Patchwork and Chenille Baby Blanket

I just found out that a baby girl was born to a college friend of mine last month.  I actually used what I had for this one. I love this patchwork fabric and haven’t seen it at my fabric store for months.  I wish I knew what it was called so I could look for it online.  Anybody know?

Baby blanket - sage and patchwork

Sage green chenille on the back – makes for a thick, luxurious-looking baby blanket.  I prefer the wavy chenille, but the chenille is always gone at my JoAnn’s – I’m glad if I can find a color other than cream so I get some when I can.  If you’re reading, my new Canadian mom, this will be sent out to you soon!

24 Responses to “Patchwork and Chenille Baby Blanket”


  1. 1 sueb June 29, 2006 at 7:08 pm

    fantastic. I like the chenille on the back – great idea. I can’t really see the patchwork in the picture but you might check equilter.com. try a search for patchwork and maybe something will come up.

  2. 2 Stacy June 29, 2006 at 8:47 pm

    Your quilt is beautiful! I love the idea of using chenille on the back. Is this your fabric?
    http://www.hancocks-paducah.com/item–i-M-12004-36.html

  3. 3 autum June 29, 2006 at 9:02 pm

    Beautiful quilt! I think the fabric is by Three Sisters for Moda, Seaside Rose? maybe.

  4. 4 craftapple June 29, 2006 at 10:15 pm

    Thanks to Stacy and Autum – you girls are right! It’s Seaside Rose!!!! I’m off to shop for more!

  5. 5 Monica June 30, 2006 at 3:21 am

    that is fabulous! I totally love it. I tried once before but the knitted side got all stretched and wouldn’t be sewn properly to the quilt side. A nightmare…

  6. 6 Natalie Joy June 30, 2006 at 7:44 am

    Another beautiful project. You are so talented. And, how do you have the time to make all these wonderful gifts.

  7. 7 capello June 30, 2006 at 3:52 pm

    That will definately be a snuggly woobbie for a new baby.

  8. 8 kathy June 30, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    I love all these fabrics. It’s so funny that I just used Chenille on your sister’s blanket. I love the look and feel but I find it really hard to sew with. What are your secrets?

  9. 9 Amy June 30, 2006 at 6:49 pm

    I love the chenille for the baby stuff too – it just feels right. It looks beautiful. Good luck finding more.

  10. 10 Cindi June 30, 2006 at 9:30 pm

    Oh, green….I love this quilt.

  11. 11 Megan July 1, 2006 at 12:20 am

    Lovely, lovely, lovely.

  12. 12 Wendi July 1, 2006 at 8:10 am

    Just found your blog. Great quilt!

  13. 13 kerry July 1, 2006 at 6:21 pm

    Love the idea of chenille on the back, we have been working with lots of chenille down here (Australia), the fabrics are from a range from Three Sisters, just a little hard to pick which one.

  14. 14 quenna July 2, 2006 at 12:43 am

    That’s beautiful — good idea to have the chenille, soft and cuddly!

  15. 15 Pam in Colorado July 3, 2006 at 12:03 am

    Beautiful quilt. I love the green chenille. Lucky baby!

  16. 16 weirdbunny July 3, 2006 at 3:27 am

    genius putting the chennille on the back!! Wonderful present. You’ve got the patchworking down to a fine art now.

  17. 17 Cathy July 3, 2006 at 9:56 am

    Another beauty! I love that fabric and chenille combo.

  18. 18 Lauri July 3, 2006 at 11:03 am

    Oh ny gosh! So beautiful! And I’m totally (sage) green with envy that you can find chenille in ANY color other than pink, blue, yellow or white! I would even take the robe terrycloth stuff! Absolutely beautiful quilt!!!

  19. 19 Angela July 3, 2006 at 1:48 pm

    That is such a wonderful blanket Linda! It looks so cuddly and calming. perfect.

  20. 20 rachel July 3, 2006 at 6:04 pm

    The chenille makes the quilt look very rich-great idea!

  21. 21 Lyn July 3, 2006 at 9:01 pm

    Oh my that is beautiful. Looks very comforting…..could make a king size???? I am actually thinking of trying my first quilt……..any pointers?

  22. 22 Wendy August 28, 2006 at 11:28 pm

    It is definately Moda Seaside Rose (Moda # 12004-36) Patchwork Fabric. I have successfully gotten around 10 yards off of E-bay for a very reasonable price. And is looking fabulous in my daughter’s shabby chic bedroom! Good luck!

  23. 23 Lesley McCormick March 5, 2008 at 9:27 am

    I am searching desperately for 3 yards of the seaside rose patchwork fabric, would you be willing to sell some to me?

    I had made curtains for my daughters room when the fabric was in the stores, and I love it so much, and I want to make 2 x single quilts to match and now I can’t find the fabric anywhere……

    thanks ever so much
    Lesley

  24. 24 Sue July 7, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Did you ever find more fabric? I’ve been looking for this same fabric and would love to order more!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives