Just some stuff ‘cuz I don’t have much else to post about.

Trail Mix inspired me to get my own stamp.  I made up my picture in Publisher, sent it on to the online stamp maker’s, blinked, and a few days later, got my own custom-made stamp.

fun-stuff-2.jpg

Very fun.  I got some StazOn ink so I could stamp on my plastic card boxes.  Yes, it’s a bit smudged.  I need to practice stamping on slippery plastic.  Someone asked me about where to get these plastic boxes.  They are from Clearbags.  They have paper, plastic boxes, and bags of all sizes.  I’ve even gotten vellum envelopes from them so that the recipient can see the card even before they open it.  Aren’t I vain? 

Several months ago I cleaned my iron, and having nothing else to post about (like today), I posted about my new clean, happy, shiny iron.  Several people asked about the iron cleaner.  Well, here it is:

fun-stuff.jpg

You squeeze the stuff on to an old towel and start ironing away on it.  The stuff turns black, and your iron gets all shiny.  Gotta love an iron that doesn’t stick when it slides.  I get a lot of goop on my iron because I use iron-on adhesive for everything.  Also in the picture is some twill tape printed like measuring tape.  I love it!  This will go perfectly on a seamstress apron in the future.  I also recently discovered FrayCheck – the little bottle on the bottom right.  It’s a glue that keeps fabric from fraying.  I’ve been using it to keep ribbon ties from fraying.  Lovely, lovely.

fun-stuff-3.JPG

 And for my last sewing friend, we  have Mr. Air Duster can.  I’m just a little bit of a neat freak and when I see dust building up in my sewing machine and I can’t get to it, it drives me nuts.  This little guy blows air – in a mighty strong burst (doesn’t that sound Texan?).  It’ll blow lint out of my bobbin casing in less than a second.  It also cleans out under the stitch plate beautifully.  I got it in the photo section at WalMart and it should last me a good long while.

18 Responses to “Just some stuff ‘cuz I don’t have much else to post about.”


  1. 1 rebecca September 28, 2006 at 4:04 pm

    With nothing much to post about…..well, I certainly learning something new! Never thought you needed or should clean an iron! Nice to know. And I love the stamp you had made up. I would suggest you carve your own stamp, but, well, I am not very good at that, so I think I shan’t advise it.

    I love the stainless steel look on your sewing machine! It looks retro no actually modern, and funky! And every house needs a can of air! I personally supply the HOT AIR. yup

  2. 2 Lori September 28, 2006 at 4:04 pm

    Great idea with the stamp and thanks for sharing all the notions.

  3. 3 Karyn September 28, 2006 at 4:18 pm

    Your stamp is amazing!!!!! I’m going to have to find out where you got it done. My seems all plain now🙂

  4. 4 Karyn September 28, 2006 at 4:18 pm

    I need to learn to read🙂 Thanks for the link, I’ll check it out.

  5. 5 kirsten September 28, 2006 at 4:24 pm

    your stamp is cool – aren’t you all fancy now!🙂

  6. 6 capello September 28, 2006 at 4:42 pm

    I need to get me some of that there air duster stuff.

  7. 7 sueb September 28, 2006 at 6:17 pm

    I iron the wrong side of the fusible all the time. Whenever I need to clean my iron, I just iron an unused dryer fabric softner sheet. Takes the gunk right off and makes the iron smooth and clean. Makes the room smell nice too!

  8. 8 rachel September 28, 2006 at 6:33 pm

    …your link to the card boxes was so helpful…I found many other things that I needed there as well. Thank you!

  9. 9 rachel September 28, 2006 at 6:52 pm

    I’m not sure about stamping shiny stuff. You may have already tried this, but my best guess is to stamp the boxes before folding them into their box shape??? (Of course, this is not a very helpful hint when one has everything boxed and ready to go, right?) :o)

  10. 10 deb September 29, 2006 at 7:05 am

    what a cool stamp! I’ll have to check out the site. Aren’t you full of such useful information today?! :o) I love clearbags! I buy their clear envelopes all the time.

  11. 11 Cathy September 29, 2006 at 7:06 am

    How cool is it to have your own stamp?!!! What a great idea. Thanks for the heads up on some useful products. I need them all especially the iron cleaner (despite my iron being nonstick that fusible stuff sticks).

  12. 12 Randi September 29, 2006 at 8:43 am

    Love the stamp!

    I wish I knew about the iron cleaner earlier because after ruining 2 purses I was making, I went out and bought an iron just for interfacing. So now i have two irons sitting on my shelf–this from the woman who hates to iron! Well, unless I am ironing freshly washed fabric, of course!

  13. 13 deb September 29, 2006 at 9:37 am

    OK so I’m a total Linda wannabe. I just bought my own stamp too! 🙂 Thanks so much for the link.

  14. 14 beki September 29, 2006 at 10:06 am

    I love your stamp. It so reminds me of when I was a little girl. My grandma used to work in an office supply store and had a stamp made for me with my name on it. I loved it. It was one of the few things I ever had with my name spelled correctly on it. I may have get one made for myself now!

  15. 15 Kimberly September 29, 2006 at 1:07 pm

    Oh I love your new little stamp!! I think one of those would be fun. I love your little logo too.
    Oh and my sewing machine guy said that blowing dust out of your machine is the best thing you can do for it. I definitely need to get some-mine has been out for a while now. Great tips!

  16. 16 quenna September 30, 2006 at 7:12 pm

    I love your stamp — it will be so nice on your cards!

    Thanks for the reminder to clean my sewing machine — I feel so much better when everything is clean and dust-free.

    I LOVE Fray check too🙂

  17. 17 Cindi October 1, 2006 at 12:23 am

    Busy week? I missed you and was just wondering where you were. Love the stamp. I am working on some bags and hopefully will post a picture soon. I was thinking of making some tags out of gross grain ribbon. Using the letters in the sewing machine and putting my name on them, have you tried this?

  18. 18 Debbie October 3, 2006 at 5:42 pm

    Hey, I want a rubber stamp, too! All I need is an identity . . . . .

    Going to look for the iron cleaning stuff. I’m wicked on irons! Hmmm, my iron history will make a good blog post one of these days!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives