Fabric Stuff

Some crafting from before my surgery…

I made a fabric envelope (similar to the one in this tutorial) with the scraps left over from the Lotus bag.  The next day I carried it to a baby shower with a bunch of people I hadn’t seen in years.  Then someone noticed my purse.  This hardly EVER happens to me so it was very exciting.  We were talking and I wanted to write down her website. 

 “Oh wait, let me get a pen…”  I pull out my new fabric envelope, could it have worked out more perfectly???

fabric-envelope.jpg

“and paper…”

fabric-envelope-2.jpg

I felt so cool pulling this out of my purse!  Does that make me lame?  YES, it does, but I rarely can find my pen in my purse so this is a very cool thing for me.  I was too lazy to put a snap on it but it stays closed because I sewed a seem across the top.

Since that project was so easy, I decided to step it up a notch and try something a bit more challenging: a wallet.  No pattern, just tried to copy the wallet that I used everyday:

fabric-wallet-1.jpg

Planning was fun.  Turning the pieces over in my head was fun.  Cutting it out was fun.  Assembly was a little less fun, and the result?  Not liking it so much.  The huge print on the fabric makes it look a bit Hawaiian.  Nothing against Hawaii, it just isn’t the look I was going for.  Also, I used way too much interfacing and the fabric along the fold is all wrinkled.  So I went and looked at some other fabric wallets and they all seem to look wrinkley.  I thought this might be my new obsession, but now I’m thinking not.

33 Responses to “Fabric Stuff”


  1. 1 Tuesday April 19, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    Ohhh, too cute! I love them both!! I can’t believe that was your first run on the wallet!! It looks super!!

  2. 2 jessica April 20, 2007 at 12:40 am

    beautif fabric envelope. great colors.
    the wallet came out great.

  3. 3 Chara Michele April 20, 2007 at 1:30 am

    That is a pretty neat fabric envelope!

    That wallet looks great! I can’t believe that was your first try at the wallet either:) (I haven’t tried sewing a wallet, because I can’t seem to wrap my head around the best way to make one…)

  4. 4 Sue B April 20, 2007 at 4:39 am

    Gotta tell you, I love that wallet! It’s fabulous!

  5. 5 Karyn April 20, 2007 at 5:35 am

    That is your FIRST wallet attempt??? Linda, it looks fabulous!!

  6. 6 Vicki April 20, 2007 at 5:43 am

    I can’t believe this was your first wallet! The envelope is not lame – it’s really cool! I want to make something like that but smaller for all or the cards that I carry around in my purse – business card size.

  7. 7 craftaddictconfessional April 20, 2007 at 6:15 am

    Fantabulous! I think they both turned out great.

  8. 8 Jackie Lawrence April 20, 2007 at 6:19 am

    Wallet looks great! Might this be a future pattern?🙂

  9. 9 Rosa April 20, 2007 at 6:26 am

    That is so cool. I would be proud and telling everyone in the aisle I made it.

  10. 10 Jen April 20, 2007 at 6:58 am

    I want those now too!!!

  11. 11 Tami April 20, 2007 at 7:06 am

    I like the notebook and pen pouch! Why hadn’t I thought of something like that earlier? Always loosing pens in my diaper bag also known as the PIT

  12. 12 Stacy April 20, 2007 at 7:19 am

    Fantastic! You are amazing at designing patterns – they both look great.

  13. 13 knittingcaboodle April 20, 2007 at 7:50 am

    I love pulling out all the useful things from my purse that I made… the fabric is always an eye catcher. My favorite kind of sewing is when I make up the pattern.

  14. 14 beki April 20, 2007 at 8:38 am

    I think both the envelope and wallet are darling! I’ve thought about doing a wallet, but then decided against it. To me, the planning and the figuring is the fun part. I just know that sewing all those little pocket thingies would give me fits!

  15. 15 lera April 20, 2007 at 9:16 am

    The envelope is great! Does the pen fit nicely inside?

    Karyn and I were discussing wallets. She was the brave one who tried it. I was going to let *her* figure it out for the both of us.🙂

  16. 16 Necia April 20, 2007 at 9:27 am

    I really like the fabric envelope. It’s such a cool idea. I want to take it a step further, and use it to not only hold paper & pen, but fabric swatches. Why not? Im always buying fabric, and never the notions, and then have to try to guess later if this zipper will match this fabric. So, I think I will attempt to make one, and use it to store 2×2 swatches as well. Thanks for the inspiration. I went and looked at my wallet, and its wrinkled too.
    Necia

  17. 17 daisycake April 20, 2007 at 10:35 am

    how cute are YOU pulling out your matching envelope? Love it!

  18. 18 Jonah April 20, 2007 at 10:35 am

    I love the wallet and the envelope! I was thinking that the wallet fabric looked way too busy for me but the design is fabulous. Maybe if the inside fabric was solid it would be less busy. Just a thought! Thank you for the inspiration!

    Jonah

  19. 19 Katie April 20, 2007 at 10:50 am

    Hey, that envelope is CUTE! I love the idea. I have been mulling over a wallet lately, too. I have several printouts of wallets I have made tacked to my bulletin board in the sewing room. But so far, I haven’t been gutsy enough to try it. I think yours looks good! One thing I am going to make this weekend, though, is a patchfolio–if I can find the time. I have some cute charm packs that are begging to be sewn into one!

  20. 20 Barbara April 20, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    what lovely inspirations !! will visit agein !!greetings Barbara

  21. 21 quenna April 20, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Wow, your wallets came out great!! I agree that the smaller patterns usually work better, but I love the way the lotus one came out (great tip about sewing the top to stay close)!

    Maybe if you forego the top stitching it would eliminate the wrinkles??

  22. 22 Ashley April 21, 2007 at 9:12 am

    Love that envelope! The fabric is so perfect–that’s easily my favorite from the new AB line.

  23. 23 Evelyn Lum April 21, 2007 at 10:09 am

    I LOVE your fabric envelope, especially your fabric choice. It is GORGEGOUS!! My daughter, Pei (she is 19 & @ college) would love one, and one for her room-mate, and one for this friend, and one for that friend … the list usually goes on. This is a great thing to make for college students, helps that organize. Thank you so much for sharing your great invention!

  24. 24 cindy April 23, 2007 at 9:09 am

    Totally cute, and I’d feel very proud pulling those out of my purse! I might have to make something like that. I can never find a pen in my mess, either!😉

  25. 25 LeeAnn April 24, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    I have been working on sewing a non-wrinkled wallet too! I am on version gajillon. *sigh* I am on the lookout for non traditional materials.

  26. 26 KARA SPENCER April 26, 2007 at 2:33 am

    I am in love with bith pieces, love the envelope I idea when I am brave enough may try. The wallet, oh I wish I had one that would fit all my UK chq etc in, I love it.
    Kara
    xx

  27. 27 Lisa May 1, 2007 at 2:48 am

    Gosh those wallets are just lovely, they look so professional!

  28. 28 Rebecca May 10, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Can you e-mail the instructions? These are just what I’m looking for my daughter’s birthday! Thanks!

  29. 29 Steph November 13, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Hi! I would also LOVE the instructions… I have been searching everywhere for a nice wallet patter. Is it at all possible for you to email me the instructions? Would really appreciate it.
    Thanks

  30. 30 Renee June 28, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Is the pen and paper pouch available for purchase?

  31. 31 icarusthebee August 16, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    hi! ive been looking everywhere for a design for a wallet and im in love with this one. its perfect. any chance i can get some instructions?

    thanks!

    icarusthebee


  1. 1 Simple sobre de tela - Las Manualidades Trackback on December 30, 2008 at 8:24 am
  2. 2 Wrap Story: Correspondence Kit for H. & J. « Gifted Trackback on October 5, 2009 at 11:06 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives