I have a sewing student!

Her name is Katie.  Isn’t she cute?  She’s 8 and wanted to learn how to sew so she comes over once a week after school and we sew.  Her mom and sisters play with the boys and it’s just a perfect arrangement.  I kept my old sewing machine because I secretly hoped that I could teach someone to sew on it one day – either my boys or someone else.  And now Katie uses it!

katie-s.jpg

I was a little worried about how to teach, since I’ve never taught a child to sew, but Susan had some wonderful suggestions, since her girls are taking sewing lessons.  See the little pink and green pincushion?  We made that on the first day.  You want to hear another one of Susan’s awesome ideas?  She suggested drawing a line on paper and having Katie sew on it  without thread, then pull the paper out and see if all the needle holes fell on the line.  Brilliant, Susan!  Thanks.

Kimberly’s  patterns for travelling knitting needle cases are also great for a beginner.  They are intended for holding round needles and double pointed needles, and that’s what mine do, but I can think of a lot of other things a young girl could use them for.  Click here for pictures of her cases.  If you’re looking for a good starter sewing pattern complete with pictures, I recommend it.

Here are some corkboard wall pockets I made for Katie’s sisters. (See?  I do have a running theme going here.)  They look fabulous in their blue and white room.

wallpockets-toille-s.jpg

 

 

27 Responses to “I have a sewing student!”


  1. 1 Karyn October 17, 2006 at 4:23 pm

    Katie sure is lucky to have such a talented teacher, and the wall pockets are gorgeous!

  2. 2 Sarah October 17, 2006 at 4:36 pm

    How COOL is that! I bet you’re a great teacher. My mom had me take a peice of scrap with all the different stitches and widths, etc and test them all out. I saved it!

    I’m sure you get this question a million times, but you sew through the corkboard? I need details on this!!!

    (ps. my apron got its own HOOK last night…and it makes me so HAPPY to put it on and get going…love it!)

    and I’m starting a blog…would you like to give me some pointers, ma’am?

  3. 3 sueb October 17, 2006 at 4:39 pm

    The wall pockets look awesome! It must be great fun to teach a young girl to sew. What a great thing you are doing, passing along a skill that she’ll use for the rest of her life. She’ll look back on these moments years from now and remember you teaching her to sew.

  4. 4 capello October 17, 2006 at 4:42 pm

    How fun, for both of you!

    I’m totally jealous over those wall pockets… please don’t tell me she’s making them already. I may end up as a crumpled heap crying on the floor.

  5. 5 lizzie October 17, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    She is so blessed to have you for a teacher and she LOVES her lessons!

    It will be fun to put special things in the pocket holders over the years. I just don’t want them to put too much stuff and cover them up, because they are so pretty!!!

    Thanks for the fun delivery and brief visit. I love seeing the boys playing happily with the girls’ toys. The cookies were so delicious and they hit the spot today.

  6. 6 Elizabeth k October 17, 2006 at 7:45 pm

    What a cute girl. Did you figure out the problem you were having with the wall pockets? The blue & white are very cute. I may have to make my own wall pocket very soon.

  7. 7 madmommy October 17, 2006 at 9:08 pm

    I wish I lived next door! She looks like a sweetheart…I love to see younger girls getting involved in sewing.
    My mom taught me to sew with the line on paper method too! Lots of curves and such, to help me get used to controlling the speed.

  8. 8 Lori October 18, 2006 at 6:11 am

    Oh, what fun for you and Katie. Viking has a website geared at young girls, some useful ideas, too. http://www.sewyoungsewfun.com. Very cute wallboards, too.

  9. 9 Cathy October 18, 2006 at 7:04 am

    She is already making a great start! I’m sure these lessons will stay with her for life.

  10. 10 deb October 18, 2006 at 9:30 am

    How cool. You’ll be great Linda.. all your tutorials and things are all very thorough and easy to understand. How fun! And love those wall pockets!

  11. 11 laeroport October 18, 2006 at 10:46 am

    That’s how I leared to sew – through paper with no thread. My mom taught me when I was about 10. The only problem was my mom tended to “take over” my projects, so if I ran into trouble sewing, mom always fixed – which was great at the time….

    And I’ve been meaning to thank you for the notebook cover tutorial. I made one last weekend (there are pictures on my blog) for a gift and it went together so smoothly with your insutructions. I didn’t do the patchwork, and I lined it with a plushy interfacing, but it saved me so much time having your instructions vs. having to invent it myself. Thanks for sharing.🙂

  12. 12 lera October 18, 2006 at 10:53 am

    what fun!!!

    katie is lucky to have you teach her!

  13. 13 beki October 18, 2006 at 7:16 pm

    Good for you! It sounds like it’s the perfect arrangement. I love the paper idea – I’ll be giving Lily a mini sewing machine in a few years and that sounds like the perfect way to introduce it.

  14. 14 Danielle October 18, 2006 at 9:16 pm

    Beautiful wall pockets! Remind us … what kind of cork are you using inside, and do you sew through the cork?

  15. 15 Susan October 19, 2006 at 2:22 am

    Hi, thanks for posting this.She is a doll and what fun. I am glad my ideas are working for you. I am going to be an article writer for the HSBCOmpanyPorch and my articles are named Craft Corner. I will be posting crafts and sewing projects. THe needle bag looks great. I will go check it out. I love the wall boards. Did you figure out the closing? I wonder if you would do a tutorial on it and if I can showcase on HSB? Let me know if you are interested.
    Susan

  16. 16 Monica October 19, 2006 at 3:21 am

    fantastic!

    I’m sure you’re a great teacher and she’ll be wipping up handbags for all her school friends in no time at all!

    Good for you.

  17. 17 Lyn October 19, 2006 at 8:00 am

    What a cool setup, babysitting and all! Wall pockets are beautiful! My 8 yr old son is taking a hand sewing class at our co-op. He LOVES it!

  18. 18 Cindi October 19, 2006 at 11:20 am

    I would love to know more about how you are teaching her. Even though I sew teaching my own daughter is not as easy as I thought!

  19. 19 Allie October 19, 2006 at 2:54 pm

    That seems like a neat opportunity, for both of you! And as an occupational therapist, I’m sure you’re a natural at teaching hands-on activities! I have taught private art lessons for young and older folks at my home several times – one year for four kids in a homeschool family, all at once!
    I can’t wait until my daughter is of an age to sew with me🙂

  20. 20 Mom October 20, 2006 at 7:40 am

    Good idea to have a small sewing project for completion with the first lesson. The sewing thru paper is exactly how I got Beth started and I think I learned that trick when I took sewing in junior high school. Sure am glad that that old machine is still coming in handy. Katie certainly looks happy.

  21. 21 Debbie October 20, 2006 at 5:43 pm

    What a darling student. She looks so proud at her sewing lessons.

    Blue toile wallboards are beautiful!

  22. 22 lucy October 20, 2006 at 7:54 pm

    How cool to have such eager student! She is precious. I have the same blue fabric….hmmm I might have to make a wallboard, I love yours.

    :)lucy

  23. 23 Patch Me October 21, 2006 at 7:56 am

    I feel that from the quality and appearance of your craft that you would be a very patient and giving person-particularly as a teacher.

    Thankyou so much for visiting my blog too. I get a real thrill when such talented and clever crafters visit.

  24. 24 sweetiepieministry October 21, 2006 at 12:19 pm

    Thank you Linda for your help with my blog
    and its awesome that your teaching Katie how to sew. I get so inspired when I come over to your house. Maybe you have some suggestions for my shower curtain knowing the colors I like are purple , green, ecru? Nothing loud but soft lines or shapes.

  25. 25 sweetiepieministry October 21, 2006 at 12:21 pm

    also those wall pockets are to cool …..
    I need to make one so I know how. Lets do one together sometime.

  26. 26 anna m garza January 31, 2011 at 10:16 am

    I really like your idea on teaching how to sew. I have so many females in my family that don’t know how to sew and have been wanting to teach them. I also am not a teacher and can use all the help I can get in teaching them. Oh and did I forget to mention that also includes adult women. I learned how to sew at a very you age but after watching one of my grandaughters trying to fix a shirt by putting it together with staples that was the last straw. I had to remove all the staples and fix the shirt and informed her that somehow I was going to teach her how to sew. So please forward any information you can to help.


  1. 1 The Sewing Teacher (1) « Craft Apple Trackback on February 16, 2009 at 12:39 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives