Notebook Cover Addiction

I finally got my one seamstress apron posted in my Etsy shop.  You see, since someone else had craftapple, and it was really late, I picked “myapple” which sounded really dorky about 1 second after I hit the “submit” button.  BUT the only way to change your name on Etsy is to open it under a different email account.  That would mean actually checking another email account everyday…too much work.  SO – “myapple” it is.

********************

So ever since I made my first notebook covers last weekend, my mind has been swimming with ideas about what I could do next.  My first attempts were not very exciting, but used up some scraps that were laying around:

notebook-cover-soso.JPG

Hmmm…how about some quilted covers?  That’s better, and a lot of fun to make, too.  It would make a nice gift to someone with a set of quilted cards, maybe.

notebook-cover-quilted.JPG

Then, spurred on by a conversation with Cindi, I really wanted to make some that could hold some crayon twistables:

notebook-cover-fassett.JPG

Well, that’s a bit boring!  How about this: 

notebook-cover-fassett-dots.JPG

I am really enjoying my new circle cutter!  And I’m addicted to making these!  I’ll try not to bore you with too many notebook covers, but I think I have 12 more notebooks calling me!

19 Responses to “Notebook Cover Addiction”


  1. 1 kirsten September 10, 2006 at 10:04 pm

    the notebook with crayon pockets is a very interesting idea – will have to mull that over…
    congrats on opening the etsy shop!

  2. 2 Susan September 11, 2006 at 12:01 am

    Those are too cute. I’m thinking a good idea for little ones at church. IT’s a good way to carry the crayons and not too noisy. Plastic bags have become a nuissance.
    Susan
    PS- love your fabrics

  3. 3 sueb September 11, 2006 at 4:57 am

    Loving those quilted notebook covers. Really like the fabric combinations that you used. Congrats on the etsy shop opening! okay gotta go buy myself a circle cutter now….

  4. 4 Cathy September 11, 2006 at 7:31 am

    You are on a creative run! Keep going and fill that shop up.

  5. 5 Ali September 11, 2006 at 8:09 am

    Cute! Please tell me what kind of circle cutter you are using – I have a Fiskars one for paper and I can’t get it to work properly. I wasnt something for fabric, but am afraid to make another expensive mistake!

  6. 6 Randi September 11, 2006 at 8:10 am

    I love these notebooks! I am getting burned out on making purses these days and i need another diversion–are notebooks calling my name? Are you thinking of doing a tutorial?

    I like the look of your Etsy shop and the apron is great too! The Etsy thing is so easy that I wish I had taken the chance on it earlier!

  7. 7 beki September 11, 2006 at 10:23 am

    Very cute! I love how ideas evolve. Tell me about this circle cutter – what’s that?

  8. 8 clarice September 11, 2006 at 10:34 am

    These are wonderful. We will have to try it. Thank you Clarice

  9. 9 Susan September 11, 2006 at 10:40 am

    Cute and functional! You can’t go wrong with that combination. Thanks for showing us your “evolving” process. It’s fun to watch and gets my mind going too.

  10. 10 Lyn September 11, 2006 at 10:44 am

    How cute are those! I want one!!!!!

  11. 11 Monica September 11, 2006 at 10:52 am

    I think they’re gorgeous! And the crayon/pen holder idea is really clever. Good for you!

  12. 12 Cindi September 11, 2006 at 12:52 pm

    I went to a craft show this weekend and saw one booth with notebooks like this. They were made with the paper like I did and stamps. I did notice one thing that I think I will incorporate. They had initials on them. I want to put words or something. I only bought 15 notebooks so initials would be out (26 letters in the alphabet). Did you ever get the thing I snail mailed you?

  13. 13 capello September 11, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    Oh cute!

    And you should show us how that circle cutter works!

    (On a side note, I watched Frons & Porter this weekend — I even recorded it — and they had an episode completely about machine applicate and they have a technique to not have raw edges. I’m *so* excited!)

  14. 14 lera September 11, 2006 at 1:41 pm

    all are very cute.

    i like the circles.

    and the quilted book covers? how long do they take to make? they look time-consuming. (i like fast and easy.)

  15. 15 quenna September 11, 2006 at 11:10 pm

    I LOVE those quilted covers — it would be a great gift🙂. You are really putting those rotary cutters to work (the random circle brightened up the crayon holder)!

  16. 16 Stacy September 12, 2006 at 8:09 am

    I love these! They are wonderful. I especially love the idea of the pocket and puttting pens in them.

    What circle cutter do you use? The kind you find in the paper isle or is there one especially made for fabric?

  17. 17 Lori September 12, 2006 at 5:21 pm

    Fantastic notebook covers, I love all of them but the quilted one is my favorite. Thanks for sharing the information on the circle cutter.

  18. 18 kathy September 13, 2006 at 11:40 am

    Wow! How many kids do you have? I can’t believe you get so much done. I like the pencil pockets on the front of the notebook. You are a clever apple as well.

  19. 19 lizzie September 14, 2006 at 9:28 am

    Those are great!! I have three little ones that would LOVE something like that!! I think the circles make all the difference on the pocket one and the pockets are a great idea. Well done!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives