Double Fold Binding

Thank you to the kind non-blogging Aussie ladies Roslyn and Coryn that pointed out there is a better way to bind!  They directed me to Heather’s superb binding tutorial that I hadn’t seen before.  Now that I’ve looked at it and understand it, I’m seeing the technique everywhere –  all my quilting magazines and all over the web.  How could I have missed it?  It’s brilliant – two layers of fabric for the binding for added durability, and a continuous strip of binding for pretty corners.  How could I have quilted so long without knowing how to properly bind? So I set out this week to learn to bind: 

binding1.jpg

You only have to press one seam (ONE!):  Press the strips in half lengthwise.  Raw edges of the binding line up with the raw edges of the quilt.  Sew around the outside (you must go see the tutorial on where to stop and start).  Then fold the binding to the back and tack the folded edge to the back (I sewed mine on the machine).  And when you’re done, you end up with these cute little pucker thingies which must have a real name but for now they are cute little pucker thingies.

binding2.jpg

And those are my quilting grip gloves that are oh so helpful when free-motion quilting.  They were really tight, but tight is a good thing when you’re manhandling a quilt or when you have to change your bobbin and don’t feel like taking the gloves off.

I didn’t have any plans for this little quilt, but when I laid it on the bench in the guest bedroom, it fit perfectly.  I love it when things turn out like this. 

quilt2.jpg

I spent lots of time last week looking into copyright law in relation to sewing patterns.  It seems that there is a bit of confusion on this issue.  Unfortunately, I got into a situation that required that I figure it out.  All is well, and it had to be done anyway.  I called the US Copyright office, but perhaps that is information for another post if anyone is interested. 

28 Responses to “Double Fold Binding”


  1. 1 Coryn May 1, 2007 at 2:18 am

    Seaside rose is my ultimate all time favourite fabric. Love your choice of binding fabric.

    I was watching Simply Quilts with Alex Anderson and they were talking about quilt competitions and what judges look for. One of the things was good corners-ie done this way.

    Enjoy your beautiful quilt.

  2. 2 Karyn May 1, 2007 at 5:28 am

    I am not a quilter but I do have a quilt top that I’m going to have to do something with, I will certainly keep this in mind!

  3. 3 Jackie Lawrence May 1, 2007 at 6:47 am

    Great looking quilt! Sorry to hear about your troubles with copy right laws. Please do share what you learned it may keep others out of trouble.

  4. 4 kirsten May 1, 2007 at 7:26 am

    you did a gorgeous job – and i love the colors!

  5. 5 katie May 1, 2007 at 8:02 am

    Yes, do please share the copyright info. Also, lovely binding! That’s the way I do it too. Sometimes my front miters don’t look as nice as the back ones, though. It seems harder to get them right when the binding is really narrow, like 1/2″ or less finished.

  6. 6 cindy May 1, 2007 at 9:40 am

    I finally figured out how to do binding after many, many mistakes. I do love the little quilt. It’s very cute on your bench. Also, I’ve tried working with gloves, I just can’t do it. I need to have my skin touching the fabric, or something. I just keep a thing of smelly lotion on my table and rub it in really good so I don’t stain the fabric, but it keeps my hands moist enough to get a grip.

  7. 7 Sue B May 1, 2007 at 10:20 am

    Beautiful quilt. I cut the fingers of the gloves off about halfway up the finger. Makes it easy to change the bobbin and thread and grab the scissors without having to take them off.

  8. 8 Nancy-The Unlikely Homesteader May 1, 2007 at 10:32 am

    That looks great Linda! Thanks so much for taking the time to help out this rookie.🙂

  9. 9 Elizabeth May 1, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    I love the little quilts. My mom showed me how to bind that way and it’s so easy to do. Once it’s sewed onto the front of your quilt, you can just sit around with it and hand sew it to the back. It’s relaxing.

  10. 10 Monica May 1, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    Congrats on your new discovery! Your binding looks great!

    I also love whipping the binding down (and I know I’m not alone, haha). I find it very relaxing and a great TV watching project! Ohmmmm. :o)

  11. 11 Kimberly May 1, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    Oh I love it too when something turns out perfectly like that! What happened with the copyright?

  12. 12 stacy May 1, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Beautiful quilt – your binding is perfect (I’m jealous, I need to work on mine).
    I would love to hear about what you find out on copyright law – what happened to you?

  13. 13 Rachel May 1, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Lovely binding! I believe a beautiful binding can make a quilt. I’m a big fan of double-folded binding with mitered corners. I even think that quilts with mitered borders look better. I don’t use that technique very often because it requires more fabric and patience. I’m ususally short on one or the other. As for the copyright law you should shed some light. It would be informative from a consumer and a potential designer point-of-view.

  14. 15 lera May 1, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    Beautiful quilt. How on earth do you have time for that? I am so intimidated by quilts. They seem so time consuming.

    Hope everything works out for you and the copyright laws.

  15. 16 Nikki May 1, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    Oh dear! Good luck with the copyright stuff.

    Thanks so much for sharing that tutorial. It’s wonderful!

  16. 17 K. Anne May 1, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    That turned out really nice!

    I’d love to know what happens with all the copyright stuff.

  17. 18 Anne May 2, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    I do my binding this way, but I have a question on the binding- do you use single thread or do you double your thread to tack down the binding? I enjoy your website and marvel how you find the time to do all you do!

  18. 19 kerry May 3, 2007 at 6:33 am

    So glad you worked out how to bind your quilts using this method, it always works and looks great, I’ve been using this method for about 10 years. You won’t go back to your old ways now.
    Hope you are feeling well again.
    Kerry

  19. 20 Cathy May 3, 2007 at 8:12 am

    That’s a cute little quilt. Good luck with the copyright problems… it is very confusing and doesn’t take much to step on someone’s toes.

  20. 21 Nikki May 3, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Thanks for your note on our blog. 🙂 It’s me that’s getting married – June 2nd! Can’t wait!

  21. 22 Amy May 3, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    I had been quilting for years and it only in the past few that a friend introduced me to this slick technique.

  22. 23 Mirre May 4, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    I’m in awe of your binding! I need to learn it too, but it still looks so complicated to me😉

  23. 24 weirdbunny May 5, 2007 at 3:14 am

    Isn’t it wonderful when we learn something new, especially if it makes our sewing easier !

  24. 25 Tsoniki May 6, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    It took me a second to realize I’ve always done it that way! Yay for learning an easier way to get the binding done.🙂

  25. 26 Holly May 7, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    Your quilt is lovely, and it really does look like it was made just for that bench.

    How are you feeling? I’m hoping your recovery has gone/is going well!

  26. 27 Judi May 8, 2007 at 6:53 am

    I am just finishing a quilt/chenille type baby blanket. I am just at the point of completing the binding. This will help me immensely. Thank you so much!
    By the way with your connections and all do you know of a place where I could order nice online labels that can be affixed to my sewing projects?

  27. 28 Judi W. May 8, 2007 at 11:10 am

    Looks great! I adore my quilting gloves – couldn’t FME without them anymore!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives