Blogs that make me go hmmmmm…

You don’t ask a woman if she’s pregnant unless you’re absolutely sure, right?  Similarly, if you work in a hospital and you have a patient who might be wearing a binder that is so huge it’s wrapped around her admittedly small chest, don’t ask her if she’s had a mastectomy unless you are absolutely sure.

 I felt like I should start this post off with something thoughtful, which I also find quite amusing in my current drugged-up-on-pain-meds state.  Yes, this actually happened to me.  I was on morphine at the time and too tired to say anything witty back.

So why am I trying to be thoughtful?  This is a crafty blog, after all.  Well, I was tagged by Anne Heidi and Denise as a Thinking Blogger.  Thanks, ladies!  Here I go – blogs that make me think.  Let me just add that these are blogs that make me think creatively.  And if you’ve been tagged before, I apologize.  I am just not able to keep up.  All of these ladies have crafty styles that are slightly different than mine.  But that’s what I love about them – they force me to think differently which results in creating in new and creative ways.

 1. Stardust Shoes. Jojo is my sister and I grew up wishing I had some of her style.  Like the way she put patchwork on this bag.  It’s so me but I couldn’t have put it together on my own.  And while I go crazy trying to think of what else I can make out of fabric, she comes up with cloth shoes.  The tutorial is here.  Yes, Jojo, you are guilty. Guilty of making others think. :o)

2.  Pink Chalk Studio. A fellow pattern designer with a beautiful style all her own, Kathy has taught me to be precise in my sewing.  If only I could learn to take pictures like her!

3. Quilt While You’re Ahead. Monica makes me want to work with felt every time she creates something beautiful out of it.  Simple beauty

4.  Knits and Grits. Not only does she make me want to, but she makes me think I can actually make a doll as precious as this.

Okay, I know I’m supposed to pick 5, but I’m breaking all the meme rules and stopping at 4.  Play along if you’d like girls, or just bask in the knowledge that you’ve won an award.  Award picture is here if you’d like to display it. 

The original Thinking Blogger challenge can be found here.  And remember, don’t ask unless you are absolutely sure

9 Responses to “Blogs that make me go hmmmmm…”


  1. 1 lera April 17, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    Oh. Definitely DON’T ask if you are not 100% sure. Oy.

    And did I know that you and Joanna were sisters? Or did I know it and forgot it (which is completely possible)? I love both or your blogs and creativity, but did not know/remember the connection until now.

  2. 2 Katie April 17, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    Oh my gosh! I’m always afraid of putting my foot in my mouth like that. Awful. And yet funny! Thank you for the thinking blogger nod–you make me think, too. =)

  3. 3 Pieces April 17, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    Great choices! And thanks for ferreting out the origin of the meme!

  4. 4 Chara Michele April 17, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    I had no idea that Jojo was your sister! (Or maybe I just forgot:)

  5. 5 kat April 18, 2007 at 9:02 am

    I agree, don’t ask unless you are 100% positive. Just awkward for you and them! Thanks for the links. I love finding new creative blogs to check out🙂

  6. 6 Holly April 18, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    I once ran into an old friend at the mall, and suspected she was pregnant, but of course didn’t say anything. Then she told me she was. You’d think I would have been safe at that point, right? Nope. I can put my foot in my mouth in even the most foolproof situation. I told her I had suspected as much, but of course didn’t want to say anything. Come to find out, she was seven weeks pregnant. Nowhere close to showing yet. My suspicion and the fact that she actually was pregnant were completely coincidental. Oops.🙂

  7. 7 kathy April 19, 2007 at 9:49 am

    Thanks for the kind words Linda. You inspire me too! So glad I’ve gotten to know you in the blog universe.

  8. 8 Kristi April 19, 2007 at 10:49 am

    That reminds me recently we held a wedding shower for a coworker. One of the presents was a package of baby outfits, a baby book, and some other odds and ends. Apparently, my boss noticed she had gained weight so she put 2 and 2 together and assumed (correctly) that she also pregnant.
    It was the oddest office wedding shower I have been to.

  9. 9 Monica April 21, 2007 at 11:57 am

    oh thank you for the mention. Too kind!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives