Sewing for Others

I’ve spent the last few days sewing for others. 

 Project #1:  Basket liner made from a crib sheet for a friend of a friend: 

basket-liner.jpg

Could any basket be easier to line?  NO, but this project took me forever – mostly trying to figure out the angles for widening over the top then narrowing so that the fabric wasn’t loose around the bottom (still looks a bit more loose than I would have liked but she loved it).   Very humbling experience.

I threw in this little card for fun.

elephant-card.JPG

Project #2:  A Nappy Bag for my neighbor (minus the weird bottle pockets):

 

nappy-bag-deanne.JPG

She picked the fabrics.  They’re cute, but not really me.  I’ll bet a nappy bag can make almost any fabric look good, though.

Project #3: 2 notebook covers for birthday presents.

picture-1025.jpg

Project #4: Travel needle cases.

needle-cases-closed.JPG needle-cases-open.JPG

Closed and open.  The one on the left is a circular needle pouch, and on the right is a double-point needle case.  I think it would make a great pencil carrier for kids as well.

I test-sewed this pattern draft for Giving Flower.  What a great idea.  The pattern will be available in her shop soon.

21 Responses to “Sewing for Others”


  1. 1 Rosa September 25, 2006 at 9:17 am

    Everything looks great. I love everything. I have to buy baskets and make liners for my fabric and notions. Thanks for the ideas.

  2. 2 beki September 25, 2006 at 9:19 am

    Wow, you’ve been busy! Everything looks great, really. I think my favorite of all are the notebook covers. I love the fabric and that cute bow.

  3. 3 kirsten September 25, 2006 at 9:22 am

    wow, i’m jealous you got so much done! the nappy bag is great- i love it. crafting for friends/family is so fun!

  4. 4 deb September 25, 2006 at 9:24 am

    wow. you’ve been busy. 🙂 love it all!

  5. 5 sueb September 25, 2006 at 10:41 am

    Doesn’t it figure that the easy projects always end up being the most challenging? Everytime I set out to make a basket liner it always takes 10 times longer than I think it will.

    Love those notebook covers!

  6. 6 capello September 25, 2006 at 2:25 pm

    You’re really shaming me and making me miss my sewing machine (yes, that’s “my way” of saying I’m impressed Miss Crafty-Crafty).

  7. 7 Lori September 25, 2006 at 2:45 pm

    Wow, you have been very productive. Everything is cute, love the notebooks.

  8. 8 Kate September 25, 2006 at 5:40 pm

    Nappy bags are very forgiving creatures – the always look fantastic, even if you are not thrilled with the fabric initially.

    Travel needlecases are SUCH a good idea. Losing a single needle in the back of the car can make a girl want to cry.

  9. 9 Karyn September 25, 2006 at 6:02 pm

    Oh my goodness you’ve been busy. I absolutely love each and every project!

  10. 10 Patricia September 25, 2006 at 9:45 pm

    I love the bows on the notebooks! Everything looks great!

  11. 11 erin September 26, 2006 at 12:53 am

    You’ve got a lovely blog. I like your pretty patchwork book covers – very creative. Thanks for showing us how you do it.

  12. 12 Debbie September 26, 2006 at 6:10 am

    Boy, have you been productive. Everything looks good. Love the notebook covers.

  13. 13 Elizabeth k September 26, 2006 at 6:24 am

    The elephant card is adorable and I really like the notebook covers.

  14. 14 Cindi September 26, 2006 at 1:11 pm

    Love it! All of it! I really like the notebook covers. The ribbon looks great.

  15. 15 Monica September 26, 2006 at 3:10 pm

    wow you busy bee. And your projects always look so profesional!
    Love everything. As usual.

  16. 16 Cathy September 27, 2006 at 9:43 am

    It may have been humbling but you did a fantastic job of all the gifts!

  17. 17 deb September 27, 2006 at 12:00 pm

    Guess what I got in the mail yesterday? My charm packs! Can’t wait to start working with them. I just love how they all coordinate. Thanks for letting me know about this fabulous find. 🙂

  18. 18 weirdbunny September 27, 2006 at 2:36 pm

    The brown material with the pink spots is wonderful.

  19. 19 alisonmc September 28, 2006 at 5:01 am

    Cool cool COOL. Those notebook covers are very sweet.

  20. 20 anonymous September 28, 2006 at 3:33 pm

    The basket liner is very cute. I’ve been too intimidated to try that project. I’ve wanted to, I just don’t have enough confidence (or patience ???).

  21. 21 rebecca October 3, 2006 at 7:58 pm

    beautiful! i especially love the basket liner😀 cute


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives