Gifts to Give, Gifts Received

Deb made the most beautiful recipe boxes  and inspired me to try some of my own.  Deb is crazy about paper like I’m crazy about fabric, and when I see what she’s done with paper, it makes me want to a) copy her or b) try the same thing in fabric.

Of course, they never look as perfect as hers do, but here’s my first attempt – a Christmas gift for my sewing student:

katiesbox1.JPG

And now I’m thinking it would have made sense to fill it with sewing stuff . . . oh well.  Maybe next year.  Here’s what’s inside:

katies-box-inside.JPG

Don’t you just love those chipwood letters?  They’ve come in so handy.  More on that in a future post.

And for my nephew who’s crazy about basketball:

keiths-box.JPG

And the inside.  I love ModPodge! 

keiths-box-inside.JPG

And look what Karyn sent:

cards-from-trailmix.jpg

A beautiful set of paper-quilted cards.  For being a supportive blogging friend.  Supportive blogging friend?  There is much inspiration at your blog that I can’t NOT visit!  You are so kind.  Karyn and I share the same affliction: migraines.  But her creative drive is so strong she somehow manages to craft during a migraine.  I can not.  She opened up an Etsy shop recently and has sold bunches of her card sets.  Thank you, Karyn!

And Lera, how do you manage to get anything done while managing your home and new baby?  If I were you I fear this blog would not exist.  But manage she does, folks, and she makes soap.  Chocolate.  Chocolate soap.  Mmmmm.  Delicious.  I mean, delicious-smelling, since I’m not allowed to eat it. 

leras-soap.JPG

And little wreathe snowmen.  This little guy is too cute.  Do you care to share where you got your itty-bitty wreathes?

On the schedule for tonight?  A diaper bag.  Stay tuned.  :o)

18 Responses to “Gifts to Give, Gifts Received”


  1. 1 laeroport December 12, 2006 at 1:45 pm

    Love the boxes. You’ve inspried me… Like I need anything else to make between now and Christmas!

  2. 2 deb December 12, 2006 at 2:37 pm

    lucky you got some nice things. Blogging friends really are the best. And Linda I love your deco’d boxes! I’m sure your student and nephew will love them too. You silly (and sweet) gal! 🙂

  3. 3 beki December 12, 2006 at 2:55 pm

    Love those boxes! You did a great job. Sometimes it’s fun to work with things other than fabric for a change.

  4. 4 capello December 12, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    cool boxes!

    i’m still working on the flippin’ christmas cards. urgh.

  5. 5 kirsten December 12, 2006 at 3:32 pm

    oh how i love mod podge! i love the smell, even!

  6. 6 sueb December 12, 2006 at 3:58 pm

    Those boxes are too cool! Wonderfully done. What a great gift idea. I love the idea of doing sewing kits in them. Filling them with soaps and lotions would make them terrific hostess gifts too. Oooohh you’ve inspired me!

  7. 7 lera December 12, 2006 at 6:12 pm

    those boxes are too cool! it makes such a cute gift. your recipients will love them. not to mention the goodies inside.

    the mini-wreaths were bought at a mom-and-pop craft store in Littlestown, PA (called Rippeons). i doubt they have a website, as the store itself is only open 2-3 days a week. the wreaths are made by “darice.” i’ve been meaning to check Michaels for them, but haven’t gone in there for awhile. if you are interested in some, i can maybe pick some up for you next time i go (although i don’t think i can make it there before christmas).

  8. 8 Linda L December 12, 2006 at 8:50 pm

    These are great! Love the snowman wreath and chocolate soap.

  9. 10 lizzie December 13, 2006 at 10:24 am

    What a bunch of artists you and your blog friends are!!! I continue to admire the lovely creations from my craftless home.

    The boxes are very nice! I love what you did with the inside and the extra treats will be so fun for your recipients!!!

    By the way, what are some of your favorite stores??? Just wondering….. a little student was wondering.

  10. 11 Cindi December 13, 2006 at 12:33 pm

    Linda, I love those boxes! What a great idea. You are truly full of great ideas! Your are supportive and inspirational!

  11. 12 Cathy December 13, 2006 at 12:51 pm

    Wow! Those are great boxes, and a great way to wrap up some gifts.

  12. 13 Hilari December 13, 2006 at 1:17 pm

    Your boxes are super cool! Gotta seriously love that Modge Podge! And those cards are gorgeous! you’re so lucky!

  13. 14 Lori December 13, 2006 at 10:11 pm

    Great looking boxes, what a perfect gift. Love the cards, too.

  14. 15 Di December 13, 2006 at 11:46 pm

    The boxes are gorgeous! mmmm…chocolate soap…how good does that look? I can almost smell it from over here!

  15. 16 Monica December 14, 2006 at 3:01 pm

    you’ve been so busy Linda in these last few days!! And as usual you make beautiful things…

    what did you use to cover the box? glue? special one?

  16. 17 weirdbunny December 14, 2006 at 6:21 pm

    adore your boxes, what fab presents.

  17. 18 Wendi December 15, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    Those boxes are gorgeous. I would have loved to do something like that for my kids Classical Conversations tutors. Maybe next year…


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives