Fingerprints

A few weeks ago while I was sitting in church, I saw a friend of mine sitting ahead of me.  Underneathe her chair was a purse that I had made for her.  It made me smile to think she liked it enough to fill it with her stuff and carry it to church.  Then I noticed another purse that I had made over by someone else’s chair and a drawing case being colored in.  Then after church, a friend asked about the fabric I had used to make her son’s pillowcase.  She thought it would make great curtains in his room.  As I looked around, I felt like I was seeing my fingerprints on my friend’s lives, and it warmed my heart.  I approach decorating my house the same way.  I want it to be me – a reflection of my style and creativity.  I would rather make something than buy it if I am able.  Instead of art, I’d rather hang fabric, especially since I can’t draw.

That being said, my stash is growing to the point that I’m uncomfortable with it.  I haven’t been to the fabric store in over a month.  There are fabrics that I want, but haven’t been motivated to go buy them because I need my current stash to shrink.  So here’s my plan:  I want to look at my fabric, think of someone it reminds me of, and start sewing gifts for friends, even if it’s not their birthday.  I’m not going to worry about the gift making anyone feel guilty. I just want to be generous and show appreciation for their friendship.  Now that the sewing frenzy of the holidays is over,  I have a little bit more time to breathe and sew.  I’ll start with those kiddos with December birthdays that I would have liked to give gifts to, but couldn’t find the time to do.  Then, my own kids deserve some drawing cases after seeing me sew them up for others.  Maybe I’ll do some sewing for me in between, but that’s the plan.

32 Responses to “Fingerprints”


  1. 1 cindy January 11, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    It IS cool when you can give gifts and see them being loved. It makes all the time, effort, scratches from pins and backaches from bending over the machine worth it.🙂 I love quilting and giving the quilts. The reactions to them when they are opened makes me so happy I have that gift.🙂

  2. 2 joy January 11, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    found your site thru thimble. Thanks for posting!!

    I love giving handmade gifts too. It is so special to see someone actually using the stuff you make them. Not that you make it so they will only carry that purse forever but it’s nice to know they like it. I made a bag for my best friend and she carried it for a long time but, i had to keep telling her it was ok if she wanted to switch purses..🙂 Thanks for your great ideas. Love your tutorial on the drawing case too! super cute thanks for writing..

  3. 3 capello January 11, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    sounds like a lovely plan.

    and that must have been an awesome feeling of seeing others use stuff you made yourself. awesome.

  4. 4 kirsten January 11, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    what a nice post! of course your kids MUST have drawing cases!
    i love the idea of giving just to give.

  5. 5 Melissa January 11, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    I think that’s awesome that you get to see those gifts being used and appreciated by your friends and family.

  6. 6 essieandeisbar January 11, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    great plan! and how wonderful it is to see people cherishing your work.

  7. 7 meg January 11, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Good plan! I’m having the same issue: too much stock on hand, and too many “I wants” calling me from the store.🙂 Time to get crazy with the rotary cutter. Think how happy your friends/family will be to receive a just-because handmade treasure. Excellent.

  8. 8 hannah January 11, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    how lovely, and what a kind idea. it is so nice to see something you have made be loved and appreciated by others too isn’t it?

  9. 9 Amy January 11, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    Ooh, that’s so great to see your work everywhere you go, and know that it’s loved. Such a wonderful, happy thing…

  10. 10 Karyn January 11, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    That sounds like a wonderful plan. What better way to use up a fantastic stash than to share it with friends and love ones. You’ll have fun!!

  11. 11 Susan January 11, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    You are very sweet. I love seeing the cases you made for the girls and I do think of you!!! I just love fabric too, although I don’t sew nearly as much as you do, only when I really need to make something, like a skirt!
    Susan

  12. 12 TC January 11, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    I give away a lot of my quilts, because for me, much of the joy of quilting is in the creative process. I don’t need to keep the finished product – although my husband wonders why, in the 20 years we’ve been married, I *still* haven’t produced a quilt for our king-sized bed.🙂
    p.s. I finished Amy Butler’s “Cafe Apron” this week, & have a pic of it on my blog.

  13. 13 rachel January 11, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    I just finished putting my children to bed and was thinking along similar lines. My older son noticed that so much around him on his bed tonight was made by my mom…pillows, pajamas, sock monkeys, etc. We talked about how his Mimi loves him quite a bit to make all the comfy things that he enjoys…that even though there are many miles between us…a part of Mimi is right here. Praise the Lord for creativity-HE is the most creative!

  14. 14 Lyn January 11, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    How cool is that!?! I can only hope it brought a smile to your face that made you both proud and loved.

  15. 15 Lori V January 11, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Great plan for your fabric stash and what a wonderful way to touch other’s lives. I cannot draw either but feel sewing is my art.

  16. 16 Pieces January 11, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    That is a wonderful plan. And a wonderful feeling to see your handwork touching the lives of the people around you.

  17. 17 colleen January 11, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    What a great idea! How thoughtful of you – I am sure the gifts will be appreciated by all!

  18. 18 Erin January 11, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    That is such a beautiful idea🙂 You are blessed to have friends that want to carry a piece of your handiwork with them through their daily life.

  19. 19 knilli January 12, 2007 at 1:24 am

    What a lovely idea! And your handmade items are so beautiful, I can see why your friends carry and use them.

  20. 20 sueb January 12, 2007 at 4:08 am

    Great post. It’s always a great feeling when I give someone something that I’ve made and then I see them using it. It makes me feel like what I do has been validated somehow.

  21. 21 Cathy January 12, 2007 at 8:13 am

    I love the warm feeling I get from those kinds of ‘fingerprints’. I’m sure all the recipients really appreciate your gifts.

  22. 22 Ali January 12, 2007 at 9:00 am

    “Fingerprints on my friends’ lives” – what a wonderful phrase and a worthwhile goal.

  23. 23 beki January 12, 2007 at 10:03 am

    How wonderful! I think it’s great that you’ve put fingerpritns on your friends’ lives. You’ve put a fingerprint on mine – I think about you almost every time I look at my diaper bag. When I get asked about it I always answer, “a friend made it for me”.
    I like your idea of gift giving. I’ve kind of been doing the same. It sure feels good, doesn’t it?

  24. 24 deb January 12, 2007 at 10:38 am

    Linda, you are so wonderful and such an inspiration to me. Truly. I love your church story and I’m sure everyone who’s received your handmade gifts can see how much love you put into them.

  25. 25 Jackie Lawrence January 12, 2007 at 11:17 am

    Hey Linda,
    That is so cool. I bet it gives you that warm fuzzy feeling inside. It is nice to hear of someone else (other than myself) who loves loving there frinds. Cool story. I made my friend a nutcracker purse for christmas and she loved it. Nutcrackers are her favorite!

  26. 26 lera January 12, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Oooh. I like your plan of just giving to give (and to shrink your stash). I think I should do that, too.

    And, what a nice compliment to you to see so many pieces of your work being used!!

    (We have switched the blanket you made Sawyer to his bassinet and we use it everyday. So, just think of your fingerprints up here in MD, too.)

  27. 27 Paula January 13, 2007 at 12:09 am

    What a WONDERFUL thought!! My stash is a bit big. What a wonderful incentive to get it down a bit. Love that thought of fingerprints. Thank you for sharing!!

  28. 29 kathy January 13, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    Well said Linda. I can’t think of a better reason to create.

  29. 30 weirdbunny January 14, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    Your such a generous person, always thinking of others !!!

  30. 31 Vicki January 15, 2007 at 9:58 am

    Isn’t it fun to see your creations being loved. I have friends who think I knock myself out too much with the homemade gifts but it just makes me crazy happy to see them being used. Its like a hug.

  31. 32 TC January 15, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    HOLY COW! You’ve been mentioned on the Homeschool Blogger company website! http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/HSBCompanyBlog.
    It’s just a matter of time until you have your own fabric line or sewing show or something.🙂


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives