these too from the same tutorial. I can tell it’s going to be an addictive pattern. I’m already thinking about the fabrics for my next one.

  21. 21 Wendi July 1, 2006 at 8:20 am

    We appear to have a lot in common!
    And how lucky you are to have such a wonderful friend! Cherish it!

  22. 22 Bea July 1, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    OH! What a LOVELY and WONDERFULLY thoughtful gift!!!
    YOU shall be REWARDED yourself for taking the time to THINK of
    your sweet friend and design especially for HER!!!
    WHAT a blessing you are!!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives