Courthouse Steps part II and MORE cards

Thanks for all your suggestions on my last post!  Kristen, who doesn’t have a blog of her own, even multiplied the image in Photoshop for me so I could see what it looked like.  Thanks, Kristen!  I was going back and forth about what to do when on Saturday morning, my oldest little guy was cutting some fabric and I noticed he had laid his fabric on top of one of my quilt squares.  I screamed.  He stopped cutting.  But it was too late.  He had cut right into the quilt square.  Sigh.  On the bright side, it made it easier for me to decide to start all over from scratch.

I went through my stash and looked for pink and green fabrics that would go together.  It turns out that 90% of my stash is made up of pinks and greens!  I spent a lot of time cutting, then sewing and had a few failures that I’m scrapping (can anyone say TOO BUSY?):

  trash-squares.jpg

but now I have a new, more simple design that I think will come together nicely.  I’ve cut all the strips – I just have the sewing to finish. 

where-im-at.jpg

 

I also made some cards.

                         poetry-cards.jpg

One whole charm pack of Poetry fabric by April Cornell.  80 prints.  Lots of fusing, cutting and ironing.  Result?  35 note cards (that’s it??).  I’m coming up on my 1000th comment.  I think my 1000th commenter will be getting a set of these.

29 Responses to “Courthouse Steps part II and MORE cards”


  1. 1 Kristy August 21, 2006 at 11:01 am

    I can’t believe how fast you work!
    I was going to give a pressie to my 1000th commenter.It turned out to be my mum who recently discovered my blog!

  2. 2 kirsten August 21, 2006 at 11:25 am

    gorgeous cards! 1000th commenter? 1000th?!! holy moly!

  3. 3 Wendi August 21, 2006 at 11:44 am

    I love the cards! Wanna do a tutorial on how to do that?

  4. 4 Sarah August 21, 2006 at 12:32 pm

    Great job! I like the final quilt design a lot. Can’t wait to see it finished!

  5. 5 Debbie August 21, 2006 at 12:38 pm

    I’m considering commenting numerous times so that I can be #1000 – I love the cards. They came out great.
    Looks like you have been super creative!

  6. 6 Allie August 21, 2006 at 12:44 pm

    Hi, just recently started looking up your blog – very helpful for the kinds of things I’m starting to do.
    I second the vote for a card-makin’ tutorial, or at least a few more details of your process if possible.
    Thanks, Allie

  7. 7 Kimberly August 21, 2006 at 12:49 pm

    I love the cards!! Hmm what number am I?

  8. 8 Kimberly August 21, 2006 at 12:49 pm

    Yep, I forgot-I think you definitely need a tutorial on those cards!!

  9. 9 Randi August 21, 2006 at 1:29 pm

    I always feel a little weird commenting for a prize but I comment here all the time and i won’t worry about it! 😉

    So sad that your little man cut your quilt! That would be a tough one to handle! it is awfully cute that he was quilting with you!

    My fabric stash has alot of same colors too–lots of blues and reds and browns. Sometimes I think that I should quit buying fabric for about a year–but who on earth can do that???

  10. 10 capello August 21, 2006 at 1:38 pm

    The quilt is coming along beautifully!

    And pretty note cards.

    (Although I am questioning your sanity of allowing anyone under the age of 25 to have a pair of sissors.)

  11. 11 sueb August 21, 2006 at 2:23 pm

    hey that’s pretty cool that you know how many comments you’ve gotten. Love the note cards by the way!

  12. 12 Shelly August 21, 2006 at 3:16 pm

    I am notoriously famous for doing such things myself – and I’m 39!!!!

    The cards are simply beautiful. It just amazes me on how creative one can be!

  13. 13 rebecca August 21, 2006 at 3:38 pm

    Oh so sorry to hear about the cutting, but I guess everything happens for a reason! Though I really did like the simplicity of the two different fabrics. The one your now doing is also looking FAB! And the notecards are just awesome. It sure looks like a lot of work, but very much worth it.

  14. 14 Monica August 21, 2006 at 4:36 pm

    Hello… I found your blog while looking for a Moda link and took spin looking at all of the goodies you have posted. Great blog you have! – Monca

  15. 15 Lori August 21, 2006 at 6:34 pm

    I love those cards!! I love pink and green. I have to try these when I finally get my machine! (I’ll try to comment more!)

  16. 16 Elizabeth k August 21, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    Tell me more about how you make the cards, please. As if I didn’t have enough hobbies!🙂

  17. 17 Karyn August 21, 2006 at 8:11 pm

    The quilt is looking beautiful and oh my, those cards are absolutely gorgeous!

  18. 18 beki August 21, 2006 at 8:17 pm

    Ooo, I like the new look!
    Linda, I LOVE your notecards. I don’t think I ever gave you a proper thank-you for the notecards you sent me, but I really do love them. I’m in love with pink at the moment.
    I think your quilt will turn out beautifully. Those colors work so nicely together. I’m getting the itch to work on another small quilt, perhaps when the weather gets cooler.

  19. 19 Cindi August 22, 2006 at 12:13 am

    Sorry about starting over, but it may work out better. Do you like pink and green? Or are you just like me and ended up with it? I have loads of purples that just ended up in my stash and I don’t know how. Maybe I do subconsciously like purple? It goes well with green!

    by the way I like pink and green together!

  20. 20 meg August 22, 2006 at 6:22 am

    I can’t wait to see the final result of this quilt. It looks like you’re moving right along!

    What a great use of a charm pack. I love those, but I tend to just file them away in a box waiting for the “perfect” project. Thanks for sharing another great use! Your cards turned out beautifully.

  21. 21 Cathy August 22, 2006 at 8:29 am

    Your new quilt layout is fantastic! It has so much more pizzazz.

    I’m just going to keep commenting over and over until I reach the 1000… because those cards are beautiful!

  22. 22 Lyn August 22, 2006 at 9:00 am

    Love the cards! And the quilt layout is very nice. I am not sure, when I start quilting, if I will be able to do the layouts so they they look good…..we shall see!

  23. 23 Megan August 22, 2006 at 10:37 am

    I just found your blog and had to laugh at loud at your little guy with the cutting implement (scissors? rotary cutter?) because I’ve been there. It’s no fun, but so hard to be mad when they are obviously working so hard on their own project. Glad it all worked out in the end.

    The cards are beautiful, by the way. If you can’t do a tutorial, can you possibly reveal how you mount the fabric to the card? I’ve experimented a bit, but it either doesn’t stick well or just looks “off”….

  24. 24 Lori August 22, 2006 at 12:20 pm

    Gorgeous quilt and the cards are incredible. I just found your blog at the end of July and I love your posts and information. 1000 comments, wow.

  25. 25 lisa August 23, 2006 at 4:26 am

    1000 comments; amazing! I love the cards.

    Sorry about your quilt square. I ruined a comforter pulling the same trick as your little boy. I am much more careful now.🙂

  26. 27 Susan August 23, 2006 at 10:46 am

    I agree with the comments about doing a tutorial/another post on the notecards. They are gorgeous.

  27. 28 Elizabeth P. August 23, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    Cute cards! Sorry about the ruined quilt square but maybe it was a sign. At least you hadn’t gotten too far along on the quilt or it could have really been horrific.

  28. 29 kathy August 30, 2006 at 12:02 am

    I really like where your colors are going with this design. I think the scrappy approach makes it come alive. Can’t wait to see the finished quilt.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives