Quilted Purse in Blue

I do most of my sewing at night after the kids are in bed.  The last few nights, I’ve been dreading going into the craft room because that room (of all places) has been infested with ants (of all things).  Tiny ants and medium-sized ants with wings (thankfully, not termites) that only start climbing the walls and flying around starting at 8pm.  Crazy, huh?  We had our bug guy, Bob come and spray deep into the ground and into the walls outside that room, but they’ve come back.  Ahem, Bob?

Since crafting is my apple and I can’t go too long without sewing, I braved the bugs and started working on a quilted blue purse, stopping every few minutes to swat an ant off the machine, or squish on that had landed on my leg – not the ideal sewing situation.

I tried a few new things on this one.  I did free motion quilting rather than the straight lines that I’ve done in the past.  I finally got to use my stitch regulator on my machine for a real project.  It was a lot of fun. 

        quilted-purse-free-motion.jpg

I used scraps to make the pockets.

          quilted-purse-pocket.jpg

I used my new buttonholer (with memory) to make 4 perfectly identical button holes for the magnetic snap closure.

buttonholes-2.jpg buttonholes-1.jpg

And just for fun, I did some large zig zags on the handles.

                quilted-purse-handle.jpg

This purse is for me.  Why do I need another purse, you ask?  Well, I got a new blue and white shirt and I didn’t have a purse that went with it.  So what does a bagaholic do?  Make a purse to go with the new shirt, of course.                               

quilted-purse-final.jpg

20 Responses to “Quilted Purse in Blue”


  1. 1 autum July 20, 2006 at 9:10 pm

    I love the purse with your pretty new shirt! Hope you are bug free soon!

  2. 2 Randi July 20, 2006 at 10:26 pm

    Cute purse! I have been wanting to try free motion quilting and a purse seems to be the perfect project to try it on since it is small. I have a quilt all ready to go but I am afraid of ruining it!

  3. 3 Adrienne July 20, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    Man, Linda you are brave! I would be screaming if I was swatting ants, just nutso after a while! Yes, you really are that skinny…just not that tall! 🙂

    Like the purse, love the circles, I loooove circles…

  4. 4 Monica July 21, 2006 at 3:39 am

    Sorry about the ants. When I was living in Australia I once came out of the shower to find the bathroom had been swarmed by termites. I mean everywhere… the walls were brown and moving.

    I’ve never been more scared/grossed out in my life. I went back in the shower and screamed. For a long time. Until somebody opened the door from the outside and I bolted out. Naked. In front my house mates.

    Bad, bad time.

    The bag is fabulous as usual.🙂

  5. 5 Cindi July 21, 2006 at 7:22 am

    I will not covet, I will not covet! The stitch regulator looks so fun! I love the colors of the bag. You did an awesome job. Cute pictures!

  6. 6 Cathy July 21, 2006 at 7:37 am

    Haha! I liked the stretched image (knew it was stretched) but the real you is more attractive. I love the purse and of course you had to have a new one for your new shirt, use whatever excuse you can! I still have sewing machine envy and now it is worse… one day I will have a new machine.

  7. 7 Stacy July 21, 2006 at 8:24 am

    I LOVE your new purse – especially all the fun details, like free motion quilting (Oh, how I wish I had that stitch regulator foot for my machine). Beautiful job (as usual). I hope that you get rid of your bug problem soon (I have a friend who is currently infested with fruit flies).

  8. 8 capello July 21, 2006 at 9:33 am

    Puh-leaze — you’re still tall and skinny!

    Oh, how I wish I could get my hands on my sewing machine….

  9. 9 weirdbunny July 21, 2006 at 11:34 am

    LOve your bag, button holes done to perfection how wonderful!

  10. 10 lera July 21, 2006 at 11:55 am

    sorry about all the ants! what a nightmare to have to deal with!

    cute bag. and, yes, a bagaholic makes a bag to match a shirt. it’s a fact of life!

  11. 11 Angela July 21, 2006 at 1:32 pm

    You are beautiful just as you are. You bag is very cute! and we too have been attacked by ants this year. We just can’t seem to get rid of the little pests.

  12. 12 Lauri July 21, 2006 at 9:33 pm

    Great purse!

    I wish I could do buttonholes!

  13. 13 beki July 21, 2006 at 11:52 pm

    Ooo, your new bag is so pretty! Look at you, using all those fancy things your new machine can do. I’m totally envious!!

  14. 14 Mumzie July 22, 2006 at 10:07 am

    Nice outfit, Linny! You look very “together”–and fit!

  15. 15 rachel July 22, 2006 at 10:52 am

    …that one looks great!…I’m glad to hear that you are keeping it for yourself. :o)

  16. 17 kathy July 24, 2006 at 2:05 pm

    Your bag looks fabulous. Great idea of doing tiny buttonholes for the clasp. I wear jeans all the time too. Love the colors with your outfit.

  17. 18 lizzie July 26, 2006 at 11:28 pm

    You got me on the picture……I was thinking, “Man, she looks tall!” I know I told you already, but I think your new purse is great!!!

  18. 19 Kimberly August 1, 2006 at 1:56 am

    Love it, you gorgeous, skinny babe!!!

  19. 20 Ruth Ann July 10, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Love the purse. I’m trying to sew an extra long handle and it buckles and twist. it’s quilted fabric and of course folded 1/2 inch on each long edge. Any suggestions?


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives