We interrupt this crafting…

1) For an awards nomination: 

I humbly accept my blog’s nomination to the

nominee.png 

I have no idea who nominated me.  Whoever you are, thank you!   I didn’t even know there was an award happening.  Thankfully, my stats directed me to the nomination.  And yes, even though I don’t blog about it much, I am a homeschooler.  Voting is open now. If you’d like to,  you may vote here.  Thanks!

2) For a trip to the copy center:  My pattern sold out this weekend!  I am again humbled.  I didn’t expect it.  The boys and I went to the copy center and I’ve relisted some more.

3) For ventral hernia repair:  Yep, you read correctly.  I’m short and my babies were all big.  At some point the fascia between my abs in the front thinned and tore.  I imagine it’s like spreading pizza dough in a pan.  You’re spreading and spreading and one spot gets thin and all of a sudden there’s a hole.  How did that happen, you ask.  You take some dough and patch it up.  Well, I’m going in on Wednesday to have the hole stitched together.  I had the option of having some  plastic mesh put in, but I declined it in favor of actual stitches.  It’s a bigger surgery, but I’m allergic to so much stuff I just wanted to avoid finding out if I’m allergic to the mesh after it’s in me.  It’s a weird feeling going into the hospital relatively healthy knowing I’m going to come out feeling yucky.  Matt’s mom is coming into town to help and friends from church are bringing meals.  I am blessed that we are well taken care of!

I’ve got one full day to get some crafting in. Who knows?  I still may have something to post before I go in.  That would make me feel really good. 🙂

30 Responses to “We interrupt this crafting…”


  1. 1 Rachel April 9, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    Congratulations on #1 & #2! Good luck with the surgery. Remember to take it slow while healing. You don’t want to do more damage.

  2. 2 Rosa April 9, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    Congrats on the sale. Congrats on the nomination. I wish you a speedy recovery post-op. Thankfully there is family to help with the children.

  3. 3 drenka April 9, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    Congratulations on your nomination.

  4. 4 lera April 9, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    Oh, Linda, good luck on Wednesday. You will be in my thoughts and prayers. Take it easy and rest up, so you can get back to crafting and pattern copying quickly.

    And, congratulations on your pattern success and your homeschooling nomination.

  5. 5 kat April 9, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    Such good news for you! Congrats!

    Best wishes for a speedy + safe surgery.

  6. 6 Lori April 9, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    Linda, congrats on the nomination and the success of your patterns. Thoughts and prayers are with you on Wednesday, take care and remember to rest.

  7. 7 capello April 9, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    my husband had a hernia a few years ago he they HAD to put the mesh in. and you know what they use? real screws.

    i’m glad you don’t need the mesh. it’s rather gross.

    also, i hope they can do it laproscopically. that would be much better than the old fashioned method.

  8. 8 Southern Girl April 9, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    I’m sorry you’re having surgery, but believe me, it’s a very good thing. I had a large ventral hernia a few years ago that eventually allowed intestines to get trapped in it and strangulated. I nearly died! I should have done what you’re doing and had it repaired early.

    Best wishes for a speedy recovery!

  9. 9 Randi April 9, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    I will be praying for you, Linda. It is good that you are taking care of things while you are feeling good!

    Congrats on the blog nomination!

  10. 10 Karyn April 9, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    Well, congratulations on your nomination and your pattern success!!!! Both are things you should be very proud of.

    Best of luck with your surgery. I’m sure you’ll be fine and you are surrounded by love in real life and online.

  11. 11 Lisa April 9, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    Hope your surgery goes well!

    Congrats on the success of your pattern. You do very nice work. Oh, I voted for you too.

  12. 12 Stacy April 9, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    Linda I hope your surgery goes well, and I’m sure it will! How wonderful that you have helping hands there to take care of you and your family while you are healing back up. Oh, what our babies do to us, huh?

    Congrats on the success of your pattern, too!

  13. 13 Ashley April 9, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    Oh my goodness, Linda–I hope everything goes well with the surgery! Take care–and hink of it as an opportunity to make other people lift all the heavy stuff from now on!!

  14. 14 alisonmc April 9, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    Hernia repair! You poor wee thing. Capella is on the money with the laparoscopic thing, far less invasive than open. Good luck and congrats on the first two bits of your post.

  15. 15 Ali April 9, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    I’ll be thinking of you – great pattern and nomination news!

  16. 16 katie April 9, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    Gosh! I’ll keep you on my prayers. Surgery like that is no fun. But I’m sure you’ll do great! And you can’t beat having mom (or mom-in-law)around for help.

  17. 17 Chara Michele April 9, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    I went and voted for you.

    Good luck with the surgery!

  18. 18 Sue B April 9, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Wow congratulations all around! And good luck with the surgery, I’ll be praying for speedy recovery.

  19. 19 lizzie April 9, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Exciting news on both counts!!!!

    I’ve been thinking of you as your surgery date approaches!! Also, I missed you yesterday. I’m here for a grocery run or childcare(a break) for Matt’s mom!! I’ll check in to see if you need anything. I’m praying for you, my friend!!

  20. 20 Coryn April 9, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    Congratulations on your Homeschooling award nomination! It’s wonderful to have some recognition.

    Best wishes for a successful surgery.

  21. 21 Monica April 10, 2007 at 7:15 am

    oh my LInda! good luck, and all the best. Hope you recover real soon,

    and congratulation for the nomination..

  22. 22 Hilari April 10, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    Sorry to hear about the surgery, but all will go well. Take good care of yourself and watch lots of good movies (but not funny movies! We don’t want to laugh those stitches out!)

  23. 23 deb April 10, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    Good luck with your operation. I’ll be thinking of you. How wonderful that the patterns did better than expected. So nice when that happens! 🙂 I’m off to check out the awards blog and nominate you!

  24. 24 tnmomwith3kids April 10, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    I didn’t even know that you homeschooled until I saw your blog on the list. Congrats on the nomination, I voted for you.

    That’s neat that you homeschool your three kids as well.

    Hope you get better, soon. Good luck!!!

  25. 25 Debbie April 10, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Linda,
    Will be sending quick recovery thoughts on Wednesday. Hope everything goes smoothly. Take care.

  26. 26 Jes April 10, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    omgoodness good luck with your surgery. I hope it’s not too painful!

    Congrats on your nomination. That’s great =)

  27. 27 kerry April 10, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Good luck on Wednesday, hope you have a speedy recovery.
    Well done on your nomination, your blog is so popular, I just new your pattern would be a hit, congratulations.
    Kerry

  28. 28 LeeAnn April 10, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    Good job on the nomination! That will make anyone feel better. I hope everything goes well on Wednesday!

  29. 29 Nikki April 10, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Congrats on the nomination! You certainly educate me on a regular basis. 🙂

    Good luck with the surgery. Hope you have a very speedy recovery!

  30. 30 Kimberly April 13, 2007 at 11:56 am

    Congrats on the nomination and our good wishes and prayers are with you!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives