The Note Taker

I haven’t gotten a whole lot of sewing done this past week.  I’ve been sitting right here in front of the computer editing, revising, and drawing up new pattern pieces for the Seamstress Apron and updating my website.  Kathy of PinkChalkStudio put out her first pattern this month and it was the kick in the pants I needed to improve my pattern.  As a result, the pattern is updated and I’ll be folding and stuffing envelopes tonight.  If you’ve purchased the original pattern, I’ll be emailing you in the next couple of days on how to get the revised version.  Here’s my new pattern cover:

sa-cover.jpg

Her pattern for the Note Taker is beautifully printed and put together, well-written and nicely illustrated.  Really nice job, Kathy!  I was one of her test-sewers and I found myself being stretched when the directions asked for contrasting fabrics.  I’m such a matchy-matchy gal that I tried really hard to oblige.  And I’m really happy with the result:

notetakerr1.jpg

That orange fabric?  It’s Moda’s Basic Building Blocks and has 4 different prints divided by a tape measure on each panel.  Cute, eh?  And I love how it turned out on this project.  It’s really neat how something so functionally similar to the Patchfolio can be so different and have a completely different feel to it!  And the construction is so creative.  Her pattern is available here

Oh yes, did I forget about the Bagaholic competition?  No, I didn’t. :)  Blogless CJ is definitely the biggest Bagaholic of us all with a grand total of 22 bags!  Wow, CJ, I am in awe.  And as your prize,

prize.jpg

a pincushion bowl (isn’t that button fabric cute?), 2 patterns, and a set of patchwork cards on their way to you as soon as I get your address.  Is it tacky to give away a copy of my old pattern?  Thank you ladies, for playing along, although I think there are quite a few bagaholics in denial out there!

Shelly also posted her bag collection, and Deb’s adventures in bag counting are here.  Thanks girls!  If you’d like to post your bag collection, please do and let me know so I can come see!  And just FYI – did y’all know July is Bag Month over at Sew, Mama, Sew?  Fantastic prizes and I’m a judge!  Woo hoo!  I guess that means I can’t win any prizes, but it makes me SOOOO happy!

16 Responses to “The Note Taker”


  1. 1 Beth June 28, 2007 at 12:37 am

    I’m soooo happy you’re one of the judges. It’s going to be fun! Your sites are looking great, by the way…

  2. 2 Karyn June 28, 2007 at 4:38 am

    I’m already designing bags in my mind for the July competition, how exciting!!
    I love the bright and cheery colours you used for your note taker! The orange really makes it pop!

  3. 3 Shelly June 28, 2007 at 5:40 am

    That’s really cute!

    Funny, but I declared July “Bag Month” in my mind last week. I’ve been trying to finish up most of my loose projects around here – leaving me with 3 bags to make during July.

    Guess I’m right on time!

  4. 4 craftaddictconfessional June 28, 2007 at 5:59 am

    Great job on the Note Taker! I think I’ll have to add that one to my project list. I’m already plotting about SMS’s bag month. It’s going to be so much fun!

  5. 5 lera June 28, 2007 at 6:59 am

    Your note taker turned out great. Love the fabric choices.

    I kept forgetting to count my bags. I don’t think I have 22. That’s quite impressive.

  6. 6 Tina C June 28, 2007 at 7:48 am

    I’m excited about the new version of the apron and I’ll be watching my inbox!

  7. 7 kathy June 28, 2007 at 9:14 am

    Thanks Linda! Wow, I LOVE that fabric. The way you cut the pocket to place the tape measure and the big and little polka dots turned out really cool. Great addition to your seamstress apron, the patchwork pocket is really fun.

  8. 8 katie June 28, 2007 at 10:08 am

    Cute Note Taker, Linda! I’m partial to the patchfolio, though. Call me biased.

  9. 9 Shelly June 28, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    You always have the best fabrics – I think you need to become my personal fabric shopper….

  10. 10 Elaine June 28, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Linda,

    I really like the way your pattern cover looks. You did a great job putting it together.

  11. 11 Modern Charm June 29, 2007 at 9:46 am

    Cute stuff all around! Your pattern looks great, the notetaker is very, very cute! Thanks for the heads up about the bag contest. Hmmmm…. as if I need another project…

  12. 12 kerry June 29, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    Love your colours in the note taker, the tape measure is so cute, it could actually come in very handy, I might need to make one of these.
    Have a good weekend
    Kerry

  13. 13 hannah July 1, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    love your note taker, that moda fabric is so cool, I want some now!!

  14. 14 Jackie Lawrence July 2, 2007 at 6:21 am

    Hey Linda,
    I checked out everything you’ve been working on. Wow, You’ve been busy! The sites look great and it looks like your patterns are selling well on etsy! I’m so happy for you that is great. I hope everything else is going well for you. Keep up the great work it looks like you are having a blast.

  15. 15 mommiemarzie July 4, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    Thanks for updatind the seamstress apron pattern. I was so excited when I got it in the mail and even more excited when I saw that you included the patchwork pockets. YAY! Thanks again!

    And I’m hoping to enter the bag contest. Ideas are floating! Can I influence the judges?😉

  16. 16 Cindi July 6, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    Oh Linda! I am so proud of you and so excited for you! Just think I knew you when.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives