1 Year Well Child Check up

So my 4th child and only daughter, Bernie (otherwise known as my sewing machine) has been in for her 1 year well-child visit at the sewing machine shop all week.  I am SO glad that I kept my old machine so that I wouldn’t go into withdrawals while she was gone, but not having her has made me appreciate her all the more.  Qualities I miss:

  • Needle stop up/down function
  • The ability to change the needle position
  • 1/8″ and 1/4″ marker on the walking foot

I could go on, but I’ll spare you.  It hasn’t stopped the sewing, it just makes the sewing a little less exciting.

What I do have is more pompoms. Putting on pompoms added an hour to the process!  I’ll be making a lot of these in the days to come  since I’m working on pattern pieces for the pieced front pocket.  I’m also trying to figure out a way to make them available those who’ve already purchased the pattern, but I’m not sure how that’s going to work.

sa-pompoms.jpg

And a surfboard patchfolio (minus the patching) for a 10 year-old boy.

patchfolio-surfboard1.jpg

 The only fabric that I could find with wide enough stripes was outdoor awning fabric.  And the scrap I used for the pen pocket reminded me of the ocean.

patchfolio-surfboard.jpg

Bernie, I’m coming to pick you up today!  Will you remember who I am?  It’s me, Mommy!  Can you say, “Ma-ma?”

25 Responses to “1 Year Well Child Check up”


  1. 1 Ashley June 14, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    Those surfboards are perfect! I am just in love with them.

  2. 2 kirsten June 14, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    great way to make it ‘big boy’ enough! that looks seriously amazing.

  3. 3 Chara Michele June 14, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    That surfboard patchfolio looks great!

  4. 4 Rachael June 14, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    The surfboards are awesome. Looks like we have the same fabric stash….Amy Butler and Heather Bailey’s Freshcut.

  5. 5 lera June 14, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    I bet you do miss your machine. When my machine broke last year (after only a few months of owning it), it felt like an eternity until they sent a new one.

    The surfboards are way cool.

  6. 6 Lyn June 14, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    I am loving that apron!!!!!

    I still have a box of vintage material to mail you! One day you will get it!

  7. 7 Abby June 14, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    how funny! The pompoms are a great touch. I love the surfboards.

  8. 8 Karyn June 14, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    I love the pompoms! They are just so much fun. I also think you hit the nail on the head with the surfboard patchfolio. It’s perfect!

  9. 9 katie June 14, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    What a hoot about your machine! I haven’t taken mine in yet this summer. I probably will the next time I go up to my MIL’s. It will be hard to let go…but I think it needs a tune-up.

    Surfboards are so cool these days–DJ has two pairs of surfer-themed summer PJs and he loves them. Your padfolio is so cute, I know the boy in question will love it!

  10. 11 randomcontemplations June 14, 2007 at 11:28 pm

    You are so funny, I was like “What she has a fourth child!?! Where has she been hiding her?” I thought maybe a miracle had happened. Your pg belly would looks so funny with no belly button! Okay, love the surfboards too, very, very masculine.

  11. 12 cindy June 15, 2007 at 8:14 am

    Oh, I love the surfboards! I know Bernie will be happy to see her mommy when she gets home!🙂

  12. 13 Sue B June 15, 2007 at 8:33 am

    okay those really do look like a surfboard!

  13. 14 stacy June 15, 2007 at 8:40 am

    This post made me laugh so hard – thanks for the pick me up today! BTW, I LOVE the new projects!

  14. 15 kathy June 15, 2007 at 9:41 am

    The fabric choice is perfect for the surfboard, love it.

  15. 16 Happy Zombie June 15, 2007 at 11:05 am

    WOW… your Bernie is year old! It seems like yesterday when you brought your baby girl home. Time flies! Happy Birthday Bernie!

    LOVE the pom-pom action… and the surf boards are genius Lindie!

  16. 17 Cindi June 15, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    LOL! Sewing machine mechanics should make house calls!

  17. 18 Waltraud June 15, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    Crazy, funny idea! Ana Happy birthday Bernie!

  18. 19 mommiemarzie June 15, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    I’m sew wanting to buy the pattern for the apron. If I buy it now will I get the update?

  19. 20 Quirk June 15, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    I understand your pain. I dropped my Bernina off about 2 months ago and they told me it would be a 2 week wait! I had to go back to my very first plastic sewing machine (not that there is anything wrong with that but…) when you have gotten used to an actual light on the machine, a needle down function and so on…well….it just hurts.
    Glad you made it through🙂

  20. 21 Kimberly June 16, 2007 at 2:44 am

    So sorry I’ve been neglecting my blog reading. I’m feeling for you and your loss of your daughter. I hope she comes home regenerated and ready to go. Being the good mommy you are, she’ll be humming away in no time. Hugs!

  21. 22 kerry June 16, 2007 at 6:28 am

    Love the POM POM’s they are one of my favourite things at the moment.
    Have a good weekend
    Kerry

  22. 23 Melanie June 17, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    OOOH!!! LOVE the new apron with the pom-pom addition!!! SO CUTE! Dang I wish they didn’t add that much time to the over all process! :o(
    Your surf board portfolio is ADORABLE!!!! You ROCK!!!

    Melanie

  23. 24 Hilari June 17, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    I’m sure Bernie misses you as much as you miss her! Make sure you get her a special treat for being a big girl at the doctor’s!🙂

  24. 25 LeeAnn June 18, 2007 at 6:43 am

    I just got a machine with all those features! I don’t know how I lived without it before.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives