My Favorite Toy

A few months ago, the boys and I were talking about what their favorite toys were when Timo asked me, “What’s your favorite toy, Mom?”

I started to tell him that I don’t have toys like they do when I realized that I DO have a favorite toy.  “Oh, oh, oh – I know!  My favorite toy is my sewing machine,” I said.

And it’s true.  Just like Legos are the perfect toy for little boys in that they can create all kinds of different things, my machine is my  perfect toy.  And just as you can get new sets to make your Lego collection more diverse, I can get accessories to expand the things I can create with machine.  My latest accessory?  A ruffler.  Mmmmm.  I’m not a huge ruffle person in real life, but I can rapidly see myself becoming Ms. Ruffle.

Here’s the A-line skirt from Amy Butler’s Barcelona Skirts pattern…

A-line skirt

…with a ruffle along the bottom.

 

ruffle.jpg

And again, there was plenty of fabric leftover to make a matching bag…

Frenchy Handbag

…with a ruffle along the top.    This is a handbag from Amy Butler’s Frenchy Bags pattern that I won from U-Handbag’s  competition hosted on U-handblog.  Thanks, Lisa!  U-handbag is a great resource for all handbag making supplies in the UK.  No more having to pay heavy international shipping for you UK crafters.  The Frenchy bag has a flat panel across the top, but I opted for the ruffle instead.

I tried to pose for the a-line skirt picture just like the model on the back cover of the pattern, but no matter how I contorted my body or positioned my flowers, I just couldn’t manage to get the right look.  I like this pattern, but the quilting fabric seams stiff, making the skirt kind of poofy – poofier than in the picture.  I noticed this with the layered skirt so this time I left out the muslin lining but it’s still stiff.  I think I might try my hand at narrowing it a little toward the bottom.  And I also broke down and got an invisible zipper foot (all accessories were 30% off last weekend, hence the 2 presser feet purchases) and my zipper is really, amazingly invisible!

36 Responses to “My Favorite Toy”


  1. 1 Vicki June 18, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    I think your skirt looks awesome! I really love the ruffle at the bottom.

  2. 2 KarenV June 18, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    Wonderful bag and skirt! I love the fabric you’ve used.

  3. 3 Tami June 18, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    Oh I LOVE the idea of the ruffle at the top of the bag. Very nice bag indeed.

  4. 4 Chara Michele June 18, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    What a great skirt and matching bag!

    I love that ruffle foot! I had no idea there was such a thing and now I think I need one:)

  5. 5 Jackie Lawrence June 18, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    These look great. I’ve got toys too🙂 altho mine are getting dusty with all the recent changes in our life. I’m looking forward to getting back to it once the kids are settled in college and the house is cleaned out. My embroidery machine has been busy though. It is amazing once you stop doing embroidery for a living jobs just come crashing in. lol That’s life tho isn’t it!

  6. 6 beki June 18, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Hmm, that sounds like a fun toy. I think I need to look into one of those for my machine(s).

  7. 7 Shelly June 18, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    I’ve been looking at that bag pattern…it looks fun. I noticed that you got the pose down right on that pic…

  8. 8 kat June 18, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    love the skirt + the bag! The fabric is beautiful. Nice job🙂

  9. 9 Karyn June 18, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    I love the skirt and that bag is outstanding. Again fabulous Linda!!

  10. 10 lera June 18, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    I don’t know which I love more, the bag or the skirt! They are both fantastic! Wow. Great fabric, too.

    Hmmm. Thinking *I* might need a ruffler now …

  11. 11 fromthenarrows June 18, 2007 at 4:21 pm

    Cute cute cute skirt! love it! Love the bag too.
    Susan

  12. 12 Cathy June 18, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    The skirt is very cute and the bag is even cuter… and all I can really “see” in this entry is that delicious carpet that your feet are buried in! I think I need to get a throw rug that has long yarns.

  13. 13 movinghands June 18, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Pretty skirt! Hooray for ruffles.

  14. 14 Ali June 18, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Pretty pretty! So which do you prefer – the a-line or the layered? I’m trying to decide on which to do next.

  15. 15 Quirk June 18, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    I love it, I love it, I love it!
    You are too good for your own good! Im getting a ruffle foot IMMEDIATLY!!!!!

  16. 16 Heather June 18, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    I love the skirt! I’ve been obsessing about skirts lately. I bought one at Target and know I could make it but I’m not sure how to jump in without a pattern. I never thought I was a skirt person at all but it’s so comfortable I only want to wear skirts now! I hate wearing shorts, with the back of your legs sticking to the seat.

    The bag looks great too, I can tell you’re having fun with your new accessories🙂

  17. 17 craftaddictconfessional June 18, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    Love the skirt and matching bag! I have that pattern and have washed the fabric, but have yet to cut and sew. I need to spend more time with my favorite toy!

  18. 18 Kate June 18, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    Great skirt and bag – love that ruffle!

  19. 19 sillydreamer June 18, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    I love it….especially the bag!

  20. 20 meg June 18, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    Both came out so well, Linda! I especially like the ruffles – ooh la la.

  21. 21 Anna June 19, 2007 at 2:57 am

    great skirt and bag, they both look fabulous! I’m not much of a ruffle fan but those ruffles I do like!

    The Frenchy Bag pattern is sitting on top of fabric waiting to be made, still need to get the Nappy Bag out of the way first though as that one I’ll actually need soon!

  22. 22 kerry June 19, 2007 at 6:35 am

    You are sooooooooo………… clever, your skirt and bag both look fantastic especially with the ruffles.
    Happy sewing

  23. 23 mercysmama June 19, 2007 at 7:15 am

    The skirt and bag are so adorable. I love the fabric too!

  24. 24 cindy June 19, 2007 at 7:42 am

    Skirt and bag are super cute, as usual.🙂 You do such great work!🙂 That ruffle looks great. I thought a ruffler foot REALLY ruffled, but I like that subtle ruffle.🙂

  25. 25 katie June 19, 2007 at 9:38 am

    Cute skirt AND bag, Linda! Gosh, you have some talent, girl. I’m heading to my bernina store tomorrow with a friend and I have some anniversary gift cash to spend (my husband gave me a hoop that we both decided I don’t need, so I’m going to exchange it). I want the 1/4″ patchwork foot, but now I’m also thinking about an invisible zipper foot. No matter that I have never needed one before, it’s one of those things that I might need, one day…ha. I can talk myself into anything!

  26. 26 Cindi June 19, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Oh Linda! I love that skirt and bag! How did you make the ruffles? Did I miss you got a ruffle foot? I wasn’t able to get anything at the sale. I have college costs looming. We have to pay for summer transition in two weeks and I have to buy all the sheets, towels, etc. for dorm life. Then books. Oh, well this will be over before I know it!

  27. 27 Ashley June 19, 2007 at 10:21 am

    A ruffler!?! Who knew? There is a whole world of sewing accessories out there that I have only glimpsed. I love the ruffle at the top of the Frenchy bag–totally makes it.

  28. 28 Anne K. June 19, 2007 at 11:46 am

    Those ruffles are absolutely terrific, and ever so appropriate in this smart ensemble! You know what I like about them? They’re not too “ruffly.” They’re elegant, understated. They give an air of softness without calling undue attention to themselves. They don’t need to scream “Hey! Look at me! I’m a ruffle!” Instead, they wait discreetly, until you look twice at them and discover their ruffly secret. They are, in a word, inscrutable.

    And you know what’s really scary? That I can have a total lack of motivation for what I’m supposed to be doing at work right now, but can go on and on about the wonders of ruffles….!!!!
    🙂

  29. 29 LeeAnn June 20, 2007 at 6:57 am

    I bought an invisible zipper foot when I got my new machine. I also upcycled a few invisible zippers from some thirfted skirts. All I have to do now is add everything together and get a new skirt!

  30. 30 kathy June 20, 2007 at 10:06 am

    A great twist on that pattern. Maybe I need a ruffler.

  31. 31 randomcontemplations June 21, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    I HAVE to get over to your house for a skirt sewing class!!!! I love skirts so much, and that one is really, really cute. The fabric is so pretty! Will you teach me??? Pretty please???

    I’ll see you in the morning for walking, armed with mosquito repellent. I’m scared, I hope it keeps them off!

  32. 32 Rachel June 22, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    Don’t you love the invisible zipper foot? I feel like I’m a better seamstress when I use it. I tell myself it is all about having the right tools. I like your ruffles as well. I think they’re feminine. Yet they aren’t over the top feminine. Nice touch!

  33. 33 Regina June 22, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    I love that you have little toys for your forth child, bernina! I should rename my only daughter–Viking isn’t as pretty. I would love to have a ruffle foot! Your skirt and bag turned out so lovely! THe fabric is pretty too!

  34. 34 Monica June 23, 2007 at 6:12 am

    great bags… but then … we knew that!!

    but what about the very tidy/super organised cupboard? I’m very impressed.

  35. 35 marylin June 25, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    Great stuff! I am a bag lover my self and really enjoyed your site. Plan to visit often.

  36. 36 Samantha July 4, 2007 at 9:37 am

    I have a ruffler too – they are so much fun and so easy to use. I agree with you on that one!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives