Green Felted Bag

I don’t know how all you knitting bloggers out there do it.  The project below took me months – months to finish and it’s only going to get one, one measley post.  I mean, if I’m working on a quilt, I might be able to squeeze 2 posts out of it, but for a project that took this long, I really should be able to do at least 5, but alas, just one…

Here is the before shot of the wool felted purse that I knit:

                 green-felted-bag-before.jpg

I tried to be cute and put some little dots near the bottom in the same color yarn as the drawstring, but they ended up just looking like specks of dirt.

Here is the after shot:

                  green-felted-bag.jpg

Finished dimensions: 12″x11″

Yarn:  Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Fern and Evergreen

I really like how it turned out (little dirt specks and all).  I sewed a liner on the inside, complete with a pocket using fabric that Quenna bought when she went shopping for me (thanks, Quenna!).  I love it when there’s fabric in my stash that is a nice match.

                  green-felted-bag-inside.jpg

Here is the book I got the pattern out of:

                  felted-knits-book.JPG

The bag on the top left is that pattern that I used.  I like this book and found it really helpful in teaching me how to felt.  My first  two experiences weren’t exactly successes.

I think I may be the world’s slowest knitter.  I like it that the needles are portable, but I am at a time in my life when my hands are rarely idle.  And am I too old to be starting a new hobby?  How do you knitters ever get anything done?

24 Responses to “Green Felted Bag”


  1. 1 Elizabeth k August 7, 2006 at 10:43 pm

    I wonder too, about these knitters that start a project one day and are done with it in 2 or 3. Not only am I slow, but I tend to lose interest these days. I’m getting one row a night on the Boss scarf. Good thing it doesn’t get cold here until November.

  2. 2 Ali August 8, 2006 at 1:33 am

    It’s GORGEOUS (picture me with my nose pressed to the monitor for a better view). I like the specks and no, you are never too old to be starting a new hobby!

  3. 3 sueb August 8, 2006 at 3:00 am

    OOhhh nicely done ! Green is one of my favorite colors and I really like the fabric you used for the lining.

    My knitting projects take forever too, probably because I do it only in my spare time when I’m not working on the other things I do.

  4. 4 clarice August 8, 2006 at 3:29 am

    I LOVE the bag. I also love to knit and felt. I will have to check out this book. Thank you Clarice

  5. 5 Cathy August 8, 2006 at 7:09 am

    It turned out great! Love the coordinating fabric too.

    I get knitting done in fits and starts. When my son was younger, I knit during his naps. Since he dropped naps, I don’t knit as much. I’m hoping that I can get back to more knitting as he gets older.

  6. 6 capello August 8, 2006 at 9:23 am

    I don’t know how to knit or crochet, so you have me beat.

    Love the colors and the design, very cute!

  7. 7 Lauri Smith August 8, 2006 at 11:22 am

    That is adorable! I so want to learn how to do that!

  8. 8 rachel August 8, 2006 at 12:54 pm

    I think it turned out great! I made felted purses with several colors of contrasting yarn last Christmas for my sister-in-laws who have everything. (I knit it with circular needles in a round-easiest.) It took me a month and a half to make each one, among other Christmas projects. Let’s just say my fingers were a bit owie two days before Christmas when I was really trying to get that last one done. :o) I try hard keep knitting an evening thing after my young kids go to bed around 8:30pm. It’s much more relaxing to me that way.

  9. 9 Stacy August 8, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    I love this bag! I’m a VERY slow knitter too, but have been looking for a good bag pattern (I had been mulling around the idea of getting the Lion Brand yarn Bag book, but understood that the crochet bags were better than the knitted ones and I don’t know how to do that yet)!

  10. 10 quenna August 8, 2006 at 7:29 pm

    What a pretty bag (nice shade of green) with a great lining fabric…:)! As a previously obsessive knitter (now an obsessive sewer), I got a lot done by just knitting everywhere (monitoring homework, waiting for pasta to boil, riding in the car, exercising, watching TV….). It such a portable hobby!

  11. 11 Kate August 9, 2006 at 12:16 am

    This turned out great – love the lining. Also love the bag you made with the Amy Butler fabric. All your bags are fantastic.

  12. 12 Kimberly August 9, 2006 at 1:22 am

    Your bag is great!! Isn’t it fun to felt? Yes, knitting takes forever compared to the instant gratification of sewing. I just love how the lining is a perfect match.

  13. 13 weirdbunny August 9, 2006 at 8:44 am

    It might have taken a long time to make, but the result is superb. Lindie is there nothing you can’t do?

  14. 14 lera August 9, 2006 at 9:23 am

    the bag turned out great! love the lining fabric.

    i don’t knit and never understood (until recently) why someone would want to put all this effort into knitting something only to felt it. but, i’ve seen the results and i like them. now i understand!!!!

    i keep thinking i’ll learn to knit. i like instant gratification and results, so that’s my problem! it would drive me batty if it took months!

  15. 15 rohankitter August 9, 2006 at 3:33 pm

    Very nice bag! I am also amazed as these knit bloggers who churn out one project after another. I only learned to knit this winter so maybe I’m just slow? I made myself a felted bag (booga bag) and got the majority of it done in a couple days, but that was during a 14 hour (one way) drive to South Dakota. I’ve been working on a shawl since May and am only 1/2 done…..every now and then I find I need to intersperse it with something quick, like a dishcloth.

  16. 16 Megan August 10, 2006 at 12:44 am

    Fabulous bag Linda, well done. This may even possibly be my most favourite of bags you have made, though that’s from a scale of love to really love to most favourite!

    I might rival you for slowest knitter. I started one scarf about 2 months ago and it is still only half way through.

  17. 17 kathy August 10, 2006 at 2:00 pm

    Don’t try and steal my title. I adore seeing knitting on the blog circuit and I really want to be a good and faster knitter, I just can’t seem to get there. I’m still working on a scarf I almost finished last winter, I’ve been thinking about getting it out again and trying for this season.

  18. 18 Sandra August 11, 2006 at 3:10 am

    Great knitting, felting also! So far I have never tried felting. This bag could be suitable for first project and at the same time perfect b-day gift!

  19. 19 Debbie August 11, 2006 at 7:00 am

    Felted purse came out great. Perfect size and it felted down nicely. Love the lining – it really sets off the purse.

  20. 20 Randi August 11, 2006 at 9:25 am

    This bag almost makes me want to attempt knitting again. Did you notice the word “almost”? I just don’t have the knack for the craft–I am seriously all thumbs unless I am making a very simple scarf!

    Great work!

  21. 21 rebecca August 11, 2006 at 10:07 am

    No, I am the slowest knitter! Love the lining. Did you hand sew that in?

    Oh, I miss you…….have a wonderful rest of the summer! Nothing too new or exciting to share, but I will be in touch! hugs

  22. 22 Hilari August 11, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    WOW! Your bag turned out great! Love the contrast in colors – I’m getting ready to start a sweater in almost the same except the primary will be the dark green.

  23. 23 Cindi August 11, 2006 at 4:26 pm

    I really like that bag. I am slow knitter also. I have never tried a felted, that looks fun.

  24. 24 Rae March 24, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    Congratulations on your concept and completed project. I loved the tabs for the pursetop closure. Did you make the I cord? The Nicky Epstein felted purse I am just about to complete has these two 84 inch I cords over 5 stitches — there has got to be a better way — like the old nail and spool little girl toys we used to make. May just have to try that and see if it is better than the I cord method. Also I am looking for suggested fabrics for the felted purses. Any suggestions? Really great job you managed with this project. Best wishes


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives