Swapy Goodness and a Weighted Blanket

Yummy swapy goodness from Monica.  2 bundles of fabric, 3 delicious chocolate bars and a wooden needle case.  The needle case will fit wonderfully in my seamstress apron pocket!

swap3-2s.jpg

The fabric is all English.  English!  There is so much more fabric out there that I don’t even have the opportunity to get aquainted with – I can’t believe it!  This blue bundle is incredibly soft.  And look!  They match the chocolate!  And orange - how did you know I love orange???

I love that I could never get these fabrics here and I love that they are so beautiful!  Thank you so much Monica!  I emailed you saying that the chocolates would last a good long time, imagining that I would treat us to little bits at a time, but between me, the kids and hubby, the Milka is already gone!  Mmmm-six million calories of creamy goodness – how do those European chocolate makers do it?  It was soooo worth it – even worth the zits that I’ll probably get over the next few days!  Pimples, I welcome you!  I know, I know, the research says there’s no connection, but they should have included me in that study.

Now what to do with my new fabric?  My brain will be mulling this over in the days to come.

**********************

This weekend I finished a project for a friend.  Her nephew has sensory-integration (SI)dysfunction.  This project was particularly interesting to me because when I worked as a school-based occupational therapist, I had several kiddos with SI issues on my caseload.

I started with a gazillion beanbags filled with pinto beans,

weighted-beanbags-s.jpg

encased them in canvas,

weighted-blanket-s.jpg

and slipped it in a cushy-soft fleece cover that I made and voila!  a weighted lap pad.  It is about 3 pounds and since the beanbags are sewed into place, they won’t shift around.  In a nutshell, the weight of the lap pad should provide a calming effect on this little boy, enabling him to focus on what he’s doing when he is expected to sit in a chair.  There is so much to sensory integration than this, but I’m trying to be brief, and those of you who know about SI, I’m sorry for not being more thorough.

16 Responses to “Swapy Goodness and a Weighted Blanket”


  1. 1 capello October 16, 2006 at 8:35 pm

    OH MY. He’s gonna LOVE that blanket. Seriously. Unless, of course, his family might love it more.

    Good idea. I think Griffin and Darwin each need one (turns out Darwin probably has it too… lovely).

  2. 2 Karyn October 16, 2006 at 8:46 pm

    I can’t wait to see what you come up with for those gorgeous fabrics!

  3. 3 kirsten October 16, 2006 at 9:09 pm

    i would be curious to see if one of those would help thomas. maybe i’ll make one – thanks for the tip!

    nice swap goodies! score!

  4. 4 Elizabeth k October 16, 2006 at 10:31 pm

    I have heard of SI but don’t know much about it. Off to Google! One of the things I enjoy so much about blogs is learning something new.

  5. 5 Ali October 17, 2006 at 1:08 am

    I’m a zit per mouthful chocolate girl too. But sometimes it’s just worth it!

    The lap pad is great – my eldest loves his cherry-stone cushion, and I wonder if hearing you talk about your pad, if it isn’t for similar reasons. Interesting.

  6. 6 sueb October 17, 2006 at 3:13 am

    What an awesome swap package! That chocolate wouldn’t last long around here either.

  7. 7 rebecca October 17, 2006 at 6:02 am

    Lucky girl getting chocolate! Unfortunately there is plenty around here due to the upcoming HOLIDAY, but you got the good stuff! I don’t know anything about SI, but only hope the beautiful weighted blanket works like a charm. I can imagine heating that up in the microwave and using it for a sore back as well.
    You just may have something there…………?

  8. 8 Randi October 17, 2006 at 8:10 am

    LOVE the fabric! Lucky!

    The lap pad is a great idea!

  9. 9 Cathy October 17, 2006 at 8:29 am

    Awesome fabrics! I love the colors and patterns.

    My son has some SI issues but not the type that would be helped with a weighted lap blanket. Maybe a weighted hat;) The blanket is a wonderful gift and you are very generous to make it for your friend’s nephew.

  10. 10 Lyn October 17, 2006 at 9:53 am

    The weighted lap pad is a very cool project. My youngest does not have these issues but could use SOMETHING weighted to keep him still!!

    Forget the fabric, give me the chocolate! Those things look divine.

  11. 11 lera October 17, 2006 at 12:54 pm

    nice swap package!! love that fabric, too!

    the lap pad is interesting. now i’m curious about SI.

    (and we have one of those desk/chair things, too! reminds me of “olden” times.)

  12. 12 monica October 17, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    glad you like everything. I must admit, I was very nervous!!

    And the pad! I’ve only have a vague idea about SI – I’ll be googling it too! – but I’m sure that it’s a great present. It makes so much sense!!

    For my kids I need concrete shoes…

  13. 13 Monica (lol... the Other Monica) October 18, 2006 at 10:37 am

    Yum, yum, yummy… what beautiful fabrics (and sweet treats too)! You lucky, lucky, lucky girl!!!!

  14. 14 Mary October 20, 2006 at 8:20 am

    Brilliant Linda! Much nicer then the weighted blanket I had made in China for one of the kiddos I worked with. The canvas holding the bean bags all together is a great idea.. preventing the slippage (the exact problem with the blanket I had made).

  15. 15 Debbie October 20, 2006 at 5:44 pm

    How interesting. And how thoughtful of you to make a special blanket for him. Looks so well constructed.

  16. 16 Patch Me October 21, 2006 at 7:53 am

    What gorgeous parcels of fabrics with their matching chocolates. All delicious.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers