CraftApple Stashbusting tip#1

If I have enough of a fabric to make 2 of whatever project I’m working on, then I need to make 2 and use up that fabric…  Here are 2 patchfolios.

belle-patchfolios.JPG

And if I have enough of a fabric to make 4 drawing cases

construction-drawing-cases.JPG

Several coordinating fat quarters from Amy Butler’s Belle and 1 yard construction-themed decorator fabric.  Gone.  Now that makes me feel good, especially since Amy Butler’s Lotus line is here and I can’t wait to get my hands on some of that.  Look at this bag that Megan made.  Can I copy you?  Please?

And a happy early birthday to my nephew!  One of these drawing cases is coming your way big boy!

I think I’m a bit drawing cased and patchfolioed out right now.  I gotta sew something else.

26 Responses to “CraftApple Stashbusting tip#1”


  1. 1 Kristin February 10, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    You are something! Love, love my cards, btw!

  2. 2 meg February 10, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    Girl, be my guest – I’m so pleased that you like it! Don’t you love that fabric? And see, you’ve “earned” it by taking such a large chunk out of your stash.🙂 Speaking of which, the Belle drawing case is particularly fetching. Keep up the good work!

  3. 3 kirsten February 10, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    oh, that truck fabric is awesome!

  4. 4 Elaine February 10, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    I love your your Art book idea. I really wanted to make one, but what to do with it!? Seeing it used with the magazine and legal pad I instintly thought of using for the classes I’m taking. Thanks so much for the inspirtation.

  5. 5 Vicki February 10, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    These padfolios and the artfolios are great! Good for you for using up so much fabric! All I did is bring more home this weekend….

  6. 6 Karyn February 10, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    We should all follow your lead and use up our stash. You’ve inspired me…again!

  7. 7 Heather February 10, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    I need to make Claire one of those, she LOVES to draw. I just got her that drawing pad at Target!

  8. 8 Kim February 10, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    I love the patchfolio – i really need to make me one!! Do you have a tutorial – or is it just modified from the artist cases?

  9. 9 Lori February 10, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Great job on the stash reduction. The Amy Butler fabric is gorgeous and thanks for the link to the new Lotus line, I hadn’t looked until now, oh, temptation. Once again you do beautiful work.

  10. 10 Patricia February 10, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    That contruction fabric is cute! Lovely things as usual.

  11. 11 Sue B February 11, 2007 at 4:49 am

    That first padfolio is gorgeous, love the fabrics in that one. And that truck fabric is too much fun! Perfect for a drawing case.

  12. 12 Gail February 11, 2007 at 10:12 am

    Hi
    Will you be providing a tutorial on making the patchfolio? I would really love to make these as gifts for my sisters and nieces.

  13. 13 randomcontemplations February 11, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    Aw, I saw you giving one of those to Brion today, that must have started the sewing conversation! I love the blue peacock fabric, it’s so beeeeautiful! I am really looking forward to walking Tuesday!!!

  14. 14 Susan February 12, 2007 at 1:27 am

    Any interest in making a laptop bag for my macbook?
    Susan

  15. 15 Cathy February 12, 2007 at 9:24 am

    You are amazing! I can’t believe you made all those already. And happy birthday to your nephew!!!

  16. 17 Anna February 12, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Thank you for the tutorial on the artfolio. I tweaked it a little to use Crayola Doodling markers–http://pritchettzoo.smugmug.com/photos/127660691-M.jpg

    I love seeing your work!

    Thanks again.

  17. 18 Kim Smith February 13, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing. I made each of my grandkids the little artist drawing cases and they are a huge hit! Hope you will do a tut on the “patchfolios”. You are AWESOME!

  18. 19 lera February 13, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    you’re such a creative lady! i need to do some stash building. you’re my hero!

  19. 20 Tami February 14, 2007 at 8:22 am

    Okay, so I am confined to the house. Maybe I’ll take a shot at your drawing pads. I’ve needed a good excuse to do so. I love your stuff!

  20. 21 Diana February 15, 2007 at 4:56 am

    hello i am from Italy,i like your style!!i like apples too!!i think your cards are very beautiful..please visit me at my dianaquilts.blogspot.com i’m new on the blog’sworld!!

  21. 22 Diana February 15, 2007 at 11:08 am

    thank you for the tutorials..i will learn from you..

  22. 23 Danielle February 15, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    Love the truck ones! Are you selling them, by any chance … ?!?

  23. 24 K. Anne February 17, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    Is it so very wrong to be in lust with these?

  24. 25 Stephanie February 23, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    I love these! I made something similar for my paint brushes. I just have one question, did you use anything like posterboard on the pocket section? My girls would love to have something like this for church and it would be easy for them if the pocket side was flat.

  25. 26 sascha March 15, 2007 at 5:59 am

    wow!!! those are amazing!!! any chance you could point me to a tutorial???? I would love to try my hand at making these!!! my sons would love to have one of these!!
    many thanks and keep up the great/inspiring work
    Sascha in cyprus


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives