Me = winner.

The last time I won something was in 1991.  Yup, sixteen years ago.  A couple of college freinds and I had volunteered to serve food at a church dinner.  We all had been entered to win a door prize even though we spent most of the evening in the kitchen chatting, laughing, and washing dishes.  I won a door prize:  a big, yellow flashlight.  I really liked my yellow flashlight.  When my roommate and I would go for late-night power walks, I’d take my flashlight and shine it into the trees.  It made me feel safe to see the tree trunks in the glow of the beam of my happy yellow flashlight.  At least I knew no one was hiding in the shadows.  I know, I know, what were we thinking walking late at night?  I would never do that now.

Well with all the free drawings and giveaways in blogland, you’d think my chances of winning something, anything, would be pretty high, but NOT SO.  Until now, that is.  The lovely Monica Happy Zombie randomly selected me.  ME.  To receive a bundle of fabric in honer of her Zombiversary.

zombiefabric.jpg

Isn’t it zombeautiful?  Thank you Monica!  I can no longer say I never win anything.  I am now a winner.  Me = winner.  Not just any winner, but a zombiwinner.  Now what else can I enter?

In spite of my fear of sewing clothing, I started sewing Amy Butler’s layered skirt from her Barcelona Skirts pattern.  I decided to ignore the urge to adapt anything and do everything exactly as the pattern says.  But then I ran into a problem.  The instructions say to use an invisible zipper foot.  Hmmm.  I have a zipper foot, but not an invisible zipper foot.  An invisible zipper foot for my machine would probably set me back $30-40 and I just don’t  plan on using invisible zippers that much.  SO – wish me luck – I’m going to just use the foot I have, while at the same time facing my zipper phobia.  An no matter how. this. skirt. turns. out. I’m wearing it to church on Sunday.

34 Responses to “Me = winner.”


  1. 1 Sharon May 23, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    You don’t need an invisible zipper foot to sew in the invisible zipper. It helps but its not critical. I don’t have one for my machine and I put invisible zips in just about everything I sew. Send me an email if you have a question.

    Looking forward to seeing the Barcelona skirt

  2. 2 Modern Charm May 23, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    Congrats! You ARE a winner!🙂

  3. 3 Debbie May 23, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    Congrats – such pretty fabric.

    Good luck with that zipper. I really, really dislike sewing in zippers. I’d prefer a million buttonholes to a zipper, but buttons don’t really go with a skirt.

    Can’t wait to see your finished product.

  4. 4 Ashley May 23, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    I found a cheap plastic invisible zipper foot at my fabric store for, I think, less than 3 bucks. Might be worth it at that price!

  5. 5 ginny May 23, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    hi there, i put invisible zippers in almost everything i make that needs a zipper. i think that it is kinda hard to do without an invisible zipper foot so when i didnt have one or cant find mine (i neve put it away!) i baste it in by hand before i use the regular zipper foot to make sure it goes in right. i have also hand sewn one into a skirt after i had to rip it out like a million times! just thought i would put my two cents in! good luck!
    xo
    g

  6. 6 Sarah May 23, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    Congratulations on winning the fabric. I look forward to seeing what you make.

    You don’t need an invisible zipper foot to put in an invisible zipper. Just press the zipper tape flat as per instructions and so close with a normal zipper foot. Good luck – they are much easier to put in that normal zippers.

  7. 7 Conni Lu May 23, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    What a cool gift! Congrats!

  8. 8 craftaddictconfessional May 23, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    Good luck with the zipper! I’m sure you’ll do just fine without the zippity do dah foot. Such pretty, pretty fabric!

  9. 9 Rachel May 23, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    If you don’t have an invisible zipper foot, you can use a button hole foot. The coil on the zipper will slide in a groove on the bottom of the button foot. I just made my skirt with an invisible zipper. The result looks so professional with nominal effort.

  10. 10 Ali May 24, 2007 at 12:56 am

    Nice fabric – and my Barcelona Skirt trial run was only my 2nd zipper effort of all time and I used an internet tutorial and regular zipper foot and it turned out just fine.

    I’m sure yours will be superb. Look forward to seeing it!

  11. 11 Rachel May 24, 2007 at 1:03 am

    Hi! I’m usually a lurker, but I just made the Amy Butler Cabo Halter, which requires an invisible zipper, and I just used my regular zipper foot, and it turned out just fine. I think you’ll be able to sew your zipper in, no problem. Congratulations on winning the contest!

  12. 12 Sue B May 24, 2007 at 3:31 am

    Congratulations on winning that contest – lucky you!

  13. 13 LeeAnn May 24, 2007 at 7:32 am

    Nice job aquiring that nice stack of fabric!

    Good luck on the zipper. And let us know how the skirt pattern worked out. I kinda had my eye on that one.

  14. 14 Constança May 24, 2007 at 8:02 am

    Lucky you!🙂 Now we want to see what you’ll make with all those pretty fabrics!

  15. 15 cindy May 24, 2007 at 8:08 am

    Oh, yippee! Yep, Monica rocks and so do those fabrics!!🙂 Have fun figuring out what to do with them, after you fondle them and smell them and look at them, of course.🙂 Good luck on the skirt. Can’t wait to see pics!😉

  16. 16 lera May 24, 2007 at 8:14 am

    Beautiful fabrics! You *are* a winner! (Oops. I seriously just typed “wiener” by accidentally!)

    You can buy invisible zipper foot attachments in Walmart above the zippers. They are plastic and are different colors in a variety pack. I don’t know if one will work on your machine, but they are pretty cheap.

  17. 17 chris May 24, 2007 at 8:27 am

    I made several of Amy Butler tops without the invisible zipper foot – didn’t want to spend the money, and they didn’t turn out too hot. So I broke down and got the proper tool. You know that phrase – “the proper tool”. It really does make a difference. I’m glad you wrote about the skirt – I have two cut out. I have the layered one and the a-line and haven’t read through the pattern yet about the zipper. I thought it would be the regular zipper, not invisible. Oh well, looks like I’ll be making another trip to the fabric store now for invisible zippers….that’s for the heads up!

  18. 18 Chara Michele May 24, 2007 at 9:03 am

    Congrats on winning that fabric!

    I have put in invisible zippers without an invisible zipper foot, so I think you should be fine. I just ordered that pattern, so I am excited to see how your skirt turns out!

  19. 19 Lindsey May 24, 2007 at 10:06 am

    i never use invisible zipper foots! the one time i did, back in college, i sewed right through my finger, so that was the end of that.

  20. 20 Mumzie May 24, 2007 at 10:16 am

    Congratulations, Dahling! Have fun making the skirt. I just know that as soon as you start sewing clothes, you will do well. As you know, a long time ago, way off in Taiwan, I took a patternless dressmaking class. I may not have done too well with the patternless part, but I did learn quite a few sewing tips. One thing we were told is that you should put the zipper in before sewing up any side seams and work from there. At least you are able, that way, to keep the zipper good and flat while you work on it. Sooo–whichever kind of zipper you use, or whichever attachment, I hope this idea helps some.

  21. 21 katie May 24, 2007 at 10:55 am

    Good luck with the zipper! I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

  22. 22 capello May 24, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    oooo… so jealous of your winnings.

    and um, what’s the difference with a zipper foot and invisible zipper foot? am i the only one starting to feel nickel’d and dime’d to death? gah.

  23. 23 Judi May 24, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    How lucky you are!
    The material is so colourful…hmmmm..I don’t know when I last won anything either.
    I also did not know there was such a thing as an invisible zipperfoot…
    I did chuckle recently trying to find invisible thread at the fabricstore. I couldn’t find it…you can imagine the comments and giggles from their sales staff as they tried to rationalize why I couldn’t find the “invisible thread”.. *s*.

  24. 24 fromthenarrows May 24, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Can’t wait to see how the skirt turns oout. let me know how the zipper goes. I haven’t done too well with zippers. That is why I like the Favorite Things Cute Skirt pattern. I love making skirts.
    Susan

  25. 25 weirdbunny May 24, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    How wonderful to win !!!!

  26. 26 Pieces May 24, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    Jealous. That’s me.

  27. 27 beki May 24, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    I haven’t done an invisible zipper in ages. I don’t think I’d rememebr how to do it, or what an invisible zipper foot looked like!!

  28. 28 Amanda May 24, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    Congrats! All the fabric is so beautiful!

  29. 29 Rachael May 25, 2007 at 12:54 am

    Congrats on winning the fabric. Can’t wait to see your finished skirt. It’s on my list. I have the fabric I want to use, but not the pattern. Talk about doing things backward.

  30. 30 deb May 25, 2007 at 9:29 am

    What fun! You are a winner Linda! Wow – I can’t believe how much you’ve gotten done. Love your new patterns. Hope life is treating you well! xo

  31. 31 alisonmc May 25, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    A zipper foot is a start! I lost my zipper foot sometime in the mid 90s and I somehow still manage to make invisible zips work which is a miracle considering my sewing is much MUCH less than spectacular. If I can do it (albeit poorly) without a zipper foot at all you can absolutely totally be brilliant with one! Can’t wait to see a pic of your skirt.

    Yay for winning that fabric!!

  32. 32 Melanie May 25, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    Congrats to you!!! How fun!!

  33. 33 Happy Zombie May 28, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    You may THINK you are the winner here… but it’s MOI who’s the winner! I heart you!

    If you ever make something with the fab, you could call it Yellow Flashlight and make people wonder. Of course everyone in the Craft Apple Fan Club would know what it means…. mooo ahhh haaa haaa!

  34. 34 samantha May 28, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Great prize scoop – well done. I’m sorry I can’t help with the zipper thing, but looks like it turned out well, and I really like the skirt despite the matchy upside down flowers🙂 I am currently giving away 3 bundles of fabric, so I can give you something else to enter – no promises about winning though I’m afraid…


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives