Little Artist Drawing Cases

I think that is what I’ll call these:  Little Artist Drawing Cases, or just drawing cases for short  (pattern available here).   Over the past couple of weeks I’ve been sewing an order of 5 of these for some Ladies in Training and their friends.

Here are some shots of the finished products.  Lots of dots:

crayon-case-red-s.JPG

Some frogs chit-chatting with eachother:

crayon-case-frogs-s.JPG

This is how the drawing pad slides into it’s pocket:

crayon-case-pink-s.JPG

I love this fabric combo:

crayon-case-blue-brown-s.JPG

And, PINK, PINK, PINK!

crayon-case-pinky-s.JPG

20 Responses to “Little Artist Drawing Cases”


  1. 1 Kim December 6, 2006 at 12:18 pm

    I love these – you have such wonderful products and share your instructions so generously with the blogging community!! Thank you!!

    I can’t wait till the tutorial – even if it is after Christmas!! This would work for birthday gifts too!!

  2. 2 kimberlytgf December 6, 2006 at 2:17 pm

    Oh these are soo cute. I just love your fabrics, oh but then you know that. Yep, life is creeping up on me too. Here are some hugs to keep you going.🙂

  3. 3 jackielawrence December 6, 2006 at 3:14 pm

    Thanks, for sharing! I think I will make my nephew one.

  4. 4 Kate December 6, 2006 at 5:53 pm

    These are wonderful – thanks for sharing the tutorial.

  5. 5 Karyn December 6, 2006 at 6:24 pm

    Those are incredible!! I love your fabric choices. I wish I had access to fabric like that in Canada. If only I had kiddies to make these for.

  6. 6 capello December 6, 2006 at 9:22 pm

    *love* you!

    i’m making one of those for griffin. for his birthday. in february.

    (oh no i di-in’t. i did not just say i’m not doing holiday handmade stuff. oh yes i di-id. i di-id, i di-id, i di-id.)

  7. 7 vicki December 6, 2006 at 10:10 pm

    Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. I so wanted to make these for my little artist this Christmas. Now I know what I will be upto Friday!

  8. 8 kirsten December 6, 2006 at 11:00 pm

    you rock.
    that would be an awesome thing to take to church for the boys – i may have to try one!

  9. 9 Elizabeth K December 7, 2006 at 12:36 am

    Those look terrific and the brown/turquoise is currently my favorite color combination.

  10. 10 Susan December 7, 2006 at 1:17 am

    OH OH OH! I can’t wait! They are so great. The dots one is “S”? and the pink and green is “C”? “A” is going to love the green and frog one. She is a tomboy and loves frogs and in fact when she finds them, she squeezes it so hard and won’t let go. Well, sad to say froggy doesn’t have a long life. These are super. You are super and I love them! Oh, and “I” is going to LOVE hers. I can’t thank you enough. Now I need to go look again!
    Susan

  11. 11 sueb December 7, 2006 at 3:57 am

    I love those frogs! You have such a gift for combining fabrics and patterns.

  12. 12 Cindi December 7, 2006 at 8:07 am

    Tell me about it. I feel like I am in a tornado going round and round. We read all these books about old fashioned Christmas’ when life seemed more slow paced and simple. I wonder how we could get back to that? Thanks for the directions on the artist cases I love those!

  13. 13 Cathy December 7, 2006 at 9:13 am

    Those are great! It was clever using the mechanical crayons since they stay the same size. I couldn’t use those because my son doesn’t like them, my little stinker. Anyone that receives these are going to love them!

  14. 14 lera December 7, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this!!! Thank you so much for sharing. I see some in my future.

  15. 15 Linda L December 8, 2006 at 6:44 am

    These are really cute!

  16. 16 jordan December 10, 2006 at 9:37 pm

    I stumbled upon your website about 2 weeks ago and have loved reading all your old stuff. I have two little boys so I feel i can relate🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  17. 17 rachel December 19, 2006 at 10:19 am

    I made two of these for my nephews. I used different sized notebooks and Staples’ brand of smaller sized twisty crayons. They turned out great! I don’t have any pictures to post, because I wrapped them up already. I just wanted to say thanks again for the tutorial that helped me think through the making process.
    Have a wonderful Christmas!

  18. 18 carrie August 30, 2007 at 11:34 am

    I just stumbled across your website and have really enjoyed it! I would love to make one for my son do use during church. Thanks!


  1. 1 One Red Robin » Soft Toys by Sharon Welch Trackback on December 15, 2006 at 6:41 pm
  2. 2 The Waiting is the Hardest Part « Chicken Betty _ life from scratch Trackback on October 9, 2007 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives