Goodies and Felting Fun

I don’t really collect anything.  I’ve seen other blogger’s cool collections – white jugs, hangers, books,  aprons, that’s all I can think of right now…but I’ve never really had the urge (as an adult) to collect anything.  Until now.  Lately I’ve become quite fond of pincushions.  I started off with my little red tomato.  Then I had to get the pink and green ones.  Then I started making my own out of pieces of fabric.

pincushions-s.JPG

And no, I don’t normally color coordinate my pins and pincushions.🙂

Then a few weeks ago I felted an apple.  It wasn’t super successful, but with a little encouragement from Sue, I decided to try felting again.  Thanks, Sue, I’m having fun!  I’ve branched out into pear pincushions,

pear-pincushion-s.JPG

and my apple is looking better with a real stick as a stem. 

  apple-pincushion-s.JPG  

I read somewhere that I could start by wrapping my wool around a styrofoam ball.  This really saves a lot of yarn, but I’m not happy with the outcome.  The finished pincushion isn’t heavy enough to stand up on it’s own.  Such a sad-looking pear.

leaning-pear-s.JPG

I don’t think I’m ready to start a full-fledged collection of pincushions just yet, but I’m having fun adding to my growing group of pincushions.

Rebecca sent me the most beatiful work of art – a little painted pear card from the Painted Pear herself.  You are so talented, Rebecca.  Thank you for sharing a bit of your art with me.  A nice artist like her deserves a pear pincushion, don’t you think?

painted-pear-s.JPG

And more goodies… Kimberly sent the boys a whole kilo of chocolate.  That’s 2.2046 pounds, folks.  And it’s almost gone!  Those little German kiddos sure grow up eating the yummiest chocolate.  Thank you so much, Lolly!

chocolate-s.JPG

And more generosity.  When Patricia read about my felting woes, she offered to send me some wool roving and a drop spindle!  The wool is so soft and the spindle is like a work of art.  I’m going to try to learn to use this thing.  I’ve looked at a few online sites for instructions, but if anyone has one to recommend, I’d really appreciate it.

drop-spindle-s.JPG

Sooooo pretty!

Christmas is almost upon us!  While I haven’t opened any of my “real” presents, I feel like I’ve been blessed with the generosity of so many of you.  Thank you!  My hope is that in the craziness of what our culture has built into this holiday, God will bless you with His peace this Christmas!

24 Responses to “Goodies and Felting Fun”


  1. 1 Susan December 22, 2006 at 2:18 am

    So cute. I really think felting might be my next craft. I gave “J” her crayon case. She is three,and she screamed, put her hands to her face and said, “it’s just what I wanted for Christmas”. IT was so darn cute. I wish we had it on film. The funniest thing though is that she at that point didn’t have the foggiest idea what it was. Once she did though she started right away drawing. My girls will get their saturday in the car. My oldest saw that wrapped packages and guessed what they were, three identical packages in the same size. She was wondering why she didn’t see in advance what J’s gift was. Oh well, what it looks like will be a surprise.
    Susan

  2. 2 sueb December 22, 2006 at 4:42 am

    These pin cushions are fabulous! I love them. And that wool – gorgeous. I tried spinning both with a drop spindle and a wheel. It was a train wreck! Definitely not my thing but I’ll just bet that you’ll spin fantastic yarn!

  3. 3 Karyn December 22, 2006 at 5:45 am

    Oh my, your felted pincushions are absolutely beautiful! They look like mini works of art. I love them!
    Happy Holidays!

  4. 4 Lori December 22, 2006 at 7:16 am

    Your felted pin cushions are so pretty. A kilo of chocolate sounds perfect to me! Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  5. 5 autum December 22, 2006 at 8:08 am

    Your felted pear and apple are very pretty.
    Merry Christmas to you and your family! May it be full of love and laughter🙂

  6. 6 Stacy December 22, 2006 at 8:57 am

    I love those felted pincushions – I saw some on the cover of a magazine recently (now I can’t remember which one) and fell in love with them. Yours are beautiful and that wool is gorgeous! Have a very Merry Christmas!

  7. 7 Sharon December 22, 2006 at 9:00 am

    What a cute thing to collect – pincushions. I like your felted pincushions – they are wonderful! I might have to try some of these.

  8. 8 lera December 22, 2006 at 9:26 am

    your pin cushions are great. you have many talents, linda! you impress me!

    merry christmas to you and your family and a very joyous new year.

  9. 9 stopthepresses December 22, 2006 at 10:02 am

    i really love the little square pincushion!

  10. 10 beki December 22, 2006 at 10:06 am

    I like pin cushions too! The few I’ve made have been very satisfying. You probably know by now that I like quick, easy projects.
    I’m drooling over that chocolate. My grandma is German and I always loved when she brought chocolate back from Germany after her visits. Yum!
    I hope you have a great holiday!

  11. 11 Jackie Lawrence December 22, 2006 at 10:18 am

    Love the felted pin cushions!

  12. 12 Cathy December 22, 2006 at 10:38 am

    Your felted fruits are beautiful and I’m not just being nice! I hope you and your family have a very happy and warm Christmas.

  13. 13 Patricia December 22, 2006 at 10:39 am

    Wow, those pin cushions are great! The pear is really pretty. Have fun.

  14. 14 colleen December 22, 2006 at 11:34 am

    I love the pin cushions you made – all of them, even the floppy pear. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your presents with us as well!

  15. 15 deb December 22, 2006 at 12:53 pm

    I’ve always wanted to try felting.. the felted fruits look great!

    I also wanted to wish you a happy, Happy Birthday Linda.. enjoy opening all your presents! 🙂 And Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    xxooo,
    Deb

  16. 16 vicki December 22, 2006 at 2:01 pm

    I love the pear pincushions. Clever idea. That spindle is so pretty. I am slowly developing my first collection and it is spindles. I think they are beautiful. As for a website on drop spindles…www.icanspin.com They have great videos. Very helpful.

  17. 17 rebecca December 22, 2006 at 8:08 pm

    You are sweet, and your pincushions are gorgeous! What can’t you do?

    I won’t hold you to your pear promise…for I didn’t mail you a wee piece of art for something in return. And do I see the matting got bent? So sorry for that! I really thought it would mail just fine…aaahhh, maybe a second surprise awaits you, after, well, you know……the book! Huge Hugs for Happy Holidays!

  18. 18 rebecca December 22, 2006 at 8:10 pm

    Oh, and do I see a Happy Birthday is in order…Well, well, a giraffe size hug to you!

  19. 19 Linda L December 23, 2006 at 8:30 am

    I like your pear and apple pin cushions!! You are being to hard on yourself, I think they look great! Merry Christmas.

  20. 20 weirdbunny December 24, 2006 at 5:47 am

    Well so many people have blessed you with gifts Lindie. You must be thrilled!!!

    Your pear and apple are adorable!

  21. 21 Monica December 24, 2006 at 11:31 am

    your pincushions are fantastic! I love your apple and pears… very very nice!

    Have a wonderful Christmas with your family!!

  22. 22 Kimberly December 25, 2006 at 12:57 am

    What a fun collection of pin cushions. The apple and pear look really good. I would say you know what you’re doing.
    I can’t wait to see what you spin with the roving-sooo pretty. Be careful, spinning is addictive, but then you know all about addicitve crafts. 🙂

  23. 23 randomcontemplations December 27, 2006 at 12:14 am

    I love the pincushions, they are so elegant! What scrumptious purple wool! Eggplant, grapes, Barney? Just kidding!🙂

    I like the wooden stems a lot, they give them just the right touch.

  24. 24 Monica December 29, 2006 at 12:37 pm

    Your fruit is cute! Love the pincushions, but I’m totally jonesing over your German Schokolade!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives