Scrapbooker’s Apron Part 1

I’ve sold few pre-made seamstress aprons, but I think I’ve only sold one to someone who actually sews.  If someone knew how to sew, they’d just make one themselves, right?  I think most of the ladies who have purchased my aprons have been scrapbookers.  The last one that I sold on Etsy was to Melanie.  Melanie is an avid scrapbooker and THE absolute friendliest person I have ever met in blogland.  Melanie is a well-published scrapper who teaches scrapbooking classes.  She told me she was also looking for an over-the-head apron with big pockets to hold all her scrapping supplies: adhesives, inks, paints, pens and more.  So this week I’ve been working on a prototype.

scrappers-apron1-1s.jpg

This apron has an adjustable neck strap, fabric ties around the waist, 2 slanted pockets, 2 boxy pockets for glue and paint bottles, 2 flat pockets that can hold some paper and 2 long pockets behind all the stuff in the front to hold whatever other scrappy things you might want to carry around with you.  There is also a hook in the back to hang your paper cutter from, a 12×12 zipper pouch to carry your large scrapbooking paper, a dowel to hang all your ribbons and scrapping fibers, as well as a baby carrier for your precious little one.  I also fashioned a hat with pockets to hold up to 14 paper punches, and a fanny pack that if worn toward the back can hold up to 40 plastic templates, if you are willing to not sit  down.  Okay, everything after the first sentence is a joke, of course.  It’s just so funny because I used to stamp and the mountain of supplies it takes to scrapbook and stamp is just mind-boggling!

I found some nice plain ticking for the back that is sturdy, but still soft.  The trick is going to be making the pockets sturdy without using interfacing, because in my experience, interfacing doesn’t wash that well.  Any thoughts?  I want to make another one soon, maybe with some pompoms across the bottom and some other cute trims.

20 Responses to “Scrapbooker’s Apron Part 1”


  1. 1 autum May 19, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    How about using a heavy cotton or some canvas to add sturdiness to the pockets? That or a couple of layers of a light to medium wt. interfacing, the kind you use in clothes instead of crafts. It washes well.
    I love the apron! I was laughing at all it will hold. That’s what you call a do it all apron!
    Great work, as always🙂

  2. 2 Dawn May 19, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    I love this…The possibilities are endless!

  3. 3 lera May 19, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    I think it’s absolutely adorable.

    At first I thought you had lost your mind when you were mentioning the other “features.”🙂

    I haven’t had anything bad happen with interfacing when laundered, as long as there is fabric on both sides. (I usually take a large piece of fabric, interface it, fold the fabric in half right sides together, sew, turn, etc.) I do that with the pockets in my bags. I wash them, but hang dry.

  4. 4 Karyn May 19, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    What a great apron!! I’m sure it will be the envy of every scrapbooker (and crafter!!)

  5. 5 Melanie May 19, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    You soooooooooooo had me going about all of the EXTRA FEATURES you had on this little baby! I kept reading, then looking back at the photo, reading more then looking back at the photo again because I just could not for the life of me figure out where you had hidden all of those things! The 12″x12″ paper pouch was the the real kicker! Too funny!

    I just sent you an e-mail, but I but wanted to post on here as well! I think it’s simply darling! Perfect!!

  6. 6 essieandeisbar May 19, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    I bought one and I sew! but I’m actually lazy😀

  7. 7 kathy May 20, 2007 at 1:21 am

    Great design. I was walking by a rather upscale boutique downtown today and saw craft aprons on display in their window. I think you’re on to something big!

  8. 8 Ali May 20, 2007 at 2:40 am

    Hee hee – paper cutter on an apron? Sounds lethal! The mountains of supplies are one of the reasons I refuse to take up scrapbooking.

  9. 9 Sue B May 20, 2007 at 5:09 am

    Love this design! I have gotten into the habit of wearing an apron in the studio especially when I paint. Love this design you’ve come up with – I’ll be first in line to purchase this pattern when it’s out!

  10. 10 jessica May 20, 2007 at 5:41 am

    excellent idea. love the combos.

  11. 11 cindy May 20, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Very cute. I like the stripe-y fabric!

  12. 12 Samantha May 20, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    What if you fused to layers of fabric together? That would give it some stiffness without interfacing that might detach. The other option is to use quilted fabric with a thinner batting and plenty of quilting. That would have very nice body.

  13. 13 ambersmonkeys May 20, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    holy cow that apron rocks! 🙂 I need one!!!!!!

  14. 14 Modern Charm May 21, 2007 at 8:37 am

    Love it! Great idea!

    I don’t knit, but it’s possible that knitters could use something like that to hold their needles and stitch markers and other-knitting-thingies.

  15. 15 artbeth May 21, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    First, let me say I really enjoy your blog! Your projects always inpire me.

    I think a crafter’s apron is a great idea! Soon after I read about your seamstress apron, I saw an ad in Creating Keepsakes magazine for a scrapbooker’s apron, and thought of the seamstress apron.

    I love the knock-off version of your seamstress apron that I sewed for myself, except I sometimes have a hard time pulling stuff out of the pockets when I’m sitting down at my sewing machine. Therefore, I’ve been thinking that if I ever make myself a scrapbooking/crafter’s apron, I might put more pockets on the top of the apron so I can use them easily while sitting — sort of like a fisherman’s vest.

    I’m looking forward to seeing the finished product and may need to buy your patterns for both aprons!

  16. 16 Pieces May 21, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Wow. I love it. The ticking is really cute. You totally had me going up until the baby carrier. Except I couldn’t imagine anyone wanting to have all the stuff hanging from themselves. I’m gullible.

  17. 17 Monica May 22, 2007 at 6:24 am

    and who’s a clever girl then?

    Another winner, I’m sure.

  18. 18 weirdbunny May 22, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    You so make me laugh !!! I’m sure your apron will be a winner as always ! – love Julia x

  19. 19 MargaretR May 25, 2007 at 6:38 am

    What a wondrfully useful apron you have there. I’m afraid I’m one of the guilty ones who has stitched so much all my life that I will say. Lovely I’ll make one of those, don’t need a pattern. Not good for business? But I’m certain there are thousands out there who will buy your lovely pattern and enjoy learning to make it.

  20. 20 Genevieve Oliver January 15, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    How much are your craft aprons? Are there adult sizes? Where do I purchase them? I was looking for aprons for our activity leaders for our business, this would work great. Thanks🙂


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives