Barcelona Skirt!

Here she is:  Amy Butler’s layered skirt from ther Barcelona Skirts pattern using fabric from Heather Bailey’s Freshcut line of fabric.

barcelonaskirts

Thanks for all your invisible zipper foot help!  It turns out you CAN do an invisible zipper with a regular zipper foot, although I can’t help but wonder if it could have been more invisible if I had the proper tool.  Unfortunately with my Bernina I have to use Bernina presser feet which means I can’t buy cheap presser feet at WalMart.  The not-so-invisible zipper:

invisible-zipper.jpg

Pattern impressions:

  • Great pattern for a clothes-challenged seamstress like myself.  This is the reason I would pay $16 for a skirt pattern:  because she writes in language that I can understand.
  • The finished skirt is heavier than I expected.  It is lined with muslin which makes for a heavy skirt (9 ounces on my postal scale, if you must know).
  • I actually bought 2 yards of fabric for the skirt before I ever bought the pattern.  I got nervous because the pattern asks for 2 1/8 yards for my size. Turns out I didn’t need the extra 1/8th.  And there was a lot of fabric left over.  Maybe enough for something matchy-matchy – like a wristlet.

barcelonaskirt2.jpg

What I didn’t expect:

  • That the fabric I used would look upside down on the final product.  Seriously I didn’t know it had a up -down pattern!  All my flowers were upside down! 
  • The floral pattern to line up on all the layers like they  did.  If I make this skirt again, I’ll definitely avoid that.  See how all the pink flowers are stacked on top of eachother?

Questions:

  • Why should I finish the raw edges on the inside of the skirt when there are fraying raw edges on the outside of the skirt?  I mean, won’t the outside ones fray to the point of the skirt being unwearable way before the inside seams?

I like this pattern.  I like this skirt.  It’s the first skirt I’ve made that I know I’ll wear more than once.  Next time, I’ll try the A-line skirt with just cotton fabric, no muslin lining.  Making skirts is fun!  There may be clothes-sewing in my future after all! 

I’m off to Barcelona to wear the skirt in the city that it’s named after.  I think my skirt will be happy there.  I’ll wear it everyday, washing it every evening so that the layers will start to fray.  Let the fraying begin!

46 Responses to “Barcelona Skirt!”


  1. 1 lera May 25, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    Very pretty. You cannot tell that the fabric is “upside down.” (I’ve done that before with very obvious fabric — flowers with stems.)

    So, let me see if I understand this … the outside layers have raw edges? It’s kind of hard to see in the photo. Are they sewn near the edge to stop it from completely raveling?

  2. 2 capello May 25, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    okay. that’s it. i need that pattern.

    let’s just hope it fits my ass.

    oh — and she probably doesn’t have raw edges on the inside because it would feel yucky.

    yes, yucky. that’s the technical term after all.

  3. 3 Rosa May 25, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Great skirt. I love the way it turned out and the fabric is wonderful. I may be wrong, but I “think” I’ve seen Bernina foots at Joanns. It may be worth a try to give them a call and see if they sell it in your local Joanns. Congrats!

  4. 4 reveldesigns May 25, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    I can’t wait to see you in your new duds!! I am not a skirt person, but am slowly imagining what fabric I want for mine. You could try a toothbrush to get the fraying started. love it!!

  5. 5 Ali May 25, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    The skirt looks fab on you and I love your pattern cover mock-up!

    And for what it’s worth, I don’t see the flowers as being upside down. They suit the skirt style really well. I am still trying to choose a fabric for the real version of mine.

  6. 7 twolimeleaves May 25, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Gorgeous!! The fabric doesn’t look upside to me, either.

  7. 8 Ashley May 25, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Oh, it looks so lovely, Linda! I’ve debated this pattern before–not sure my skills are up to it–but this is definitely tilting me towards buying it!

  8. 9 Karyn May 25, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    Linda, that skirt is fabulous!! This coming fromk a woman who hates skirts remember. I love it!!

  9. 10 LeeAnn May 25, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    I’ll keep the weight in mind when I go to make this. However, I will only be making this skirt if I can win the pattern for free. Stupid BUDGET!

    I didn’t realize that the outside had fray tiers. Nice to know.

  10. 11 Tami May 25, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    You are so up my line now. I LOVE making skirts and dresses. Just finished 2 skirts (for myself), 3 cropped pants (for Emma) and a dress (for Emma) last week. Skirts are very fun and I think more simple than bags.
    I can’t wait to see more clothes…can you post a picture of the skirt after it is frayed? I’m not sure I’m getting a positive visual of this.

  11. 12 craftaddictconfessional May 25, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    It’s gorgeous! I think it looks fabulous on you, too. The “yam” label is cracking me up! I have the pattern and plan to do the a-line and the apron … sooner or later. Need to get through the works in progress first!

  12. 13 Melanie May 25, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Well it sure doesn’t look upside down to me! I’m just in awe of your sewing talent!! And your humor (YAM lable) cracks me up!!

  13. 14 beki May 25, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    See? Skirts can be addictive.

  14. 15 essieandeisbar May 25, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    GORGEOUS!

    So, question? Was the Amy Butler pattern wordy, or were there plenty of pictures. I’m a HUGE visual person, and I have to read and read and read her patterns, picture it in my head, then read it again before I start. Otherwise, half my sewing consists of me reading and pinning!!!

    Did I mention, gorgeous? The fabric is perfect. Also..I think you need to finish the raw edges for both a clean look (no lining, right?) and so after years of wear, it doesn’t fall apart at the side seams) Now rock that Memorial Day outfit!

  15. 16 Rachel May 25, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    The skirt looks great. You should post the picture on a couple of flickr groups (Sew What! Skirts Sew Along and Skirt Month Sew-Along). I believe there are give aways for those who participate. Beside everybody should see your great work.

    I can relate on the Bernina pressor feet situation. I also have a Bernina. I try to take advantage of 30% sales that my local dealer offers every now and then. It really helps.

  16. 17 Rachael May 25, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    They don’t look upside down to me. The skirt looks awesome. I can’t wait to try it.

  17. 18 Karen May 25, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    I would not have noticed those fabric “issues” if you had not pointed them out. I think it is just plain cuteness.

    I might break my “I don’t sew for myself” rule for this pattern.

  18. 19 kerry May 26, 2007 at 3:43 am

    Love the skirt, the zipper looks very professional.Well done.
    I wonder what the next one will look like???
    Have fun wearing it.
    Kerry

  19. 20 Anna May 26, 2007 at 4:11 am

    The skirt looks great! I find with all Amy Butler patterns that she seriously overestimates the amount of fabric that you need, and her cutting layouts leave a lot of leftover tiny bits so I tend to buy less fabric and ignore how she tells me to lay it out! I figure it’s because she also sells fabric that she wants you to buy that extra half yard every time even if you don’t need it! :o) Hope you and the skirt enjoy Barcelona!

  20. 21 Elaine May 26, 2007 at 7:20 am

    You did a good job with the zipper and the skirt is pretty. I love your picture taking.

  21. 22 Regina May 26, 2007 at 8:27 am

    beautiful, beautiful skirt!

  22. 24 Modern Charm May 26, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    Love it! It looks beautiful, and the zipper looks totally fine.

  23. 25 meg May 26, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Ahhh – you have the bug now! That’s what happens. It looks great, zipper and all; good for you!! And the new pattern cover? Too funny. It’s a winner all the way around.

  24. 26 Sue B May 27, 2007 at 4:25 am

    Beautiful! I love that fabric for a skirt, I just bought that pattern myself. I’ve got an urge to update my summer wardrobe with some flirty fun skirts. Hope mine turns out as well as yours did.

  25. 27 Debbie May 27, 2007 at 8:23 am

    Turned out super. You did a good job on the zipper without using the invisible foot. You can’t tell the flowers are upside down especially when you are wearing it. Interesting design to have the layers fray — I like it!!

    Great job. Happy skirt making!

  26. 28 katie May 27, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    It’s gorgeous, Linda! I love the fabric/pattern combo. I wouldn’t have noticed that the layers lined up if you hasn’t pointed it out.

    What are YAMs? Am I the only person who doesn’t know what that means? I’m guessing, Young Asian Mamas? =)

  27. 29 Katie May 27, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    LOVE it!! You’re seriously doing some great advertising for that pattern—I went straight from here to buy it myself!! (on a current skirt craze myself!!)

    Great job!!

  28. 30 Jody May 27, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    It’s wonderful. I never would have noticed the flowers being upside down if you hadn’t pointed it out!

  29. 31 cindy May 28, 2007 at 9:45 am

    I like that alot! So, do you WANT the layers to fray? I couldn’t see that from the pattern. I think it would be cute, kind of like the rag quilts. Love the fabric. Heather’s stuff is so great! Have fun making more!🙂

  30. 32 Rachel May 28, 2007 at 10:26 am

    I couldn’t tell the flowers were upside down or that the pinks all stacked up, and I think the skirt looks just lovely! Now I can’t wait for my zipper to arrive in the mail so I can get started on one for me! It’s a beautiful skirt!

  31. 33 Pieces May 28, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    Very cute! I love the yam humor!

  32. 34 Happy Zombie May 28, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    How cute! And I love your photo too!!!!

  33. 35 Cindi May 29, 2007 at 6:17 am

    you did an excellent job. I really like that pattern and the material. You can get a shank converter for the Bernina through Clotilda and then use other presser feet. I have never tried it, but I might. You are so inspiring. I like the light airy look of that skirt, it makes me want to make some new ones for summer. Love ya!

  34. 36 Jackie Lawrence May 29, 2007 at 6:28 am

    Great Job! It looks like you made it that way on purpose. Turned out really wonderful. It is a good feeling to have something turn out make you want to sew more, huh?

  35. 37 teresa (maggiegracecreates) May 29, 2007 at 9:12 am

    Love this. I have on a brown linen skirt from Old Navy right now. And I fully intend to make some from this one. Drawstring waist is my favorite – the zipper issue scares me. Live this fabric too.

  36. 38 Hilari May 30, 2007 at 11:51 am

    That is so cute! Have fun in Barcelona!

  37. 39 Linda L May 30, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    I like your skirt. I truly can not tell that the flowers are upside down. Good job with the invisible zipper.

  38. 40 weirdbunny May 31, 2007 at 5:34 am

    That is going to be my task by the end of the summer, learn how to do a zip – love JUlia x

  39. 41 randomcontemplations May 31, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    I love it!!!!!! See you can make clothes Lindiepindie! Look at you!!! I would sure like to have one of those skirts.🙂

    Next week we walk? This has been a tough, busy week for me, there was no way I was up for it. I think I’ll be recovered for next week though.

  40. 42 Donna S. June 5, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    Lovely skirt!!

  41. 43 Lori June 7, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    Beautiful skirt, Lindie, you did a great job.

  42. 44 Trish June 22, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Well done — I’m waiting for my Barcelona to arrive in the mail and can’t wait to get started. As for the zipper, I have a 35 year old Bernina machine (I bought it brand new from my job at the Dairy Queen when I was in high school) and take it from me you don’t need to use a special Bernina invisible zipper foot. I can only imagine how hard it was to install one with a regular zipper foot! I don’t remember the brand name, but there are zipper feet available that come with interchangeable shanks so it’s adaptable to any brand, including Bernina. Also, excellent instructions are included in the package. I’ve installed dozens of invisible zippers with it over the years – and it’s foolproof. Happy sewing!

  43. 45 layla solms November 23, 2007 at 10:09 am

    howdy
    you did a super job on the skirt!
    zippers scare me, however, and i always alter a pattern to exclude the zipper, or i just don’t make it…
    you have inspired me
    now if i could find the barcelona pattern fora deep discount!

  44. 46 Sarah May 5, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    Many thanks for showing this, I’ve made the layered and the a line skirt.I didn’t line the a line skirt just added a bit extra material and folded it down to make a waistband. This skirt was a bit short for my liking so when I came to do the layered pattern I added two inches to the bottom panel turned out perfectly. When you sew the panels together I found the best way was to sew the 1 inch Mark and then use a quilting guide arm to sew the half inch evenly .


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives