I’m a Copy Cat

Today is trash day.  When the trash can in my sewing room looks like this on trash day, I know it’s been a fairly productive week. 🙂

                       trash-can.JPG

Artsy Crafty Babe posted some Martha Stewart dishtowels from Kmart that I thought were so cute.  I went online to find the closest Kmart just to find out that there are NONE in Texas.  Martha Stewart really isn’t getting her fair exposure here!  They didn’t sell the dishrags online either, so sweet Beki went and picked some up for me!!!  Isn’t that just what you would expect from a fellow blogger?  Thank you so much!  They are a thick cotton that I thought would be perfect for a pieced kitchen rug inspired by Autum from her famous Japanese craft book.  I sewed the peices together, fused the back with fleece, quilted it, then backed it with canvas and slipped a kitchen rug from Target inside.

When the rug was done, there were quite a few dish towels that hadn’t been used so I made my first-ever apron to match.  I pieced some squares on point, then using Denyse Schmidt’s pattern as a guide, I made an apron to match.  I didn’t put a pocket on because I thought it would be too busy. 

                 apron-and-mat-s.JPG

I’ve never used aprons when I cook, but I’m always looking around for a dish towel to wipe my hands.  Since my apron is made out of dish towels, I think it will serve it’s purpose perfectly.  I know, I know, the rug is a bit on the white side.  Hopefully it’ll wash well.

28 Responses to “I’m a Copy Cat”


  1. 1 autum August 14, 2006 at 1:10 pm

    It’s ok to be a copy cat but you shouldn’t copy cat so much prettier! I love your mat and apron!! And having a new puppy in the house I can say with all confidence, yes they wash well. I don’t understand what you did with the Target rug. Did you insert it between the canvas and the quilted part then stitch around the edges?

  2. 2 sueb August 14, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    fabulous! Love the apron and I think you’re right about the pocket. The rug is an inspired idea and I just may copycat that from you !

  3. 3 beki August 14, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    OMG, that turned out so well! You did an awesome job!!! Amazing what can be done with kitchen towels.

  4. 4 kirsten August 14, 2006 at 1:36 pm

    those turned out so so cute – great, now i REALLY want to make one of those rugs! add to the list…

  5. 5 Cathy August 14, 2006 at 2:51 pm

    I love both the rug and the apron! Very well done, Linda, as usual!

  6. 6 Ali August 14, 2006 at 4:29 pm

    That’s really lovely. I never felt the need for one of these mats before, but I am trying to convince myself of it now so I can have a go at the fun. Maybe as it gets colder and my tootsies need cosseting.

  7. 7 lera August 14, 2006 at 5:52 pm

    Those are so adorable!!! I bought the same dishtowels a week ago. I’ve been afraid to cut them. Now, you’ve inspired me … again.

  8. 8 weirdbunny August 14, 2006 at 6:03 pm

    I love it, I love it, I love it. How brilliant, the colurs, pattern, and the wonderful job you’ve made making them into a mat and an apron!!!!!!!!

  9. 9 Elizabeth k August 14, 2006 at 6:24 pm

    The apron is so cute. I knew that most of the Kmarts in Texas were shut down but I didn’t realize all of them were. Bummer.

  10. 10 capello August 14, 2006 at 7:52 pm

    So cute. Really jealous. You Craft Apple, you.

  11. 11 Wendi August 14, 2006 at 8:29 pm

    I LOVE that apron! Great idea!

  12. 12 Lauren August 14, 2006 at 9:18 pm

    Adorable!! Ohhhh….I will do the same thing and be a copycat of a copycat…am I a copy-copy-cat? Or a copycatsquared….no, that is if someone copies me…

  13. 13 Debbie August 14, 2006 at 9:25 pm

    Those are dishtowels???? Martha Stewart??? Wow! Who knew. And how pretty.

    What a great idea and I like your pattern idea of slipping a “real” rug inside. Should make it very durable and very easy to wash.

    I have to ask — what’s with the wooden spoon? Were your really cooking??? . . . . . . .

    I would say that trash can of your is overflowing with lots of remnants from some great crafting ideas and finished projects.

  14. 14 Bonnie August 14, 2006 at 10:05 pm

    What an awesome idea! I really need to quit my job. It’s getting terribly in the way of all the good fun. Course then I couldn’t buy any more supplies but I bet I have enough yarn and fabric for many years of crafting. hmmmm….. Wonder how long the food in my pantry and freezer might last?

  15. 15 kathy August 14, 2006 at 11:19 pm

    You’re ready for a cooking show with that ensemble! I have the same question as Autum. I’ve been seeing these rugs but I’m worried about it slipping on the wood floors in the kitchen, did your Target rug solve that? You’re always doing great things that brighten up your house, it’s very inspiring. Thank you Linda.

  16. 16 rebecca August 15, 2006 at 10:27 am

    Oh Linda, that rug is wonderful. And love the story of Beki getting them for you!!!! How sweet. But that rug and that gorgeous apron would make Martha herself very proud! I may have to be a Copy the Copy Cat kitten. huh?

  17. 17 Cindi August 15, 2006 at 1:13 pm

    I am going to be a copy cat next! Oh, wait I already have been. Anyway…I saw those dishtowels and just loved them. I have so many that I was looking for an excuse to buy them. You have now provided me with my excuse!

    Oh, I forgot to tell you we finished Edward Tulane the day before I went in for surgery. The children thought I lost it because I boo whooed through those last chapters.

  18. 19 Kelli August 15, 2006 at 2:36 pm

    LOVE this idea. Nice work!

  19. 20 Mom August 15, 2006 at 2:43 pm

    Did you ever get by the sewing machine store to take the lessons? You have been doing so much sewing with your new machine that I can’t imagine you being any more creative. So glad you love to craft.

  20. 21 Lyn August 15, 2006 at 4:14 pm

    I might just get creative if I keep coming around here. And as a fellow Texan, yes, there are no Kmarts in these here parts!

  21. 22 Amy August 15, 2006 at 5:57 pm

    Aren’t you smart! Your design sounds nice and heavy and sturdy. I hate lightweight rugs that shift around constantly. And it’s cute to boot. Congrats on the fun apron too!

  22. 23 jessica August 15, 2006 at 6:36 pm

    how great both pieces are.

  23. 24 amyposypress August 17, 2006 at 5:37 pm

    these came out so well…i love the rug/mat idea!

  24. 25 lisa August 18, 2006 at 9:37 am

    Oh no! A new blog to add to my addiction.

  25. 26 lizzie August 19, 2006 at 2:10 pm

    very nice apron and mat!!! very lovely!!

  26. 27 Jeanine August 24, 2006 at 6:57 pm

    I recently stumbled across your site upon reading somebody’s blog. What an AWESOME rug and apron.


  1. 1 Kitchen Rug « Craft Apple Trackback on April 6, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives