Building Blocks by American Jane – I love this fabric!!!

I have an moderately obsessive personality.  I tend to hone in on one thing and do it over and over again.  Like sewing purses for instance.  About a year ago, every time I walked into a fabric store, all I could think of was how great a print would look on a purse.  Then I made so many bags that I couldn’t use them all or find any more friends to accept them.  Now, when I look at fabric all I can think of is how well it will look on a seamstress apron or a drawing case.  I first saw a small piece of Building Blocks fabric on Autum’s bloggette, and I knew I had to have some.  What better fabric for a couple of seamstress aprons?

bb-seamstress-aprons.JPG

But the fabric was so inspiring that I made a seamstress journal, too.  (yep, that’s a oddly-covered composition notebook on the right.)

bb-seamstress-journal.JPG

And of course, every seamstress needs a seamstress pincushion!

bb-pincushion1.JPG

Or two. 🙂

bb-pincushion2.JPG

And finally a drawing case.

bb-drawing-case-s.JPG

Isn’t the ribbon closure brilliant?  I saw it here then non-bloggetter Jen told me that she did hers with ribbon as well.  It’s much easier to put on and would be perfect for older kiddos who can tie a knot.

You’d think I’d be burned out on this fabric, but I’m not.  I just got a charm pack of it and  I can’t wait to get more yardage! 

 Autumn, you are SO RIGHT.  Blog is a boring word.  We need to find something nicer.😉

38 Responses to “Building Blocks by American Jane – I love this fabric!!!”


  1. 1 Joey January 8, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Very cute fabric. . . .

  2. 2 Stacy January 8, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    I love that ruler fabric. You’re right it’s perfect for the seamstress apron.

  3. 3 Lori V January 8, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Very cute fabric and projects. You have been very busy.

  4. 4 Monica January 8, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    Your obsessions are my eye candy! I always love seeing the lovelies you make! I think you and I could go fabric shopping together and we’d both buy the same fabrics. Do I even need to say it???… You have VERY good taste! :o)

  5. 5 Patricia January 8, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    You’ve outdone yourself! Love seamstress journal! Great ideas as always!

  6. 6 Randi January 8, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    I have some of the same fabrics and I love them. They coordinate so perfectly together. My latest obsession is sewing kitchen aprons and I already have 2 out of that fabric! Two purses also. Your pincushions are a good idea too!

  7. 7 vicki January 8, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    I love that fabric. It looks great everyway you have put it to use. I love the journal. I still need to make a few of little artist cases for my little artists. But I thinking, I may just may have to use your technique to create a more grown up padfolio. Much nicer than those ugly black ones they sell in the office stores.

  8. 8 autum January 8, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Perfect use of that fabric! Everything is so beautiful!!!!
    Bloggette is nice🙂

  9. 9 Ali January 9, 2007 at 5:49 am

    What amazing fabrics – they look great! I still haven’t made my drawing case, but I do really want to.

  10. 10 Karyn January 9, 2007 at 6:17 am

    I love that fabric and your projects all look great!!!!! I ordered some FQ’s from Ebay and I’m just decided what to do with them.

  11. 11 Vicki January 9, 2007 at 6:36 am

    Love those fabrics and what great projects! You sure have been busy.

  12. 12 Jude January 9, 2007 at 8:31 am

    I love your sewn bits and pieces – especially the covered notebooks! Inspired – will have to move on from handbags.

  13. 13 Jessica January 9, 2007 at 8:43 am

    oh i adore the tape measure fabric!

  14. 14 kirsten January 9, 2007 at 9:25 am

    that is THE perfect fabric for a seamstress apron! (now i have to go find ME some! 🙂

  15. 15 Cathy January 9, 2007 at 10:12 am

    I’ve been drooling over those fabrics right along with you! You’ve done a terrific job of using them.

  16. 16 katie January 9, 2007 at 10:23 am

    What a busy beaver you are! I love every little thing you made. I have been meaning to concur with Autum’s complaint about the word blog. It sounds sort of like like “snot”, or some equally gross word to me. I would almost rather say the whole word, weblog, than abbreviate it.

  17. 17 beki January 9, 2007 at 10:40 am

    I am in LOVE with this fabric, but I’m holding back. As much as I’d love to own some, I’m on a fabric diet.

  18. 18 Jackie Lawrence January 9, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Wow haven’t you been busy! Everything looks great. Love the tape measure fabric. Where did you get it? Makes me want to go and get busy.

  19. 19 Monica January 9, 2007 at 11:54 am

    keep obsessing away if that is what comes out!

    Lovely fabrics!!!

  20. 20 Molly Adams January 9, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    I absolutely love all of the items you made and the fabric makes it even better! Autum is right about this blogging word! I agree!

  21. 21 Cindi January 9, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    This seamstress really likes that fabric!

  22. 22 lera January 9, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    oh my! you’ve got your creative juices flowing! look at you go! everything is just wonderful. but, that’s what i’ve learned to expect from you!!!🙂

  23. 23 sueb January 9, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Okay I love it all! That ruler fabric is too much fun.

  24. 24 Kristin January 9, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    Just found your lovely blog. What a talent you are! So many wonderful ideas–thanks for sharing. (Especially love the apron.)

  25. 25 capello January 9, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    obviously, i need to go buy more fabric.

    please tell me how you fit it all into the time of day. i need some help in that department.

  26. 26 Elizabeth K January 10, 2007 at 12:17 am

    Once again you’ve made something so completely adorable!

  27. 27 Susan January 10, 2007 at 2:47 am

    Love the fabric. I heard you got a message from the recipient of the crayon cases you made for me, for her kiddos!
    Susan

  28. 28 kerry January 10, 2007 at 5:05 am

    You are always so inspiring, the fabrics look great, I was sent them by mistake and I sent them all back. You have do wonders with them.
    Looking forward to your next creation.
    Kerry

  29. 29 cindy January 10, 2007 at 9:30 am

    Yeah Baby, those are some cute fabrics. I love the bright stuff. We’re so limited on the quilt shops around here, and most have more primitive stuff (I love to look at it, but it doesn’t go in my house). Thanks for sharing on here, so I can enjoy it through your projects.🙂

  30. 30 weirdbunny January 10, 2007 at 11:17 am

    Hello Lindie,
    Gues what I received a parcel in the post today from you !!!

    What a surprise, the children were delighted with all that wonderful tootsie roll stuff. It’s so funny our screen saver is a picture of the last packet of toostsie rools you sent us !!!

    W e didn’t realise toosie came in different flavours, we were like WOW.

    And more patchwork gifts for me. You know how I love to frame your stuff. The big patchwork is going in my bedroom, I was so please with it. I’m going to take it to the picture framers tommorow…yey !!!

    Thank you so much.

  31. 31 essieandeisbar January 10, 2007 at 11:34 am

    I picked up some of the tapemeasure fabric. I’m not sure what I want to do with it, but it is just absolutely adorable!

  32. 32 deb January 10, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    I am totally in love with everything you’ve done Linda!! Now I can’t decide if I should just buy one of your already made aprons or make it myself. Such dilemmas! 🙂

  33. 33 deb January 10, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    Hi again.. do you mind me asking where you ordered the charm pack from? I couldn’t find it on that site you told me about (that I now LOVE!)

  34. 34 Kim January 11, 2007 at 1:43 am

    No, no…the brilliance is all yours! Thank you so much for sharing the wonderful tutorial with us. My little Olivia still loves her little artist case. I’d dare say it’s her favorite gift of the year! Thank you!!!

  35. 35 carolyn January 11, 2007 at 7:06 am

    Hello, just came over from Julia’s and she is absolutely right yours is a lovely inspiring blog. I will be back to check out more.

  36. 36 Kimberly January 11, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    Whoa, you’ve been busy!! I love that tape measure fabric. What kind was that??? I also love those pincushions you made-you are so creative!

  37. 37 Else January 15, 2007 at 9:57 am

    Just found your site. Delightful! Could you do a tutorial on your pincushions? They are yummy! And your quilted cards are super! Thanks for sharing.

  38. 38 jburbohin June 29, 2007 at 9:42 am

    One of an excuse. His political career, she got the hard core sex video corner.


Comments are currently closed.



Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives