Lotus Bag

lotus-bag-mosaic.JPG

There’s a catalog that comes occasionally (I can’t remember which one) that goes straight into the recycle bin.  There isn’t a model to be seen throughout the catalog – just clothes arranged in funny positions.  Sure the clothes are cute, but I would never buy anything that just looked cute laying on a table.  Why, I wonder would anyone put together a catalog like that?  Well now I know why.  Because taking pictures of clothes arranged like they’re jumping or shopping or dressed on flat Stanley is JUST PLAIN FUN.  I couldn’t stop.  I took so many pictures and finally felt guilty that mommy’s presumed “shower” was taking so long.

lotus-bag-s.JPG

Anyhoo, I’ve made myself another bag.  I had this red sweater and no purse to go with it.  Amy Butler’s Lotus fabric in Cherry came just in time!  I wanted to make a bag that’s bigger than what I normally carry so I can toss a ball of yarn in there without it looking like the purse is going to burst.  And what happens when you buy your normal amount of fabric and try to make a bigger purse?  Well, you run out, of course.  Well, never fear – that’s when the stash comes in handy.  Denyse Schmidt to the rescue!

lotus-bag-inside.JPG

Okay, I dare you to go arrange some clothes on the ground and start snapping some shots.  It’s really too fun. 

Oh yeah, and just in case anyone’s been wondering why I’ve been out of commission:  Allergy season has started up with a vengeance.  On Tuesday I go in for my RUSH immunotherapy allergy shots.  I’ll be at the doctor’s office from 8 am to 4 pm.  I SOOOO wish I could bring my sewing machine with me!  Maybe I’ll bring some pincushions to finish.  Other than that, it’s just magazines and DVDs for me. 

39 Responses to “Lotus Bag”


  1. 1 Linda L March 3, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    Great bag! I like your photos!

  2. 2 Georgette March 3, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    Love your bag, red is my favourite colour! Is it a pattern or did you make it up? Might just have to go and get some of that new Amy Butler material. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. 3 Lisa March 3, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    Oh I love the shape of that bag! Please share where you got the pattern.🙂

  4. 4 Coryn March 3, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    Boy that outfit looks stylish girl!

    Yes, they were the first two AB Lotus fabrics I bought also, I definitely ADORE that bag.

    Linda, I’ve looked everywhere in internet catalogues for those handles. Where do you get them from? can you recommend an internet source.

  5. 5 Pieces March 4, 2007 at 12:14 am

    I love the bag and the pictures are fun!

  6. 6 Sheree March 4, 2007 at 12:47 am

    That’s a really fun looking bag. I really like the shape (and the fabric is lovely too). Nice job on the photos- too funny!

  7. 7 Ali March 4, 2007 at 2:44 am

    That is gorgeous. I love your funny photos – sure most of my wardrobe would look better off me. I have visions of you standing on your ladder taking them!

    Good luck with the shots.

  8. 8 Sue B March 4, 2007 at 3:50 am

    Beatiful bag, really like that shape. Good luck with the shots, sounds like it will be a long day.

  9. 9 Rachael March 4, 2007 at 4:01 am

    Love the bag. The fabric is cute.

  10. 10 susan2009 March 4, 2007 at 4:54 am

    Cute clothes photos. HAndbag goes great with your sweater. Thanks for showing us and tempting us too. 🙂

  11. 11 Vicki March 4, 2007 at 8:07 am

    That’s a beautiful bag! Sorry to hear about your allergies – I too have severe allergies but have another week or two before I start up. I can’t do shots but buy Benedryl in 400 quantity bottles! Good luck with it – hoping you have a mild season.

  12. 12 lera March 4, 2007 at 10:53 am

    I’ve been wondering about you! I was going to email you if I didn’t see a post soon.

    I love, LOVE that bag. My heart seriously stopped beating when I saw it. I’m not sure if it’s the style, the fabric, but I know it’s the fabulous combination. Great bag. Fabulous bag.

    Feel better soon. Hope your treatment provides quick relief.

  13. 13 capello March 4, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    love your bag and the compartments inside. that’s totally what i need to make for myself.

    and allergies. blech.

  14. 14 katie March 4, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    What a great bag! I love red and white. Hope the rush therapy takes care of your allergies. I took shots for a year and a half and lost steam. (But I also had surgery eventually, which pretty much took care of the need for shots.)

  15. 15 Kimberly March 4, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    Oh you are too funny. I can just see you up there ‘taking a shower’ with your camera. I would be too. I love the pictures. Your bag is great too. Why not bring a ball of yarn and some needles to the doctor’s office? I hope it all goes well for you. Hugs!

  16. 16 lizzie March 4, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    You are too funny…. the pictures make me smile! If that bag and outfit were in my closet, it would definitely be one of my ‘uniforms’ most often worn.

    We missed you this morning! Are all three still coughing with runny noses or has anyone improved? So, your allergies are still raging? I hope Tuesday brings relief!! Also, we’re in for the zoo, if it’s still a go. Have a nice afternoon/evening!

  17. 17 Cathy March 4, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    Very cute and funny pictures! You are a natural. I love the bag too. I hope the allergy stuff goes well. We are getting hit big time here too.

  18. 18 beki March 4, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Linda, that bag is gorgeous!!! I may have to order some of that fabric…

  19. 19 kerry March 4, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    You are so creative, your photos look great and the bag is gorgeous, hope everything goes well at the doctors, allergies are so awful. Pity our sewing machines weren’t a liitle more portable sometimes.
    Have a good week
    Kerry

  20. 20 Lori March 4, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    So sorry about your allergies, hope all goes well at the doctor’s office. I LOVE you bag, the shape, the colors and the photo shoot. Off to buy some red Amy Butler fabric!

  21. 21 Vicki March 4, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    That is such a pretty bag. I love the red! I love Amy Butler’s fabric!

  22. 22 Di March 4, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    Best of luck at the doctors. Love the bag and the photos…very funny!

  23. 23 meg March 4, 2007 at 9:09 pm

    8 to 4? Eek. But if it’ll help with the allergies, Godspeed! We’re just wheezing along down here.

    The bag – so fine!! Love the invisible woman photo shoot, too.😉

  24. 24 Cindi March 5, 2007 at 7:36 am

    I will be praying for your sanity on Tuesday! I love, love the bag. I need a new bag. Hmmm…I might have to take time to make myself one. I wish you lived closer so we could get together to sew!

  25. 25 Lauri March 5, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Gorgeous, GORGEOUS purse! And that outfit is perfect…I’ve always been a big fan of kahki and red together for some reason.

    Did I say I love the purse??? lol!

    I would like to know where you get the handles, also, if you don’t mind.

    Wishing you much luck at the doctor’s office and quick relief of your symptoms! We got Allison in a week ago Friday. Poor girl was miserable!

  26. 26 Stacy March 5, 2007 at 10:07 am

    I love the bag and it does go very well with your outfit…cute pictures! My bags need to be bigger to house a diaper case and not yarn…but I understand the need!

  27. 27 Jes March 5, 2007 at 10:22 am

    The bag is really awesome. I really like the red.

    Good luck at the Dr. office. I feel for you sitting there all day. Seems like I do that even when I already have an appointment.

    I hope it helps your allergies. Mine went haywire last night, so I feel your pain. I hope it gets better for both of us!

  28. 28 Lisa March 5, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Heh! looks like you could make up a clothing catalogue of your own.

    Great outfit & Delicious bag!

  29. 29 Elizabeth K March 5, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    Your bag is cute and I love the “jumping around” photo spread.

  30. 30 CHAR March 7, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    That is suc a cute bag. I love the colors and the the out fit was way cute. I enjoy your blog stop by and say hi sometime. Char

  31. 31 weirdbunny March 8, 2007 at 7:40 am

    8 till 4, you’ll certainly need loads of magazines. Tree pollen is starting here, which isn’t so good for me either.
    I loved how you said the kids presumed you were in the shower!!! Hee Hee !

  32. 32 Abby March 8, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    Love the bag & the outfit as red is my alltime favorite color!

    Different viewpoint about buying clothes from a catalog with little to no models. Often I will purchase something that looked stunning on a model, but looks absolutely dreadful on myself. Without models, I can evaluate whether or not an outfit, piece of clothing is suitable for my body type.

    Great blog, I mostly lurk with hopes of someday owning a sewing machine and developing a crafty talent.🙂

  33. 33 Julie March 8, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    cute bag! I do want my daughter to see what a great way to
    totally coordinate, accessories and all.

  34. 34 DeeLight March 9, 2007 at 11:16 am

    I love your bag, great colors, and great size!!!
    Yes it is fun to arrange you clothes is fun positions. I sometimes do that when I lay out my daughters clothes!!!

  35. 35 Jody March 9, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    OOOOOohh I want your bag. Nice Blog!

  36. 36 Kristi March 9, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Great bag, it goes so nicely with your red outfit. I like the detail especially the inside pockets.

  37. 37 Ellen March 12, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Great bag. Red is great!

  38. 38 kathy March 12, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    This is the cutest bag I’ve ever seen. LOVE the red fabrics. I just saw the tutorial too. Thank you! Do you have a good source for the leather handles? I really like the thin width of yours.

  39. 39 marylin August 1, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    ohh the bag is soo cute! Really like it.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives