Flashin’ My Freezer

Is it just me?  Or is it harder to craft during the summertime?  My kids aren’t even officially in school yet, but I’m having the hardest time finding the time and energy to sew, or even think creatively.  It HAS been hot, so maybe I’ll just stick my head in the freezer.  

I’ve been tagged by Ms. Bonnie for the Freezer Stash Flash.   So here I go – I’m flashin’ my FREEZER.  Welcome to the world’s most boring freezer.  Why is it so boring, you ask?  Well, the fact that I am extremely germ-phobic coupled with my anal tendencies to be organized, my freezer looks like this:

freezer-s.jpg

There were no real surprises here.  I just adore the tupperware popsicle makers that were just handed down to me from a friend.  We poured some orange juice in those for hot summer days. I also just got a huge bag of frozen blueberries from Tar-jay – they are always so big and yummy.  That’s a special Sunday night treat for the boys – Dannon La Creme yogurt mixed with blueberries.

The oldest food item is some pie crusts from last Thanksgiving.   The worst surprise?  I forgot that I put some hamburger up there 2 weeks ago…and I’m not sure if I can bring myself to cook it for my family.  I really prefer fresh meat. 

See that little bunny tail on the bottom right?  That’s our boo boo bunny and the best surprise is that I can’t remember the last time we used it.

And now that you all know how uptight I am about keeping things organized, let me just say that if you give me a label maker and some file folders, I can go to town.  Look what I did to organize my patterns:

patternfile-s.jpg

Now, of course, this doesn’t mean that my HOUSE is organized, it just means that when things around me are organized, I feel organized on the inside.  Looking at this pattern file box gives me a sense of calm and I need several organized places around the house that give me that feeling.  I think I’ll just stare at this box some more.

12 Responses to “Flashin’ My Freezer”


  1. 1 Elizabeth k July 9, 2006 at 5:01 pm

    I loved homemade popsicles when I was a kid.

  2. 2 Bonnie July 9, 2006 at 5:59 pm

    Holy cow! I am impressed. Your freezer is SOOOOO organized! No secrets in there. LOL!

  3. 3 weirdbunny July 9, 2006 at 6:55 pm

    We used to have those exact tupperware popsicle holders when I was a kid!

  4. 4 kathy July 9, 2006 at 8:31 pm

    I love that idea for your patterns! I’m going to give that a try. I have all of mine in separate plastic bags and I have to go through them all each time I’m looking for something.

  5. 5 Monica July 10, 2006 at 8:13 am

    I’m speechless. I don’t know if I’m am envious or scared. I’m not organised… ask my husband for enfatic confirmation…

    I’ve always wanted those popsicles thingy. Here they call them ice-lollies.

    I’m never going to show my freezer…

  6. 6 Cathy July 10, 2006 at 8:23 am

    Holy OCD! Will you come and organize my freezer, and when you are bored with that, organize my files. Good for you! I always like being organized, I just can’t seem to do it.

  7. 7 Lyn July 10, 2006 at 8:23 am

    I have to say, our freezers look alot alike. The things we eat, the organization and THE BLUE BELL!

  8. 8 capello July 10, 2006 at 11:25 am

    I love being organized too.

    We have the same boo boo bunny, and use it almost daily. I can’t find them anymore, but I did manage to get some elephants of similiar nature at Tar-jay, but they aren’t the same. Sigh.

  9. 9 Ali July 10, 2006 at 12:16 pm

    Please come over to my house and organize me. I am hopeless.

    We make a lot of home-made popsicles in the hot weather too – I have to restrain myself from eating them up when the kids are in bed!

  10. 10 Cindi July 10, 2006 at 2:09 pm

    LOL, ROFLOL, you do not want to look in my freezer or pattern cabinet. I thought doors were invented to throw things behind and then slam shut! Praying that when the next person opens them the stuff will not fall out. Want to bring your label maker and come help me out.

    Signed Organizationally Challenged.

  11. 11 Wendi July 10, 2006 at 10:07 pm

    I love being organized too. Probably too much. I can’t seem to concentrate if I’m surrounded by chaos.

  12. 12 ohelene July 11, 2006 at 7:19 am

    Just feel free to come and organize my sewing space or my freezer any time😉


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives