Basket Liner Redo

Yet another attempt at jazzin’ up my living room:

Half-priced Micheal’s magazine basket before:

                   basket-liner-before.jpg

Magazine basket after:

                    basket-liner-after.jpg

I didn’t make another liner.  I just took a strip of the floral fabric, fused it on the underside of the existing liner, then put a decorative stitch around the top on the inside.  Now it goes with my cushions.  2 more cushions, some drapes/window treatments, then I’ll feel like it’s a bit more finished in there.  When I’m in there now, the room feels unfinished, and because the house is like an extension of myself, I feel unfinished.  What a blessed life I lead to even care about something as trivial as this.

18 Responses to “Basket Liner Redo”


  1. 1 sueb July 19, 2006 at 8:57 am

    much better ! what a great idea. I have some of those baskets in my den, I think I’ll steal your idea and update mine with some coordinating liners.

  2. 2 capello July 19, 2006 at 9:47 am

    It’s so pretty!

    I feel like I’m watching everyone’s living rooms come together while mine is falling apart. Stupid foot.

  3. 3 kirsten July 19, 2006 at 11:52 am

    love it! i’m re…..freshing my living room as well- i feel so much better about it now! i have some similar baskets that will have to be updated now – catch-alls for books and toys that migrate from the playroom. good idea! cute blog.

  4. 4 Bee July 19, 2006 at 11:53 am

    Such a great way to add some nice detail to the room! I also know that “unfinished” feeling and feel grateful often that my “issues” can be so trivial and not a matter of survival. We are so blessed!

  5. 5 Lauri July 19, 2006 at 1:10 pm

    I love that fabric and the liner looks GREAT! I see lined baskets all the time and think, “But I’d have to make another liner…”. I never even thought of just adding on to the underside! Great idea…you’re a genius!

    I also cannnot wait to see pictures of the finished room!

  6. 6 Randi July 19, 2006 at 1:52 pm

    This is so cool! Just today I was thinking that i need a book basket in the living room but the one I have has an ugly liner–this insprires me to do something about it without buying something new! Thanks!

  7. 7 lera July 19, 2006 at 2:22 pm

    What a brilliant idea! At first I thought you re-lined the entire basket (which I’ve been too intimidated to try!). Your idea about using the strip is something I would not have thought of! Thanks so much.

  8. 8 Leslie July 19, 2006 at 5:26 pm

    Duh! Why didn’t I think of that? Last summer I struggled trying to make liners for some baskets in my bathroom. Turned out rather crooked. Rest assured that I will do it your way next time. Thanks for the idea.

  9. 9 Cathy July 19, 2006 at 6:25 pm

    You are a clever woman! It looks terrific!

  10. 10 Natalie Joy July 19, 2006 at 6:25 pm

    I too am working on updating my living room. Our (former) dog reaked havoc on it , but it is coming back together. I like the liner. It’s a great idea for continuing a theme. You always do such a good job.

  11. 11 Elizabeth k July 19, 2006 at 11:09 pm

    It’s the little touches that bring a room together. The basket faux lining is terrific.

  12. 12 kathy July 20, 2006 at 12:07 am

    What a great idea you clever decorator you! I need to go look for things I could do that to. I love fusible web, definitely one of the greatest inventions EVER.

  13. 13 quenna July 20, 2006 at 10:03 am

    Great idea to just do the top — fab results with minimal work!

  14. 14 Debbie July 20, 2006 at 10:08 am

    Your are so clever! Love it. Great idea and really makes a difference.

  15. 16 Lyn July 20, 2006 at 4:40 pm

    Very cute. I am doing some jazzin up in my casa as well but I am not NEAR as creative.

  16. 17 weirdbunny July 21, 2006 at 11:36 am

    Your baskets look loveley, Ive done something similar with the basket in the back hall, that are on the shelves filled with all those mundane things you don’t want people to see like shoe polish.

  17. 18 beki July 21, 2006 at 11:56 pm

    Love the lining! I have some big baskets for toys in my living room that could use a spruce up, but then I still haven’t made any drapes, or pillows, or table skirt, or… I understand what you’re saying about your house being a reflection of you. Right now I feel like so many things are unfinished that I’m embarrased to have anyone over. I need to get over that beacuse I realize that I’m missing out by feeling that way. I’m sure most people wouldn’t even notice the things I worry about, or if they did notice they wouldn’t care.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives