Embellishing a pre-made quilt part 1

I was so excited when I found 3 Woolrich Cream quilts for 75% off at Target.  They are still full price at Target.com.  I’ve been wanting to make some quilts for the boys that could grow with them and when I saw these, I knew I wouldn’t be able to make them for less than $20, but I didn’t anticipate how hard it would be to embellish a pre-made quilt. 

The boys picked out 3 different firetruck fabrics and I started one this week.  Kiddo #2 decided he wanted circles all over his quilt.  I tried manhandling the heavy quilt under my machine and decided that as much as I dislike hand stitching anything, I’d better give it a try.  I started off doing it this way:

joshs-quilt1.jpg

Then, I figured out that I could sit with it on my lap on top of a lap desk.  Finally, after multiple needle pokes through my leather thimble and lots of small bleeds *ouch!*, I finished the hand applique.  I’m getting better at my blind stitch (thanks for the lesson from DS Quilts) but it’s still not blind.  So hand quilters, should I get a hoop for this in the future?  Will a thick fat quilt fit into a hoop?  And yes, I got some metal thimbles.

joshs-quilt2.jpg

I’ve never made a pillowcase before, and would have made a few mistakes if I hadn’t consulted Kirsten‘s tutorial.  Thanks to her this pillowcase came together really easily with the raw border edges sewed all to the inside. 

joshs-quilt3.jpg

So 2 more quilts to go!  This time, instead of saying, “What do you want on your quilt?”  I’ll be asking the question something like this, “So which directions do you want the STRIPES to go?”  Yeah – stripes will go through the machine a lot easier, I’m sure.

Hopefully my next post will be a wallpocket tutorial.  I don’t think I’m doing it the best way, but I’ve been getting a lot of questions about the process so I’ll post it and see if anyone has any better ideas for me!

19 Responses to “Embellishing a pre-made quilt part 1”


  1. 1 Ali October 22, 2006 at 2:01 pm

    That firetruck fabric is amazing! Well done you – one down, two to go…

  2. 2 Adrienne October 22, 2006 at 2:35 pm

    Now that is so cute, I love the pillowcase witht the striped fabric, and the fire truck trim on the quilt!!! I bet Josh loves it!! I am very interested in your wallboard tutorial too. Cay is excited at the thought of doing a project with you!

  3. 3 sueb October 22, 2006 at 3:31 pm

    Hey what a great idea to embellish a pre-made quilt! I never thought of doing that and you did a nice job on it. The pillow case looks great!

  4. 4 kirsten October 22, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    gee, thanks!🙂 the fire truck fabric is awesome. turned out cute.
    i have hand-quilted, and i think it’s good to get a frame. i got one of those plastic ones – q-snap? can’t remember, but it worked really well – made for quilting.

  5. 5 Coryn October 22, 2006 at 5:58 pm

    That is so great. I have a collection of cowboy fabric for my littlest boy, but I didn’t want to overpower the whole bed in it. Thanks for showing.

  6. 6 Debbie October 22, 2006 at 6:39 pm

    LOL, great pictures of you embellishing the quilt. What a clever and creative idea — I would never have thought of personalizing the generic store-bought quilt. Pillow case is super — I think I’m going to make some for Holiday presents around here.

  7. 7 rebecca October 22, 2006 at 8:13 pm

    Gosh, sorry to hear about the pin pricks! But you are a super mom. Love the idea of embellishing a store bought quilt! Though the silly pic of you on the floor makes me giggle, but I would be right there with you! Really, sometimes it is just easier to do things yourself. Gosh, I should let my husband read this comment, cause I mumble that 100 times a day.

    Love the pillow cases. I echo Debbie, and maybe they will become holiday gifts from me this year too.

    You did a super job so far. Again, you are a super sweet and talented mom.

  8. 8 Karyn October 23, 2006 at 5:46 am

    The quilt looks amazing and the matching pillowcase is gorgeous! What a great idea, embellishing a store bought quilt. And that matching pillowcase is the perfect finishing touch. You’re brilliant🙂

  9. 9 Kimberly October 23, 2006 at 7:33 am

    Too cool. I love the in-progress pic! You did a great job. I’m just like you when it comes to hand sewing-yuk.
    I adore that fabric you used in your last post-I’m such a toile fan.
    You still amaze me with your work.

  10. 10 Cathy October 23, 2006 at 8:11 am

    Ouch! I can’t imagine doing a project like that, I would give up. But you did a fantastic job, and it all coordinates in a very cute bed set.

  11. 11 essieandeisbar October 23, 2006 at 9:04 am

    I love it! And did you use your circle cutter? because those are just LOVELY circles!

    Now, I thought this is why we don’t ask children what they want…isn’t that how they end up wearing batman and robin costumes to church????

  12. 12 Monica October 23, 2006 at 9:04 am

    what a great idea. And yes sometimes too when I add the cost of a handmade quilt I kind of shudder. BUT that is a lovely idea. And the firetruck fabric is very cute. Fire trucks and everything ‘fire-fighterish’ is very ‘cool’ at the moment.

    In answer to your question I only put batting inside the coasters. It’s plenty enough to soak through the condensation and the odd over spill – and to protect from the heat of a hot drink. And they wash really easily too.

  13. 13 beki October 23, 2006 at 9:05 am

    What a great idea! If I see them, I’m going to pick some up. In a few years the girls will have matching twin beds, so this will be perfect.

  14. 14 lera October 23, 2006 at 11:27 am

    both the quilt and the pillowcase turned out great! what a neat way to decorate a boy’s room. very cute!!!

    (and is that a little matching trim along the edge of the comforter?)

  15. 15 Patricia October 23, 2006 at 8:28 pm

    That is a fantastic idea…you are so clever and talented. I need to go to Target now🙂

  16. 16 Susan October 23, 2006 at 8:46 pm

    I love your quilt idea. It makes life so much easier than trying to quilt a twin quilt. Your pillow case turned our great too. I love that fireman material!

  17. 17 kathy October 24, 2006 at 10:07 am

    What a great idea. The bed looks so pulled together! I have a 12″ hand quilting hoop I picked up in a thrift store. Now that I’ve used it for awhile I plan to purchase a 16″. I have to keep moving the hoop a lot which is why I would buy a larger diameter. The hoops are quite substantial and I would think would work for what you’re doing.

  18. 18 TC October 24, 2006 at 9:50 pm

    Yes, use a hoop! I have a couple you can borrow if you want to try it.
    Your projects look great, as usual. If you weren’t so sweet, I’d have to not like you.🙂


  1. 1 Embellishing a Pre-madeQuilt Part 2 & 3 « Craft Apple Trackback on November 28, 2006 at 10:08 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives