Petty Bag

                  Pretty Bag Book

I decided to try something from my Japanese craft book again.  Not knowing Japanese has been a real deterrent.  It makes me scared to start something that I may not know how to finish.  But I DO read English and I only just recently noticed that it’s not called “pretty bag collection” but “petty bag collection”.  No R in the word “pretty”.  Blinded by the inspiration, I didn’t even notice it was spelled wrong.  And I’m a grammar and spelling freak.

So I tried another Petty bag, and this is how it turned out. 

                          pretty-bag-e.jpg

 Looks pretty simple and straight forward, huh?  I had the hardest time wrapping my brain around the pictures and trying to figure out how to make this bag.  The challenge was this finished side edge:

                          pretty-bag-e-finished-edge.jpg

coupled with this rounded corner:

                          pretty-bag-e-rounded-corner.jpg

Go ahead.  Try to figure out how it’s done.  Oh yes, and let me give you a huge clue:

               pretty-bag-e-instructions.JPG

Does that help? 🙂

This was actually my experimental piece.  I wanted to try it on some scrap fabric before trying it on some special fabric that I’m saving.  I think I’m going to give this one to one of the boy’s swim teachers that has been teaching them all summer.  Maybe a bag with a picture of the boys, some cards handmade by them, and a gift card to TGIFriday’s?  She’s in college and I have no idea what’s cool for college girls.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

16 Responses to “Petty Bag”


  1. 1 capello July 13, 2006 at 4:59 pm

    At first I thought what could be so hard. Then I had to pick my jaw up off the floor.

    Your idea sounds like a good idea to me!

  2. 2 sueb July 13, 2006 at 5:00 pm

    I like that bag, I like the way the sides are a bit lower. I’m going to have to try that.

    Let’s see a college girl… well I’m not sure what part of the country your from but a starbucks gift card might be a good idea. That’d be good for coffees on the run or for breakfast. Or how about a gift card to an office supply store or target so she can buy school supplies?

  3. 3 weirdbunny July 13, 2006 at 6:28 pm

    I too thought it said pretty.

  4. 4 Debbie July 13, 2006 at 6:49 pm

    I think your pRetty bag came out quite nice esp. for your first run through.

    When I am doing a bag with rounded corners I cut the gusset on the bias. This usually gives the gusset fabric enough stretch so that you can stitch it smoothly around the corner. If it still has some pucker to it, I will make some small snips into the seam allowance on the gusset before sewing.

    Amy Butler’s pattern the Dorothy Bag has side edges similar to this. You have to really clip into the corners to get it to turn flat.

    You’re right on with the teen gift. I’m sure she’ll love a bag and gift certificate. A very generous gift that will be appreciated.

  5. 5 Stacy July 13, 2006 at 8:45 pm

    I love your petty bag (and I love the Amy Buttler fabric too). I hadn’t noticed the petty instead of pretty until you pointed it out.

  6. 6 Elizabeth k July 13, 2006 at 9:28 pm

    That is a very petty looking bag😉 I’m using that fabric as the border of my quilt.

  7. 7 Cindi July 13, 2006 at 9:52 pm

    The bag is cute. You did a good job interpreting the instructions!

  8. 8 quenna July 14, 2006 at 12:29 am

    Still clueless…I guess I need more arrows! I can’t believe that’s a first run bag…it looks great. A gift certificate is the way to go (maybe starbucks for late night cramming)!

  9. 9 Cathy July 14, 2006 at 7:22 am

    I like your petty bag! I bet the college student will love it and anything else you give her.

    I have made a bag with rounded corners, that’s no problem. I don’t think I could figure out the rest with that diagram though!

  10. 10 Randi July 14, 2006 at 10:17 am

    Petty bag, Linda! 😉

    I think your gift idea sounds PERFECT! I only wish I was the swim teacher!

  11. 11 lera July 14, 2006 at 4:17 pm

    I thought it said “pRetty” bag, too!!!! LOL!

    I think your bag turned out cute. It’s a cute pattern. And I would say you mastered the Japanese pattern.

    (And, THANKS, by the way, about not turning the pj bottoms. Duh! I make purse handles that way ALL the time, but did NOT think of doing it that way. And because I probably didn’t read the pj pattern, it probaby suggests it that way! I will definitely blame this one on PREGNANCY BRAIN!) Thank you so much for pointing that out to me!!!!

  12. 12 Kimberly July 15, 2006 at 2:51 pm

    I love that bag-good going on those directions. I’m still a bit confused!!
    Oh and by the way, I’ll teach your kids to swim next year if you promise to give me a bag and some food. 😉

  13. 13 beki July 15, 2006 at 8:49 pm

    Hey, I think it turned out pretty great for experimental. Your kids’ teachers get the best gifts!!

  14. 14 Karyn August 10, 2006 at 8:06 pm

    I’m fascinated by these bags, and even more fascinated by the instructions!! May I ask if you used interfacing?
    Thanks!

  15. 15 mikamika November 30, 2006 at 2:06 am

    Hi, I recently found your blog and have been enjoying reading it.
    As a native Japanese, the title actually reads “Petit Bag Collection” in Japanese. They might have misspelled “Petit” as “Petty”. Those bags *are* pRetty, though.


  1. 1 Belle Bag and Birthday Boy « Craft Apple Trackback on September 22, 2008 at 1:33 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives