Martha Negley Cards

Has anyone else seen Martha Negley’s new cute fabric – cupcakes, strawberries, frosting, coffee.  Cute and fun! I got a couple of half-yard pieces just because I couldn’t resist and made some cards last night.  I’ll spare you the ugly first attemps and leave you with the ones that I like the best  – the ones that came together late into the night when my creative juices seem to be flowing at their best.

coffee-card-martha-negly-ss.JPG 

               

cupcake-cards-s.jpg

       cupcake-card-collage.JPG

It’s fun playing around with the different stitches on the machine.   I’m not sure what’s up with the picture quality…

I didn’t post much last week – I was reading a classic – The Good Earth by Pearl Buck.  It was gripping, but left me with a sense of how hopeless life can be when all you live for is yourself.  *sigh*  Hopefully I’ll be up for sewing some more this week

16 Responses to “Martha Negley Cards”


  1. 1 Susan July 30, 2006 at 8:34 pm

    What lovely stitches. And what fun fabric.

    I haven’t thought about The Good Earth in decades. I remember being moved by it, but I don’t remember why.

  2. 2 Monica July 31, 2006 at 3:08 am

    your cards are sooo beautiful!

    I like Pearl’s Buck books. I remember reading one about a hospital somewhere is Asia… doctor, nurse, love. I’m not sure, it was so long ago, but I remember I really loved it! Ahhh the teenage years..

  3. 3 Cindi July 31, 2006 at 7:08 am

    Love the cupcake card. I really like the stitches you chose to decorate it!

  4. 4 lizzie July 31, 2006 at 8:58 am

    Glad to see you creating again. Those are really nice…I like the interesting stitches.

  5. 5 Cathy July 31, 2006 at 9:24 am

    I love the cards, the different stitches really bring out the character of the fabric’s pattern.

  6. 6 capello July 31, 2006 at 1:35 pm

    I’m loving that cupcake fabric! (And I can pretend they are gluten free too, mmmm mmm!)

    I really like that book. I thought it did a great way of showing the rise and fall of society, even though she only showed it in one man’s lifetime.

  7. 7 Ali July 31, 2006 at 3:11 pm

    Those cupcakes are making me feel hungry.

  8. 8 Kimberly August 1, 2006 at 1:51 am

    I love those cards!! Isn’t it fun using the stitches on your machine? That’s how I felt when I got mine. Well, I still feel that way. FUN. I’m glad you have a new one!
    You were right about the comment not showing on my blog, I’ve been trying out a new anti-spam plug in and it’s not working.

  9. 9 Lauri Smith August 1, 2006 at 2:04 pm

    Those are adorable! And I love the “creative stitching” you did!

  10. 10 sueb August 1, 2006 at 5:06 pm

    Loving these cards, that fabric is wonderful. The creative stitching adds just the right touch !

  11. 11 beki August 1, 2006 at 5:35 pm

    Those are some mighty cute cards!

  12. 12 weirdbunny August 1, 2006 at 5:53 pm

    wow, did your machine do those circular stiches?

  13. 13 quenna August 2, 2006 at 10:37 am

    Glad you are having fun with your new toy! The cards look great with all those fancy stitches!

  14. 14 Amy August 6, 2006 at 10:20 pm

    Ooo those stitches are cool. Mine does zig zag and hmmm, that’s about all. Those look like tons of fun.

  15. 15 kathy August 10, 2006 at 1:51 pm

    I haven’t seen that fabric but LOVE it. I just read a post over on the Quilting Arts blog about ATCs and the basic instructions. I haven’t made any but you’re inspiring me. What a satisfying project to start and complete in one sitting. Sometimes that’s just what I need to get my juices flowing.

  16. 16 rebecca August 18, 2006 at 9:28 pm

    those are awesome! what a gem you’ll be handing out!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives