Same stuff, different fabric.

I gotta say that in general, I’m not a huge fan of custom orders.  They make me nervous.  In a perfect world, I would just create and create and people would love what I’ve created.  :)  Alas, I don’t live in that perfect world, but that’s one of the things I really like about Etsy.  I can just create and put it out there.  No big booth fee and no pressure to sell on one specific day like in a craft show.  Having said all that, I recently got a custom order for several drawing cases that was a lot of fun!  She told me a little bit about each girl along with color preferences and their initial.  These next two were my favorites: 

Litte E is 2 and likes classic colors.  I loved working with the Building Blocks charm pack for this Little Artist Drawing Case:

drawing-case-ee.JPG

 Little L is 6 and loves pink and ballet.  The tulle tutu was a challenge, but lots of fun.

drawing-case-ballet.JPG

I’ve also been making more of the same stuff I’ve been doing for several months, just different fabrics.  Charm pack goodness from Lotus:

lotus-cards-blue-s.JPG

And another seamstress apron.

The Seamstress Apron

Fun, fun!🙂

25 Responses to “Same stuff, different fabric.”


  1. 1 Rosa March 23, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    Congrats on the new store. I wish you much success. I am on my way over there to check it out.

  2. 2 Sue B March 23, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Congratulations on the new store.

    I love that little tutu! Love it.

  3. 3 Karyn March 23, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    You’ve been busy! I LOVE the Building Blocks fabric. I especially love the combination you used on that seamstress apron.
    Congratulations on your new store!!!

  4. 4 Vicki March 23, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Really cute drawing cases – I’m sure you matched the personalities perfectly! Also love the seamstress apron. Your work is always so professional looking!

  5. 5 lera March 23, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    Woo-hoo on your wholesale store!!!

    You really do such lovely work. Your drawing cases are going to be loved. So much effort went into making them so specifically for each girl. Way to go. (and that tutu is adorable)

  6. 6 Cathy March 23, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Isn’t it amazing how a different fabric can make the same project unique! I love the tutu and I love the seamstress apron fabric.

  7. 7 Monica March 23, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    Cathy took the words right out of my mouth! You have such a good eye for color and design Linda… it’s always eye candy when I come a visitin’!

  8. 8 weirdbunny March 24, 2007 at 5:23 am

    I’m continually amazed how you have the time to make everything that you do. I like the one with the inital best, he’ll really know that it was made just for him with that big E – love Julia x

  9. 9 Randi March 24, 2007 at 8:18 am

    Congratulations on your new business venture! It is very exciting to step out in that way!

    Thank you so much for the skirt AND the goodies! My daughter just about wrestled two of the pincushions from me–she had previously seen them on your blog and loved them! They are very adorable and tiny is those wooden bowls. I will post about them, but I just didn’t want to add it to a “skirt” post. Sometime next week for sure!

  10. 10 lizzie March 24, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    Your creations never cease to amaze me!! I absolutely love the drawing cases…the tutu one is just precious!! I just checked out your Etsy store….lots of things are selling and your feedback is wonderful….I’m not surprised.

    We sure enjoyed the hot dogs together on this lovely day! See you tomorrow.

  11. 11 quenna March 24, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    I love the tutu embellishment — I’m sure they will enjoy it!

    Oooo, I’ve been eyeing the new Amy Butler line, but unfortunately I’ve exceeded my spending budget😦

  12. 12 Dee Light March 24, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    You have been hard at work. The Tutu is so cute and very “girly”!! Great work.

  13. 13 meg March 25, 2007 at 3:02 am

    Cute cute cute! The tutu on case #2 is great; that’s sure to be a crowd pleaser. And look at you with your wholesale store — good for you!

    Thanks for the reminder that I need to snag a couple of more pieces from the Lotus line. Yeah, thanks a lot!😉

  14. 14 kerry March 25, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    well done on setting up your web site, how very gorgeous all your work is.
    Kerry

  15. 15 Fiona March 25, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    I just have to say how much I love your blog.
    I never have enough time to have a look every day then when I get back to it, you have done so much. My plan is to add you to my fav page on the computer to remind me to check up on you each day.

  16. 16 drenka March 26, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    I love your work,you are good with colours

  17. 17 Kimberly March 26, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Oh that tutu case!! I don’t know how you find time to do it all, I’m having enough trouble getting the few things for myself done. Sorry I haven’t been around-life is really crazy. I also need to find time to work on my pattern but that time has not yet shown itself. Love that apron, by the way. Good luck with the sales!!!

  18. 18 deb March 26, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    BIG congrats Linda! I’m off to take a look!!

  19. 19 deb March 26, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    Your website looks wonderful! So exciting seeing it all come together. I’ll be sure to keep you in mind for any local shops in my neck of the woods. Take care!

  20. 20 Tsoniki March 26, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    I love that seamstress apron! Are you also selling individual patterns?

  21. 21 Kristi March 26, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    I love, love all of those fabrics. You have a good eye for combining the different patterns.
    The apron is adorable.

  22. 22 Amy March 26, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    I love your blog. you are so generous with your tutorials and other suggestions. i have two boys myself, 3 months and 19 months….a third would be way too much for me right now. you are a rockstar!

    amy

  23. 23 Pieces March 27, 2007 at 10:37 am

    I love it all! And the new website looks great. I may have asked you this before–where do you find all your charm packs? I love that building blocks one!

  24. 24 Debbie April 1, 2007 at 8:51 am

    Such wonderful gifts. The tutu is soo cute! Perfect gift for a little one!

  25. 25 Junie November 3, 2007 at 2:50 am

    Your stash-busting bag is gorgeous! I have some of two of those fabrics — the HB one is one of my favs and I haven’t figured out how to use that AB one, so…I’ll have to hunt up an coral/orange fabric and make something for myself.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives