Scrapper’s Apron Model B & Color

Update:  She got the apron!  Her picture is much better than mine and you can see it here

I finally finished the Scrapper’s Apron model B and have sent it off to Melanie.  I can’t post too much of it because I really want to know her first impressions when she pulls it out of the box.  So here’s just a sneak peak:

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a very functional person. I love beautiful fabric, but I’m not a big embellisher.  This is the first time I’ve ever used pompoms.  And it was hard!  How do any of you put pompoms on without the tape showing?  I found it really difficult, even with a zipper foot.  And the instructions on these were “handwash only”.  So does that mean anything with pompoms on it can only be handwashed?  It doesn’t seem super practical for a craft apron that’ll get dirty.

Several commenters mentioned that orange and blue go well together because they are complimentary colors on the color wheel (meaning they lie across from eachother).  Color wheel?  I’ve heard of that.  Vicki even suggested a book:  Color Harmony for Quilts*.  And guess what?  I have that book!  But have I read it?  No.  So with her encouragement, my book went in the library (aka the bathroom) where I knew it would get read.  And guess what?  I’m half-way through and guess what else?  I’m color-challenged.  If it weren’t for quilt-shop fabric collections, I’d be at a loss as to how to pair fabrics.  Case-in-point:  There is a suggested activity in the book that asks the reader to make a list of every color she can possibly name.  At this point I was at the Dr’s office so I decided to make a list, since I had a pen (something I do NOT have in my “library”).  And can you guess how long my list is?  16 colors long.  After I covered the colors of the rainbow, I moved on catalog colors.  You know, the colors that catalogs use to name the colors of their clothes, like lilac and espresso.  And at that, the color part of my brain was empty.  I just don’t see colors.  It’s a mental exercise for me to see different color values and say, how much red is in that brown.  So I’m on a mission to explore and learn more about colors.  In the mean time, I’m still loving orange and blue.  And here’s a patchfolio to prove it. 

Oh and one more thing.  I have gotten lazy lately about prewashing my fabric.  I mean if it’s for something that’s going to get washed, like a skirt or a quilt, I’ll prewash it, but the few fabrics that are strictly designated for a patchfolio, I might not wash.  It really saves a lot of time because of all the ironing that needs to be done afterward.  Well no longer!  All the authors in the aforementioned book had to say was this, “Perhaps the bolt was placed on the floor of the shop the day the exterminator came through spraying insecticide along the baseboards of the factory.”  And I am a changed seamstress.  I went through and pulled out all the unwashed fabric off my floor (notice I didn’t say “stash” – my fabric is spread out on the floor so I can see it) and threw it in the laundry.  Guess what I’ll be doing tonight?  That’s right.  Ironing.  And probably tomorrow night too.  I had no idea when I sat down that I was feeling so chatty.  And here I thought I had the summer blogging blues. 🙂

 *It looks like this book is out of print.  I got mine a couple of years ago for $16.  Now it’s over $40 for a used one.  It looks like this one might be comparable since it’s by one of the authors of the original.

 

25 Responses to “Scrapper’s Apron Model B & Color”


  1. 1 Karyn June 6, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    I can’t wait to see your finished scrapbooker’s apron. I really do love the pompoms! Nice touch.

  2. 2 craftaddictconfessional June 6, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    Lovin’ the sneak peek and eagerly awaiting the unveiling! I’ve recently started prewashing all my fabrics. It’s tedious but worth the effort. I actually don’t iron it until I use it, though. It just gets folded and put up with it’s buddies.

  3. 3 lera June 6, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    I have never sewn pompoms, but I’ve sewn beaded trim. And, boy, is it ever a pain in the neck!

    I, too, am color challenged. I learned a lot about myself from your post.

    (And I always pre-wash my fabric. And you’ve now given me good reason to continue. Thank you.)

  4. 4 Vicki June 6, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    I’m so glad you are enjoying the book! I think you did a great job sewing the pom-pom trim. I’m not sure yo can insert it without some of the edge showing but I think that’s OK.

  5. 5 Jody June 6, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    I’m not good with colors either. I see other people put things together that look great and I know I’d never see the matching/balance. I’m working on it. I’ve never prewashed fabric … I will now!

  6. 6 Rachael June 6, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    eeeww! I had become kind of lazy about prewashing, but no more.

  7. 7 Karen June 6, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    I’ve put pom-pom trim on the hem of pj pants for my daughter and they’ve survived many, many washes. How to sew them on without the tape showing? Mmm, I have no answer for that. I don’t mind it too much if it’s on the underside of an item.

  8. 8 Tami June 7, 2007 at 6:33 am

    Oh my do I love the pom poms with that orange!! You’re going to think I’m crazy but I’m seeing a pillow case for little Miss with the pom poms…of course that probably isn’t a good idea since you are not supposed to wash them. So what can you make with pom poms that doesn’t need frequent washing? I’m at a loss since I have 2 that are 2 and under. EVERYTHING in my house must be able to be scrubbed.

  9. 9 Katie June 7, 2007 at 9:40 am

    It’s interesting to hear what you are learning about color. I grew up in a home with an amatuer interior decorator (mom) and professional painter (dad)—so color really mattered! It’s amazing when you realize how many millions of shades of whites there are—with each there own unique tint.

    It makes me a bit crazy though when I lay out a quilt—the browns are never the same shade, the blues and reds give me fits, and greens—-wow, I could be here all day telling you how many times I thought a green would go with ______, and then it ends up ruining the project!

    So yes, where would we be without quilt store collections?

  10. 10 beki June 7, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Seriously? You’re color challenged? I never would have thought that. Now I want to see how many colors I can name.

  11. 11 Sue B June 7, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    Here’s my feeling about color. If you like it then go with it!

  12. 12 Chara Michele June 7, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Eww, that would definitely make me wash my fabrics if I didn’t already. Actually, I wash them right away after I buy them so I don’t have to think about washing a fabric before doing a project. That way it is already done and I don’t have to worry about the fabric shrinking:)

    Hmm, I wonder how many colors I could name? I may have to try that later:)

  13. 13 Pieces June 7, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    I’m just the opposite with pre-washing. I used to wash everything that came in my house. But now, how can I combine fabrics with charm packs? I can’t wash charm pack fabrics. So some of my stuff goes unwashed. Even the exterminator stuff doesn’t bother me. It isn’t like I am eating off of the fabric. Actually, I’m more concerned about using the hand towel in my kids’ bathroom.

  14. 14 LeeAnn June 8, 2007 at 7:02 am

    Newly washed fabric is the only ironing I find enjoyable. The one task I like even better is folding it up. Then stacking it together. Then I step back and admire my good work because it doesn’t last long. I am like a kid. The piles will be ripped apart within 24 hours never to be folded neatly again.

  15. 15 Cindi June 8, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    Sorry your having the summer blogging blues. I am glad you felt chatty today. I learned so much. I am also color challenged. Green and purple seem to be the only colors I see. Everything I pick is green or purple. I really need to learn more about color.

  16. 16 Quirk June 8, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that has got a bit lazy on the pre-washing. Noone needs to know, right?

  17. 17 Lucy Locket June 9, 2007 at 4:08 am

    I love your work and the idea of the seamstress apron is great. I have a floor length waist tied apron from IKEA in denim with two flappy pockets on the front and I love it but I’d never thought of making one myself – what a good idea. I love your patchfolios too.

  18. 18 Regina June 9, 2007 at 8:29 am

    I love that combination of orange and blue. I think I’m using blue/orange for my boys’ new room. I took tons of art classes in college, the color wheel was practically stamped on my forehead! GOod for you for getting to know more about colors. You’ll prbably notice so much more now.

    About the washing and ironing. You’ve persuaded me. I used to do the same and only wash things that would be washed. Not anymore!

  19. 19 Quirk June 9, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    You inspired me! I went and bought pompoms today!! :):)

  20. 20 Cathy June 11, 2007 at 9:20 am

    I understand what you mean about being color challenged. I never use the color wheel because it makes me feel color dysfunctional… I prefer the trial and error method of color matching! haha. And, yes, orange and blue do go together but if you live where I do, it is the local university’s colors. I avoid that combo even though they work together.

  21. 21 Eren June 11, 2007 at 10:00 am

    Orange and blue…AND pom pom fringe…I will be wonderful with that combo. I have loved catching up on your blog this morning.

  22. 22 cindy June 11, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    I’m a prewasher too. Mainly because most of my fabric is eventually a quilt that I hope gets used and washed.🙂 I have actually gotten fabric that was intended for a wallhanging that didn’t get washed, but I never thought about where the fabric has been! eww.

  23. 23 Amy June 11, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    I THINK I have that book too, but scarily, I have so many craft books I’m not sure! How out of control is my fabric book stash?
    Just discovered your blog and have been having fun checking out all the old entries. Lots of good stuff!

  24. 24 weirdbunny June 12, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    I adore the pom poms on the bottom. They look so cute !!!!

  25. 25 Jude June 15, 2007 at 10:12 am

    Oh I love your blog. I am going to look at your chenille backed baby blanket tutorial tomorrow – I know so many people about to have babies.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives