Embellishing a Pre-madeQuilt Part 2 & 3

Embellishing a Pre-made Quilt Part 1 is here

I couldn’t convince Timo to want stripes so after many more hours of hand stitching squares to his quilt, I had this:

ts-quilt1.jpg

Red fire trucks.  With a matching border:

ts-quilt2.jpg

Would I buy this if I saw it in the store?  Probably not, but I love the smiles and joy I see on their faces that they have something that Mommy  made for them.

For boy #3, the conversation went something like this:

Me:  Honey, do you want stripes on your quilt?

3: Yeah!

Me: That’s a good boy.

Whew!  The stripes could be done on the machine – yeah!  Here he is enjoying his new quilt:

ns-quilt2.jpg

And here are he and his brother breaking it in, minutes after it was completed:

ns-quilt1.jpg

Since I did the first quilt, we’ve had a few potty accidents and it has revealed that although these quilts say they are washable, they really aren’t.  The quilt is quilted all over except for a large section in the middle that is tied, and after washing, the batting bunched up inside.  I took it all out and I’m going to slip part of a blanket in that space.  So for the one with the red-stripes, I free-motion quilted through the entire center.  Even with the stitch regulator, it was really hard maneuvering such a big quilt through the machine.  I was sweating and my arms were sore.  Is this how it is for all of you?  It makes me want to get one of those fancy schmancy machines that I see advertised in quilt magazines, but who has the $ or the space?  And besides, I want the buff arms. 

25 Responses to “Embellishing a Pre-madeQuilt Part 2 & 3”


  1. 1 kirsten November 28, 2006 at 10:44 am

    ah, well, live and learn, i guess!

    love the fire trucks – and the pillowcases look great!

  2. 2 vicki November 28, 2006 at 11:06 am

    They look great. I really love the idea. We are working on redoing the boys room into a camping these. I may need to try this. (Sorry about the potty accidents. Hopefully the additional quilting will make it more durable for future washings.)

  3. 3 sueb November 28, 2006 at 11:22 am

    I like the way those stripes look, nicely done. Bummer about the quilt bunching up like that in the wash.

  4. 4 beki November 28, 2006 at 2:14 pm

    Those turned out so well! I haven’t a clue as to how people do machine quilting without one of those big ole machines. I had a hard enough time doing a little crib sized one!

  5. 5 lera November 28, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    Both are very adorable. I can see the boys are enjoying them! Sewing and working out at the same time!! Good one!

  6. 6 Karyn November 28, 2006 at 4:19 pm

    Awesome job!! Both quilts look fantastic! I still think it’s a GREAT idea embellishing pre-made quilts. Genius.

  7. 7 jackielawrence November 28, 2006 at 5:02 pm

    Hey those look great. Listen I’m new to the blogging world and I was trying to set up a blog with wordpress. I think that is who you use. It posts my title but not my text. Any help would be appreciated. My e-mail is digitizing3@yahoo.com if you need to reach me. Also my blog is jackielawrence.wordpress.com
    Thanks

  8. 8 meg November 28, 2006 at 5:06 pm

    Free-motion quilting on a regular ol’ sewing machine is what I imagine it would be like to break a horse. Really, a couple more quilts and we should have the finest arms!

  9. 9 Debbie November 28, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    You sure can tell a lot of love went into those bed sets. And those sure look like happy boys!

    Very clever. Never would have thought of doing all that customization. Pillow cases really complete the job.

  10. 10 Patricia November 28, 2006 at 10:53 pm

    The quilts are great! I bet your kids will remember them forever.

  11. 11 Coryn November 29, 2006 at 1:20 am

    Fantastic job. I love the red fire trucks-that’s my favourite. What happy little guys you have.

  12. 12 Lyn November 29, 2006 at 10:20 am

    They all look wonderful! And I can see you boys love them too!!!

  13. 13 Randi November 29, 2006 at 11:20 am

    As far as machine quilting, I keep focusing on the arm muscles. It is quite frustating manuevering all that fabric but it sure is faster than hand quilting!

    Cute quilts–even cuter boys!

  14. 14 Monica November 29, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    The quilts look great! No wonder your boys jump with joy…

    Free machine quilting a big quilt is a pain… in the arms! I tend to stick to straight lines for big projects…

    Hand quilting? That sounds even slower. And I can’t use a thimble.

  15. 15 capello November 29, 2006 at 6:29 pm

    good son, good son.

    i take it the bunching was bad. i like the puckering look myself, but not when it’s completely out of control.

  16. 16 Dawn November 29, 2006 at 8:23 pm

    I free motion my quilts all the time!! I also do straight stitching. I don’t have problems with feeling like my arsm are going to fall off!! Next time you do free motion don’t drop your feed dogs on your machine. If you keep them up you have more controll over the quilt. No more struggling!! Also get yourself a pair of gloves that have nubbies on the inside of the palms and fingers so that you have more controll over your quilt. Do you have a quilting foot for your machine? If not go get one! The quilting foot keeps the fabric together so you don’t have puckers. You did a great job on the boys quilts!! And I think they like their quilts too!!
    If you need any help with quilting just give me a jingle!! I’m always online!!
    Dawn

  17. 17 Shelly November 30, 2006 at 9:15 am

    Hi Linda –

    I love the quilts – especially the one with the stripes. I think part of your dilemma with free motion quilting is overusing muscles. I have free motioned a few things (with feed dogs down and my embroidery foot) and I’ll tell you, my neck and arms were sore afterwards and I sweated through the whole – and it was only a little piece.

    I think it’s just getting the motions down and not overusing certain muscles trying to get things done.

    The nubby things don’t work for me. I just use a pair of latex gloves.

    Hope this helps!

    Blessings,

  18. 18 kimberlytgf November 30, 2006 at 1:03 pm

    Stick with the buff arms. I love the quilts and the conversation about the stripes. We have sooo many of those at my house.

  19. 19 kimberlytgf November 30, 2006 at 1:05 pm

    OH no, that was me in that last post-I didn’t want to log out from Sandy’s warm hands blog. I’ll just post one more time-it’s good for the comment count, right?
    Kimberly
    http://www.thegivingflower.de

  20. 20 kathy November 30, 2006 at 3:11 pm

    Lovely fabrics on both quilts. I love the shot of the boys jumping on the bed. Such a universal joy.

    The bigger the quilt the more of a workout for me. I really need to get my machine recessed. The drag caused by the table being higher makes it more work. I second Dawn’s comment on the gloves. I couldn’t do anything without them.

  21. 21 lizzie November 30, 2006 at 5:04 pm

    Those are so cute and meaningful! I love what you’ve done with their room!!!!

  22. 22 Amy December 1, 2006 at 7:05 pm

    That sounds like what always happens to me when I try to take a short cut — just end up doing more work later. Well, you will figure it out, no doubt and in the meantime, those boys are enjoying the quilt so ALL IS WELL.

  23. 23 Keri May 31, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    I made my son a quilt for his bed and the first time I washed it the batting all bunched up – so I took it apart and used white flannel. Worked PERFECTLY. I’ve washed it a bunch of times since then (he’s a bed wetter too) and it washes GREAT. And even better is that it’s a little thinner than a regular quilt so it fits in the washing machine better. I’ve started using white flannel for ALL my “quilting” now.

    And your quilts are super cute!

  24. 24 Keri May 31, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    Duh! Just ignore me – I just NOW got that you said “pre-made” quilt. oops! lol

  25. 25 Dorothy King August 6, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    I like your Blog. Love to get it in my email. Dorothy


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives