Any takers?

diaper-bag1.JPG    

So this is what I’ve been working on the past week and a half.  It is identical to this bag, complete with cell pocket, wipes pocket and bottle pockets.   Normally one of these bags takes 3 hours, but this one has taken over a week.  I decided to try to write this bag up as a pattern so stopping after every step and trying to put into words what is involved really took a loooooong time.  I finished the bag last night and the pattern rough draft is now finished.  I have one test sewer lined up:  Teresa – a nice blogless lady who I met through my blog.  I don’t feel comfortable asking the test sewers I used with the Seamstress Apron Pattern because neither of them has young children, and this bag takes quite a bit of fabric that could get pricey for a project that they might never use.  (Although I’d be thrilled if you wanted to, girls!)

diaper-bag2.JPG

SO.  I’m taking applications, sort of.  I need one more test sewer.  She needs to have sewn at least one bag before and be able to edit.  She needs a  rotary cutter and a large cutting mat, since this bag doesn’t have pattern pieces.  I would love it if she could sew the bag up and send me edits within the next month.  In exchange for her hard work, she would get the rough draft now and I will send her a final hard copy of the pattern, and maybe a little something handmade  :o).  The pattern will be for her personal use only, and I will maintain the copyright.  So, because I’m nervous about just sending this pattern electronically to just anybody, I’d really prefer it if I knew her at least a little bit through blogging or otherwise.

Here are the fabric and materials requirements:

3/4 yard 44″ decorator-weight fabric
1/2 yard 44″ decorator-weight fabric
7/8 yard 44″ cotton canvas, duck, or similar heavy-weight fabric
3/4 yard fusible fleece
2 1/2 yards lightweight fusible interfacing
small piece of stabilizer
small piece of 1/2″ wide elastic
1 magnetic closure (1/2″ size)

I know I sound really picky, but don’t let that stop you because I am semi-desperate as well.  So if you’re interested, please leave me a comment!  Any takers?

Update:  Pattern now here.

33 Responses to “Any takers?”


  1. 1 tanaya January 31, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    If you’ll take me, I can help! I’ve sewn 4 or 5 bags, although I am a pretty new sewer. But I’ve done quilts and curtains and pillows, and purses.

    I don’t have kiddos, so have the time & money. And, I’ve decided to do one creative thing EVERY day in February. OH, I also just placed a big order for Timtex and some fabrics, so….. if you want me, you’ve got me. I think the only thing that I’d need to do it would be the magnetic closure.

    No hard feelings if not, just thought I’d offer!

  2. 2 Sarah January 31, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    I would love to test this – I’m not a mom, but my sister is going to need a diaper bag soon and this would make a great gift…

  3. 3 essieandeisbar January 31, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    Well..you know I love my bags! I’d love to do it..especially because this is just what I want to make for an expecting mama in the next month. I just finished the Amy Butler Shopper…and if I can do THAT…:D

  4. 4 laeroport January 31, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    That is one fine looking bag. I’d love to test sew it – but I’m past the diaper bag stage and time for me is fleeting. Good luck though. I can’t wait to see the pattern when it comes out!

  5. 5 autum January 31, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    It looks like you’ve got plenty of takers, if you need anymore let me know. That’s a great looking bag.

  6. 6 Ashley January 31, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    I’m happy to help out too if you need a less-experienced sewer to test it (along the lines of, if _I_ can do it, anyone can!). I know my sister would love this bag for my new little nephew!

  7. 7 katie January 31, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    I’d love to do it, Linda. I would have a use for that kind of bag…even though my littlest one is halfway through the diaper phase. Who can’t use more pockets?! =)

  8. 8 Mindy January 31, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    That is beautiful! I am not far enough along in my sewing adventure to even attempt it!

  9. 9 stacy January 31, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    OOOOh, that bag looks lovely! I wish I had young kiddos so that I could make myself up one.

  10. 10 Heather January 31, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    I would love to sew the bag, I’ve been sewing for 20 odd years now, starting with sewing my own Barbie clothes and now on to mostly baby clothes and quilts (but how I love making bags, if I had more arms, that would be a great excuse for making more bags and purses.) I have a sewing machine (a 1976 Viking, all metal parts, yippee) and a serger. I’ve even tried my hand at writing up my own patterns. Oh and I like long walks on the beach (well not really, but it was starting to sound like a personal ad🙂 so I had to add that in.) If you want to see pictures of stuff I’ve made, let me know and I can pass it on to you.

    Pick me, pick me! (arm waving wildly)

  11. 11 Kim January 31, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    I would be interested in this also – Even though mine are past the bottle/diaper bag stage, I think I could use it for a gym bag with water bottle and such on the side.

  12. 12 Sue B January 31, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    It’s a beautiful bag Linda! I’d be happy to sew one or even just review the pattern instructions if you’d like. Let me know if I can help.

  13. 13 kirsten January 31, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    I love the bag, but can’t sign up for anything else right now – but looks like you’ve got a lot of takers!

  14. 14 Rachel January 31, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    Wow! You have a lot of volunteers. Regardless, I’m more than willing to help you out. The bag is really cute.

  15. 15 Amy January 31, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    I’d love to sew for you! Here are my audition photos. http://momma-maloy.livejournal.com/2005/11/15/

  16. 16 Shelly January 31, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    Linda, I’d love to try it out. I’m kind of green in the sewing side, but I’m a former copy and technical writer/editor – you know in my previous life, before I got my real job as a mom.

  17. 17 adrienne January 31, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    i love sewing bags and would love to try your pattern! I have been experimenting with quite a few designs myself, so I know what you’re going through. I have also purchased patterns that turned out wonky BLAH! Consider me the perfect guinea pig! You can see a couple things at my Etsy site – http://www.delunadesigns.etsy.com.

    In any case, the bag is awesome! Great shape and design!!!

  18. 18 Karyn January 31, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    What a great bag!! I can’t even imagine how difficult it must be to write a pattern. You’re my hero.

  19. 19 Amy January 31, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    So is this going to be a pattern that you’ll sell? The bag is really, really gorgeous…

  20. 20 kerry February 1, 2007 at 4:46 am

    looks like you have lots of ladies putting up their hands, I would love to have a go if you want, but there are lots in front of me, no trouble with fabrics have heaps around here. I wondered why you had gone quite on the blog seen for awhile, you busy little thing.
    The bag looks great, you have done such a good job on it.
    Kerry

  21. 21 Tami February 1, 2007 at 8:14 am

    Hey there! I stepped away for a few days and come back to find this. I really would love to try this bag out. I’ve just finished up a new tote bag for my 2 little ones (1 and 2) but like this one so much better. (Mine was from my head and didn’t quite turn out how I envisioned it…still working on that creative flow) I think you’ve seen some of the bags I’ve sewn up. I was Mammas Quiet Time but I’ve moved over to wordpress. Well, even if I don’t get to test this out know that you’ll have a buyer of the pattern!

  22. 22 deb February 1, 2007 at 9:24 am

    Linda you crack me up! I love the bag and hope you find just the right person to help you out (I have no doubt you will.) Nice to see you post again. I missed you! 🙂

  23. 23 Cathy February 1, 2007 at 9:49 am

    Another beautiful bag! I think writing up your pattern is a great idea.

  24. 24 Monica February 1, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    beautiful bag! I’m sure you’ll sell lots of patterns for it.

    (I would offer… but time is not on my side in the next few weeks…)

    good luck.

  25. 25 Kimberly February 2, 2007 at 3:03 am

    I would love to test your pattern! That is if you need one more. It may take a while but I’d do anything for you-I think you know that!
    Damn, I must keep up with my blog reading.

  26. 26 ohelene February 2, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    Such a lovely bag! Just to bad I’m much to late to offer my help… Well – I guess time is not on my side when it comes to actually having time to do it either. Good luck on your pattern!

  27. 27 patchme February 2, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    I have the decorator fabric ready! lol. No cost for me..only time. However it seems you already have many takers so I understand I may have missed out.

    Also, returning to blog shortly, now 3 of 4 kids are back at school.

  28. 28 patchme February 2, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    OOps, I need to read all the postings before I open my big mouth. Wow, I am very impressed with Sue’s work-and she has already produced patterns and classes for Joggles, no less. That’s great for both of you. Have fun.

  29. 29 Lyn February 5, 2007 at 8:53 am

    Any takers??? I want that bag! I love it!! The fabrics are amazing…………….

  30. 30 kathy February 5, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    What an awesome bag! Congrats on getting another pattern created. It’s putting some fire under my booty🙂

  31. 31 losabia February 14, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Wow, I’ll definitely buy this pattern once it comes out. Beautiful design.

  32. 32 Kristina Solheim February 15, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    i want to buy the bag itself! it’s beautiful and I’ve been scouring Etsy for a bag like this. I have a 6 month old and need something that can hold my purse contents and a few baby things. please let me know if you will be selling this one. ciao!k

  33. 33 Tami March 29, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Do you have a pattern yet? I am anxiously awaiting.😉


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives