Swap package sent and Yarn Labels Collaged!

I don’t participate in many swaps.  It’s not that I don’t want to, it’s just that I’m afraid I won’t have the time to make something well enough to be appreciated by the recipient.  Below is something I made for a swap – my second swap ever.  I met my swapee (is that a word?) Lori through my blog, but she doesn’t have a blog herself.  Yet.  We all know that once you start looking around, it’s not long before you want to join the fun yourself.  Right?

                          swap bags

The drawstring bag is for her 4 year-old son, and the purse is for her 6 year-old daughter.  The green/blue bag is similar to bags that my kiddos carry their swimming stuff in.  I sure hope he likes frogs.  I actually used a pattern to make the bag:  Simplicity 7161.  The bag turned out fine, but this experience has further confirmed my dislike for most patterns.  I found the instructions hard to follow, which is really weird because this is a Dummies pattern and I’m an experienced bag-maker.  Is it them or is it me???

And I finished my yarn label collage! 

                  yarn collage

I like it.  I dilluted ModPodge 50-50 with water in a tray and lay the strips in there long enough to break up the paper a bit, then collaged away on a canvas. The canvas was painted a dark brown so that anything that shows through isn’t glaring white.  I started with Matte ModPodge, then ran out and finished with Glossy.  Glossy sure is stinky!

14 Responses to “Swap package sent and Yarn Labels Collaged!”


  1. 1 sueb July 11, 2006 at 3:01 pm

    It is definitely not you ! I’ve never been able to follow a commercial handbag pattern either that’s why I’ve always made my own.

    Love the fabric you used for the purse – very cute. And the collage came out great !

  2. 2 capello July 11, 2006 at 3:55 pm

    Love the bags! But now you have me scared. I have some stuff I (eventually) want to make from patterns, but there’s a reason why I haven’t yet: patterns totally intimidate me!

    So, which mod-podge do you prefer for outcome, matte or glossy?

  3. 3 Ali July 11, 2006 at 3:59 pm

    Your bags are adorable. I’m glad patterns are weird for experienced sewers too. I bought my first pattern (for an apron) the other day and couldn’t beileve they had made something I thought was simple so darn complicated. I though it was because I’ve taught myself to sew (sort of) and don’t really know what I’m doing.

  4. 4 Cathy July 11, 2006 at 5:44 pm

    I haven’t ever used patterns for a bag either. I love the two bags… I’m sure the recipients will appreciate them.

    And the collage turned out great! I can’t believe those labels actually had a use other than to add to clutter. Heh!

  5. 5 Debbie July 11, 2006 at 8:56 pm

    Great bags. Perfect fabric especially for the recipients.
    I gave up using patterns. It seems to me that they just make things 10 times harder than they need to be. Last time I tried a bag using a simplicity pattern I ended up throwing the whole thing in the trash and it wasn’t a complicated bag and I’ve been sewing for a zillion years.
    Collage is cool. Neat idea.

  6. 6 Natalie Joy July 11, 2006 at 9:31 pm

    I’m with you. Patterns stink! That’s why I switched to bag making, so I wouldn’t have to try to follow a pattern and actually make it fit someone. Bags are usually one size fits all.
    Great bags by the way. I’m sure she’ll love them.
    Love the collage, too.

  7. 7 Monica July 12, 2006 at 2:17 am

    you scared me too! I’ve got a few bag patterns but have never gathered enough courage to do it… now I’ll probably never do!!

    The collage is quite groovy too. My oh my you’ve been busy! Puts me to shame. My mum is here and I haven’t finished anything yet.

    better get busy..

    By the way, the bags are fab. did you line the one your sons use for swimming?

  8. 8 Lyn July 12, 2006 at 10:16 am

    I LOVE the collage!

    And the bags are wonderful too. Her kids will love them I am sure!

    What fun to do a swap.

  9. 9 Lauri July 12, 2006 at 8:23 pm

    I can’t follow a pattern to save my life! But, if I just get an idea in my head of what I want something to look like, I can make it. Very weird.

    Also, about crafting in the summer…UGH! Having the kids home from school is a real drain on my resources and creativity!

  10. 10 weirdbunny July 13, 2006 at 6:32 pm

    I really appricated all the cards you made for me. Quite a lot have them have been framed. They were so stunning, I needed to hang them on my wall. Everyone comments on them. Unfortunately lots of people just don’t seem to get the blogging concept, especially that we make and send things to people we have never met all over the world!!

  11. 11 Cindi July 13, 2006 at 9:54 pm

    It’s not you, it’s them. I spent 1/2 hour today trying to figure out the instructions for one step on this dress pattern I am making. I would love to see a close up of that cute pin cushion. Did you make it?

  12. 12 lera July 14, 2006 at 4:18 pm

    love the collage. i need to be more creative.

    the bags turned out great! i think the recipients will be very happy.

  13. 13 rachel July 14, 2006 at 7:55 pm

    Love your bags! I bought a bag pattern quite awhile ago and have never used it. Too complicated. I have a better time with visual tutorials or winging them, although every once in awhile I get a strange one. :o)

  14. 14 Lori July 28, 2006 at 1:03 pm

    We just picked up our mail from the post office-THANK YOU!!!! My daughter is filling the purse as I type. She loves that it is divided. She is so girly and really into purses. My son loves the frog bag. He has a frog costume and thinks this is the perfect accesory. It is already loaded with cars. Thanks for the patterns-wow-real paper patterns! I have to sit down and read through them. They are perfect. And thanks for the fabric and lining. Now I just need the new machine and courage to try them.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives