Mini Nine-Patch & Amy Butler’s NEW BOOK!!!

 A good friend asked me to make her something to put on her wall that would represent me.  And as usual, when I am given a blank canvas on which to produce, my mind goes, well, blank.  I stressed about it, came up with a great idea, spent some time putting it together and got this:

                                  weekly-coffee.JPG

No, no you can’t click on it to make it bigger – I’m too embarrased to have anyone actually look at it closely.  So I didn’t sew for a few days after this failure.  Attempt number 2 turned out much better, I thought.  A tried and true pattern – the nine-patch quilt…miniaturized…the mini nine-patch which I’ve entitled Weekly Coffee.  This is the first time I’ve put a sleeve on a quilt for hanging. The little squares are 3/4 of an inch after the sewing – and it’s about as small as I can go, I think.

                 mini-9patch.JPG

And I always think the little strips of piecing are so cute so here’s a picture of them.  “Not so cute” you think?  Well actually, I wanted to show off my latest book that just came from Amazon:  Amy Butler’s new book!!!  It’s called In Stitches. Everything in it looks so fabulous, of course, because it is all made out of her fabric, but I’ll be looking through it some more to see if there are projects that are practical and doable for me. 

              in-stitches.JPG

24 Responses to “Mini Nine-Patch & Amy Butler’s NEW BOOK!!!”


  1. 1 sueb August 12, 2006 at 3:39 pm

    Love the little quilt ! I have that book on my wish list so I’ll be looking forward to your review of it once you spend a little time with it.

  2. 2 autum August 12, 2006 at 3:45 pm

    I love this Linda. The coffee cup in the corner is perfect. I’m sure your friend will treasure this gift.

  3. 3 clarice August 12, 2006 at 5:17 pm

    you are so silly these quilts are WONDERFUL !!!! Thank you for sharing them. I will check out the Amy Butler book. Clarice

  4. 4 Karyn August 12, 2006 at 5:39 pm

    I absolutely love the mini quilts!
    I’m also looking forward to hearing your opinion of Amy Butler’s book. I’m tempted to get it but would really like to know if it’s worth it.

  5. 5 Bonnie August 12, 2006 at 5:50 pm

    That is adorable! Love the little coffee cup.

  6. 6 Stacy August 12, 2006 at 6:22 pm

    I ove the mini quilt!

    Have fun with the Amy Butler book – I loved it! The only downside, I want to buy all of her new fabrics to make all the projects!

  7. 7 Shelly August 12, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    The mini quilt is great! I don’t know if I’ve ever seen an Amy Butler book. I’m too much of a rookie (and a cheapskate) to have come across one. I’ll look forward to your take on it.

    Still in a holding pattern with the little guy.

    Blessings,
    Shelly

  8. 8 Linda L August 12, 2006 at 9:32 pm

    I really like the mini quilt. Love the colors!

  9. 9 beki August 12, 2006 at 10:05 pm

    I think your mini quilt is great!

    You got your book already???? Lucky you!!! I pre-ordered it and can’t wait for it to arrive.

  10. 10 Elizabeth K August 12, 2006 at 10:45 pm

    I saw In Stitches at the book store today and had a very hard time resisting it. Maybe I’ll treat myself in a few weeks.

    What is that fabric the book is resting on?

    The mini quilt is very cute.

  11. 11 Ali August 13, 2006 at 12:57 am

    The quilt is lovely – your friend is going to be so pleased.

  12. 12 Kimberly August 13, 2006 at 2:23 am

    I love it!! You really are amazing me now.

  13. 13 Sandra August 13, 2006 at 6:17 am

    OMG, you are so good in everything you do that it hurts! Amazing work! Keep on creating and posting!

  14. 14 Cathy August 13, 2006 at 8:14 am

    Those are small squares! And the result was wonderful… great job again! You should really be proud of all your crafts. The failed attempts are just practice!

  15. 15 Cindi August 13, 2006 at 12:40 pm

    That’s the cutest little quilt. I love the diamonds on point. You are so talented. The seams match so well. Enjoy your new book!

  16. 16 Adrienne August 13, 2006 at 12:46 pm

    I think that quilt for Em is just AWESOME!!!!!! What a cool idea to bring your weekly coffee visits into it. LOVE IT!!

  17. 17 Debbie August 13, 2006 at 2:26 pm

    Nine patch quilt is just great. Perfect with the coffee cup in the corner and great use of the print.

    I just got the new In Stitches book last week! Haven’t had too much time to really go through it yet but several items look interesting.

    I bet your friend will be thrilled with the quilt.

  18. 18 kathy August 13, 2006 at 4:06 pm

    I love the scale Linda. It looks fabulous. How did you know I was trying to make that little photo bigger?

  19. 19 Lyn August 13, 2006 at 9:05 pm

    Love the mini quilt! And the book looks fab. I am slowing coming around to making a quilt. I think that will be my winter project.

  20. 20 Randi August 14, 2006 at 8:23 am

    Does this mean that I have to buy a new book? I think that my dear hubby would kill me if he saw another “Barnes and Noble” charge on the card! I think I will try to get the library to order it! 😉

    –Great quilt! You are so talented!

  21. 21 lera August 14, 2006 at 12:05 pm

    That turned out GREAT!!!! I wish I could do something like that …

    I forgot the new book was coming out!!! I will have to get it! I’m glad you reminded me. (I also have been looking at the “Sew-U” by Built by Wendy book, but that hasn’t been released yet either…)

  22. 22 weirdbunny August 14, 2006 at 6:06 pm

    I would have loved to see a bigger picture of the first one, but when I clicked on it it didn’t go bigger. However the secongd on is perfect. Your such a perfectionist making a second one as you weren’t happy with the first. You must have so much patience!!!

  23. 23 lizzie August 19, 2006 at 2:13 pm

    That is a neat idea and very meaningful with the coffee cup!!! I’m sure she will treasure it all her life!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives