Circle Cutter

picture-990.jpg

Several people have asked me about my circle cutter. So here’s the info: It is made by Olfa and works like a compass. There is a pin that stays still while a rotary blade spins around the outsite and cuts the circle.  I’ve found it works better on thicker fabrics since thinner cottons tend to slide around.  For the piece above, I put some iron-on adhesive on the back side before cutting so that it cut better.

I wouldn’t say this is an easy tool to use.  It isn’t hard, but I felt awkward using it – like a third hand would be really helpful to hold the fabric still while I cut.  I got mine at JoAnn’s during their Labor Day 50% off sale.  It was originally around $23, I believe.  It’s on sale right now on their website.  According to the reviews they have on their site, I’m the only one uncoordinated enough to feel awkward using it.  More on Olfa’s site here.

12 Responses to “Circle Cutter”


  1. 1 capello September 12, 2006 at 3:46 pm

    It looks like a medieval contraption on some very pretty fabric.

  2. 2 Ali September 12, 2006 at 4:08 pm

    Thanks for that – reviews from someone you know are so much better!

  3. 3 Elizabeth k September 12, 2006 at 5:50 pm

    I wonder if cutting several layers of fabric at a time would make it any easier?

  4. 4 Karyn September 12, 2006 at 6:36 pm

    I’ve never seen that before. When you mentioned your circle cutter, I imagined something more like you would use in scrapbooking. Thanks for sharing!

  5. 5 beki September 13, 2006 at 8:05 am

    I’m sure I’d have a time using it as well. I’m not the most coordinated person in the world. I think for now I’ll stick to tracing cups and bowls for my circles.

  6. 6 Cathy September 13, 2006 at 8:13 am

    I’ve used similar tools before. I agree with you that a third hand would be very useful.

  7. 7 lera September 13, 2006 at 1:46 pm

    that looks neat! and i don’t think you are the only uncoordinated one. i would totally be awkward, too! i would probably try to convince one of the kids (or joe) to help me!!!!!

  8. 8 Monica September 13, 2006 at 2:32 pm

    it does look complicated! I’ve always found compasses a nightmare… always drawing eggs! I’d probably end up cuttine egg shaped fabric pieces…

    It does open up the options though.

  9. 9 kerry September 13, 2006 at 4:40 pm

    I have one and I find it a little strange to use as well, there is also a new ruler on the market that cuts circles and it is much easier.
    Love all your book covers.

  10. 10 weirdbunny September 13, 2006 at 6:18 pm

    That fabric is brilliant, is it kaffe fasset?

  11. 11 CHAR September 14, 2006 at 2:26 pm

    Hi I saw your coment on someone elses blog and I am need of some help so I htought maybe if you are not to busy you could swing over that way.Char

  12. 12 toya September 15, 2006 at 1:39 pm

    this is so night, I also love your apron below


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives