A Little Bit of Knitting, a Little Bit of Felting

A chunky ribbed scarf to be gifted at Christmas.  Yes, I am gifting this one to a family member (my brother) who I hope doesn’t care anything about knitting.  This was a good project for me to learn the basics of going back and forth between knitting and purling.  I am SUCH a beginner!

ribbed-scarf-s.JPG

 *********************************************** 

Felted goodies and baddies.

Felted balls.  Exhibit A (on the left) was felted by hand according to instructions on Martha Stewarts’s web site.  Something went wrong.  Very wrong.  Probably because I didn’t want to spend the $ on wool roving and tried just shredding some wool yarn with a comb.  It’s definitely a tosser.  Even thousands of stabs with the felting needle tool couldn’t save this sad product of felting gone bad.  I would welcome any tips or links on felting balls.

Exhibit B is just some wool yarn wrapped in a ball, put into the toe of cheap hose and felted in the washing machine.  I like how it turned out.  It’s now an apple pincushion.  Is anyone thinking Pink Lady?

felted-apple-small.JPG

And here are some felted pouches that will hold some small Christmas gifts.  I’m hoping my knitting projects in years to come will look better and better.  It’s almost embarrasing posting this stuff, knowing they look like a preschooler’s work when compared to the beautiful work of some of you long-time knitters.

felted-pouches-s.JPG

18 Responses to “A Little Bit of Knitting, a Little Bit of Felting”


  1. 1 lera December 8, 2006 at 2:34 pm

    I think everything is absolutely lovely. I am so envious that you can knit!!!!!

    And who knew there was a felting needle tool? Certainly not me!

  2. 2 autum December 8, 2006 at 3:25 pm

    I LOVE the pincushion!! You are being too hard on yourself, it all looks great.

  3. 3 beki December 8, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    It all looks fine to me! I just love that pincushion, so cute😉

  4. 4 Ashley December 8, 2006 at 3:37 pm

    Are you kidding? It all looks great; I especially love the apple pincushion.

  5. 5 Cathy December 8, 2006 at 3:38 pm

    Ditto on the being too hard on yourself. Look at that great scarf! My first scarf had to be ripped out 3 times and hubby still didn’t like it. I made him another that looks exactly like your brothers! It is a classic. Your felted pouches are great too. Seriously, if you can knit those, you can call yourself a knitter! Knitting is a lifelong learning process, there is always another technique or pattern out there to tweak our interests.

  6. 6 Julie December 8, 2006 at 4:00 pm

    I love the scarf. Do you mind sharing the yarn and needle size you used? My DH has requested one and that one looks like it would be perfect in color and everything!

  7. 7 Kim December 8, 2006 at 4:13 pm

    We are our own worst critics… to me everything is great because i can’t even knit. The apple pincussion is wonderful – wonder if it would be able to do something like that in a peach color for a “peach” pincussion.

  8. 8 capello December 8, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    sha, right. and you say i’m going crazy for the holidays with my lowly cards.

  9. 9 Elizabeth K December 8, 2006 at 5:46 pm

    That’s your first scarf?! It looks fantastic. My first ribbed scarf took me nearly a year! I like your apple pin cushion too.

  10. 10 vicki December 8, 2006 at 7:46 pm

    Your knitting is looking great! The scarf is so nice and I love the apple pincushion. The little bags are cute too. You are doing great. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Honestly looking at your pictures you look like a pro already. You’ll be amazed at how quickly you’ll learn and feel more confident in what you make.

  11. 11 Kimberly December 9, 2006 at 4:07 am

    Martin just saw that apple and said it looked really good. I love the scarf too, you are way too hard on yourself, you do great work. All of it.

  12. 12 sueb December 9, 2006 at 4:11 am

    Okay your stuff does not look like a preschooler’s work. It’s all fabulous! The scarf looks awesome and those bags are wonderful! I think that the shredded wool wouldn’t felt because of the shredding. When you shred it you cut the fibers into shorter lenghts which would cause them not to felt. That’s why you got a better result when you wrapped the yarn instead.

  13. 13 Coryn December 9, 2006 at 5:54 pm

    All of your work is neat and beautiful. I love the scarf!

    I have knitted since I was little, but I don’t have the patience to knit anything big, or anything that has more than 100 stitches.

  14. 14 Linda L December 9, 2006 at 10:53 pm

    I like your apples. Can’t see what went wrong. Perhaps maybe wetting them and letting them dry would tighten up the felt??? I really don’t see any flaws and thought they looked cute!

  15. 15 Debbie December 10, 2006 at 12:37 pm

    Scarf looks great, nice and warm. A darling scarf model as well.

    LOVE the felted gift bags esp. with the leather ties. Never thought of that. You are so clever.

    Apple pincushion is awesome!

    A while back I bought a bunch of wool roving on Ebay that I’m pleased with, but I have yet to figure out how to properly felt it without numerous painful stabs with the felting needle! That tool is vicious!

  16. 16 Susan December 11, 2006 at 2:28 am

    I am itching to try this felting. I want to make a big tote bag and felt it. I was thinking of making one for a friend but I am intimidated to try it.
    Susan

  17. 17 Kate December 11, 2006 at 4:39 pm

    Love the appple pincushion – looks great and gorgeous little felted pouches.

  18. 18 Michelle December 19, 2006 at 5:43 pm

    Love the bags, the colors are especially great.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives