Orange and Blue

I’ve been on a seamstress apron kick the last couple of weeks.  I’ll spare you the 4 others and just share my favorite.  For this one, I pieced the front so that each of the pockets had it’s own fabric.  A fun challenge. 

seamstress-apron-patchwork-pockets-s.jpg

Right now I’m falling in love with orange.  And not just orange, but orange paired with blue.  Is this something I’ll look back on in 6 months and wonder what I was thinking?  Possibly.  I just happened upon 2 bolts of fabric next to eachother in my favorite quilt shop – one orange and one blue – and boom – I liked it.  I don’t think these 2 colors occur together in nature.  Except on my kids: 

gfarms1.jpg

We went to the strawberry patch yesterday.  It was one of those, “This is why I love being a mom” moments, unconsciously made a little sweeter with the pairing of my two new favorite colors.

35 Responses to “Orange and Blue”


  1. 1 craftaddictconfessional May 31, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    Cute apron! I think the orange and blue go well together but I see that combination a lot here since it’s our football team’s colors. I like the apron, though, and may have to make one for my own crafty adventures. Aack! Must stop adding things to my to-do list!

  2. 2 alisonmc May 31, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    Orange and blue totally occur in nature – strelizia! I’ve always found it to be the most fascinating flower. Also, there’s a particular crab that has blue and orange claws, not sure if you have it over there.

    Fab apron!!!

  3. 3 rohanknitter May 31, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    As a former Illini (Univ of IL) I would have to say OF COURSE blue and orange look great together.
    : )

  4. 4 Shelly May 31, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Interesting. I see it alot around here too!!! I noticed you had another apron up in your etsy shop. They are really fun to make.

    I’d like to go Strawberry picking, but right now, too high temps. I think we’ll miss the window.

    By the way, I have all the exact same stuff in the apron I made…in the same spots. Too funny.

  5. 5 Sue B May 31, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    Lovely apron! Is there anything better than fresh picked strawberries? What a great way thing to do with the kids.

  6. 6 kerry May 31, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    Great colour combination, orange & blue look fab together, yum yum fresh strawberries.
    Kerry

  7. 7 beki May 31, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    I’m becoming a fan of orange and blue myself!

  8. 8 Lyn May 31, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Love the colors of that apron!!! And the strawberry picking.

  9. 9 Vicki May 31, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Orange and blue are complimentary colors on the color wheel so that explains why they look great together. I adore this apron!

  10. 10 lera May 31, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    I love that each pocket is a different fabric. I’m sure that created a lot of extra work.

    And MMMMM for fresh strawberries.

  11. 11 kat May 31, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    Love blue and orange together! So super looking. Love your apron there. Terrific.
    I would love to go strawberry picking with my kids. How fun!

  12. 12 Pieces May 31, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    I would never put those colors together on my own but I love them. And see how great they are in nature? I love that your kids are wearing those colors.

  13. 13 raesha May 31, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    Beautiful apron!! (I’m a long time lurker:):)) Orange and blue are my hubby’s favorite colors – his family is Dutch and those are Holland’s national colors:):)

  14. 14 Nancy May 31, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    Orange and Blue are perfect together – they are complimentary colors – opposite each other on the color wheel, so you definitely cannot go wrong! Love your Blog. I’ve been a long time lurker. Glad to finally come out of the woodwork.

  15. 15 randomcontemplations May 31, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    See they are complimentary!? You have an eye for color more than you think.🙂 It is a really cute apron.

  16. 16 Sara May 31, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    i love those colors together! i can tell you have a great eye for yummy color combos.

  17. 17 movinghands June 1, 2007 at 9:36 am

    Orange + Blue = Yes, please! This combination can haunt your mind. Case in point: this photo of a quilt at the Tokyo show that I cannot forget.
    http://flickr.com/photos/movinghands/362401044/in/set-72157594488104676/

    Your sewing apron is beautiful!

  18. 18 sillydreamer June 1, 2007 at 9:40 am

    Cute, cute apron! Orange and blue rock…..my daughter’s room is painted in those colors!

  19. 19 Katie June 1, 2007 at 10:43 am

    Great apron!!

    My mouth is watering for strawberries!

  20. 20 capello June 1, 2007 at 11:15 am

    aaaaiiiiieee!!! what’s the name of that fabric?!

    i used up all my orange and blue stash and can’t find anymore and ::hyperventilating:: i think i may very well die!

  21. 21 kathy June 1, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Beautiful Linda. I love the Moda fabrics. The orange is really clear and clean looking. Fun piecing on your craft apron pockets. I think being a quilter and sewer make for some fun combinations.

  22. 22 katie June 1, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    Aww, it’s just the repressed Clemson Tiger coming out in you. Love the patchy apron!

  23. 23 Concha June 1, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    I love the pockets! I think the colour combination is great. Very cheerful, very summer-ish… and they seem to be in perfect harmony.

  24. 24 Evelyn Lum June 1, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    I love orange and blue together, especially when they are polka dots, stripes , checks and little flowers. One of these days, I shall make myself a seamstress apron. Keep up the good work, girl!

  25. 25 mommiemarzie June 1, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    I knew a web designer who said to use colors that NFL and NBA teams use. So you get crazy colors like orange and blue and they work, like the Broncos. But your blue and orange are softer and prettier.

  26. 26 Hilari June 4, 2007 at 12:05 am

    Your pockets are lovely! Orange & blue were my HS colors and one of the reasons I was excited to go to college was to leave the ole colors behind me. These are really the things you ought to research cuz my college colors were orange & blue too!!!

  27. 27 Tami June 4, 2007 at 6:55 am

    I like the blue and orange but really love green and orange together.

  28. 28 cindy June 4, 2007 at 8:41 am

    I like orange too. And it looks great with the blues! I love the pic of the kiddos. There are not many cuter things than kids picking berries!🙂

  29. 29 Chara Michele June 4, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    Very cute apron!
    I like the orange and blue together, and normally I don’t really care that much for orange. That might be a color combo that I have to try though!

  30. 30 Happy Zombie June 4, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    I love the two photos together!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  31. 31 Ashley June 4, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    I am OBSESSED with orange & blue right now. Love the crafty apron!

  32. 32 Monica June 6, 2007 at 2:36 am

    good colour combo!! Very happy and summery.

  33. 33 Anne K. June 6, 2007 at 7:01 am

    I’m loving the orange, but in ANY color that apron would be fantastic. What a great idea! Hope we’ll be able to purchase a pattern soon!🙂

  34. 34 Melanie June 6, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Oooh! I’m loving the blue and orange also! All of the fabrics on this one look so neat together! Very nice job!!

  35. 35 Kristi June 6, 2007 at 10:29 am

    I think the patterns and colors look great and that is one cute apron.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives